We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best VFM in Scotland (anywhere?)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arduaine Bed and Breakfast

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wigtown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arduaine Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Arduaine Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
4 Lochancroft Lane, Wigtown DG8 9HY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Wigtown B&B and Inns
Bedfordshire England
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Best VFM in Scotland (anywhere?)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights in late August to tour and walk Galloway. The weather wasn't great but Arduaine is. For the price charged you couldn't find better. As well as a large well-appointed bedroom you get your own sitting room with TV. Both hosts are very helpful and have plenty of local knowledge (useful on a very wet Sunday!) There is no downside to the place - the nearest would be that the shower room is on the small side.
Can also recommend for eating in Wigtown - Bay View Bistro and Wigtown Ploughman (restaurant within pub)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North of KA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

We had a very warm welcome , a lovley decorated room with a very large and comfy bed.
It felt nearly like Home. Very spacious with your own living-room and television.
The Hosts are very kind and have been very helpfully.
Breakfast is served to order and has been delicious.
Easy to find and with your own parking lot.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

The rooms, both the huge bedroom with its Super King size bed (which can also be converted to 2 twins if necessary) beautiful en suite shower room and your own private sitting room! (what a treat), are beautifully appointed and maintained to an incredibly high standard, but at the same time everything is made comfortable and homely enough that you can feel fully relaxed. The food is superb and beautifully presented. My husband never eats breakfast, but on both mornings we stayed he came away completely, and happily, full!

Nothing is too much trouble for Barbara and David who are wonderful hosts. Barbara has thought of everything to help her guests enjoy their stay, right up to preparing her own local guides to this beautiful and peaceful area.
I've stayed in many, many B&Bs over the years, but Arduaine stands out above all. My husband said that a 5 star rating would be no good for Arduaine as it's simply not high enough, and 6 probably wouldn't be either! We are already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

Barbara and David are very helpful to their guests, Barbara has a detailed knowledge of the area coupled with the tourist literature to help you with the numerous attractions in this part of the world. The bedroom was large and beautiful and the breakfast menu was the largest I have ever had to choose from. Altogether a very memorable holiday.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

We have just returned from "Arduaine" - B&B extrordinaire. We booked for 4 nights and stayed for 6 because the weather was wonderful, there was still plenty to do and more especially we were very comfortable and well looked after at "Arduaine".

Shortly after we booked a letter of confirmation arrived with a suggested route, journey time, places to stop and points of interest. Very useful. I think that "Visit Scotland" should use "Arduaine" as a model for B & Bs.

The twin bedded room was spacious and well furnished with plenty of places to put cases, shoes, clothes etc. The well appointed en suite was supplied with well placed handles for the unsteady elderly ... us!

The sitting room, for our sole use, available at any time of day, had TV, books and comfortable chairs. There breakfast, from a very varied menu, was beautifully served in fine china with homemade bread. We had the facilities of a good hotel at a fraction of the price

Accomodation alone does not make a good B & B. Barbara and David did everything possible for our comfort and entertainment. They welcomed us warmly, carried cases, provided tea and homemade apple pie & cream. They showed us the facilities and suggested where we might eat. They lent us maps and camp chairs and helped us to plan our outings. They listened to what we had done each day and gave us their experiences. They had an encyclopedic knowledge of the area although they themselves were incomers. FULL MARKS TO ARDUAINE!

  • Liked — Excellent in every way
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2008

Just back from a three day stay in Wigtown and can really recommend the Arduaine B&B.
The owners made us very welcome (tea and cake on arrival) and were full of information on what to see and do locally.
The room was excellent. Very comfortable beds - with proper pillows not the usual hard synthetic ones that many hotels have. I did not need my emergency pillow which stayed in the car! Large en suite room so we did not trip over our suitcases, and a huge wardrobe - again not usual in B&Bs. It was also lovely to have a lounge just for our use - fire, TV and plenty of books. Just like being at home but with much better breakfasts!
Within a minutes walking distance of the town centre - lots of 2nd hand book shops - and also the harbour so good walks round there with lots of birdlife to see.
A very comfortable stay.

  • Liked — Use of dedicated lounge for the two of us
  • Disliked — House is quite small so felt a bit like we were encroaching on owners space
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2007

We had a lovely short stay and having stayed in many B&B's before can say that this is the best so far. Really good size bedroom and comfortable lounge to ourselves. Our hosts could not have been more helpful or done more for us.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arduaine Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arduaine Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4 Lochancroft Lane, Wigtown DG8 9HY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Wigtown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Wigtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect retreat to relax and unwind and feel pampered. Barbara & David welcome you; a few minutes walk from the nature reserve or quaint town centre in Wigtown "Scotland's National Book Town". The perfect base from which to discover a hinterland rich in Historic Scotland sites & scenic beauty; golf courses; Bladnoch Distillery; walks along coastal cliffs & in the hills. At Arduaine you find no children, no animals...and no smoking. Gluten free optional. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arduaine Bed And Breakfast Wigtown, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arduaine Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.