We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but poor value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ferroch Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Achnasheen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ferroch Guest House
Save
You added Ferroch Guest House to your Saves list
Annat, Loch Torridon, Achnasheen IV22 2EU, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Achnasheen B&B and Inns
England
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Nice but poor value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The title says it all really. No real complaints and we enjoyed our 2 night stay but it is only the relatively remote location and limited competition that allows the rates to be charged. Our room had a stunning view but little else to warrant comment. Breakfast was good and well presented. I can't comment on any of the other touches mentioned in previous reviews as these weren't offered.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAMASFEARNA, Owner at Ferroch Guest House, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
I am sorry you didnt enjoy Ferroch as much as you should have. Im unsure what is meant by the statement other options enjoyed by other guests were not offered. The cosy fire in the lounge was lit, the garden there for you to enjoy and evening meal available had you booked beforehand. The only thing you might not have enjoyed was afternoon tea by the fire, which doesnt get served after a certain time due to prep for the evening meal.
There are many accomodations providers in this glen that have to address the extra that living in this remote place brings. Most folk accept this just to be part of it. Sorry you did not.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    3
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
46
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We chose this B&B as a convenient stopping off place between the Outer Hebrides and Ullapool. The location is absolutely wonderful and apart from the midges (which of course couldn't be helped) it was a great choice. Our hosts were extremely friendly and we had an excellent dinner at the nearby hotel (forgot name - sorry). Best of all was the breakfast. The owners had a catering company in Sussex before moving north and it really showed. Home-made muesli, really nice quality bacon, sausages etc - none of the Tesco value brand stuff as it were. There were two other couples staying and we all shared a large table for breakfast which we didn't mind, but other travellers might. We had two dogs which stayed in car but there was good dog walking around the B&B which is helpful when you are on a long journey.

Room Tip: As we booked rather late our room did not face Loch Torridon. I think it would have been even bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed here in July 2012 and had the most wonderful couple of days. Gina and Peter are extremely inviting and warm. Their B&B is in a stunning location and we were lucky to have a room with the most exquisite view (may need to be booked in advance!). The real icing is the wonderful food that they prepare. Gina is modest about her achievements in the cooking world but prepares the most amazing homemade food from the homemade granola and yoghurt through to the homemade jams and cakes that supplement the wonderful locally-sourced produce. Simply delightful!! The area is gorgeous with amazing walks from the front door. Also make sure to have lunch at Applecross Inn and visit Gairloch and do a walk close to there to see an old WWII american bomber memorial that crashed in the hills. The views are stunning!!!! All in all the most wonderful couple of days! Thank you both for making it such a magical trip!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

gina and peter are lovely hosts and welcomed us with tea and homemade cake on arrival.the room was clean and comfortable with a good standard of on suite with an excellent shower.
the breakfast was amazing with a very good choice.the guest lounge is comfortable after a day
of sight seeing.Views over Loch Torridon from this B & B are as good as anywhere we have stayed.An hours drive to Inveruwe Gardens are well worth the trouble. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

4 of us stayed for a new triathlon in June. Gina and Peter were very friendly & welcoming and rang round to get a dinner booking at the last minute.

The guest lounge is lovely, the rooms were clean and comfortable, and it was FABULOUS to not have a tv. The only review on here which is not positive is clearly from people who were looking for Blackpool and got lost!

Breakfast was really super. Fresh fruit, home made granola and yoghurt, extensive cooked brekkie options and so of course I sampled it all :)
Highly recommended top notch B&B in the most beautiful of settings. Planning to book again for next year's race!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We have nothing to add to all the excellent reviews of all the other travelers, in fact, why "bother" trying to find another home to stay, if Gina and Peter have a room available!
Some of the best dinners we had during our 10-day trip through Scotland were at the Torridon Inn.
Great location for the day-long trip to Tornapress-Applecross-Shieldaig-Torridon, which must be some of the best countryside and sea-scapes Scotland has to offer.
Monika and Nick

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We spent only one night in this jewel in front of the Upper Loch Torridon and Gina Peter were simply delicious. We had fun talking about children and recipes (she gave me also an amazing recipe of chilli jam that I'll never forget). Andrea & Beatrice from Rome

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ferroch Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferroch Guest House

Address: Annat, Loch Torridon, Achnasheen IV22 2EU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Achnasheen
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Achnasheen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are one of Scotland's most stunningly situated guest houses and you will find it hard to escape the comfortable beauty that this area presents. The Ferroch Guest House sits elevated on the side of a mountain giving spectacular views of Loch Torridon and its mountains. This former croft house has been lovingly restored and extended to a high standard, thereby creating a home that is cozily domesticated and refreshingly uncomplicated. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ferroch Guest House Achnasheen, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ferroch Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.