We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A family favourite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Steam Packet Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Steam Packet Inn to your Saves list
Steam Packet Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Harbour Row | Isle of Whithorn, Wigtown DG8 8LL, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Wigtown B&B and Inns
Scotland
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A family favourite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

The Steam Packet is a place we've stayed at for years. I have family in the area and often come down to visit bringing my dad with me, who in turn has stayed here many times over the years. We like it for what it is, it's an inn in a small beautiful village in a lovely unspoilt part of the country where the food is excellent. Yes it may be a bit dated and a bit old fashioned in places but that's part of its charm. Rooms 6 and 7 are our favourites, the beds are large and so comfortable. Breakfasts are amazing and so are the lunches and the dinners. Service is always excellent when we've been there and the choice of drink in the bar is second to none. It all depends on your expectations I suppose but we've always found this place great value for money. It's no 5 star hotel but then again it doesn't pretend to be! I'll be back again for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms 6 and 7 have the best and biggest beds and a wonderful view over the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    23
    3
    4
    7
See reviews for
12
38
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

I visit relatives in Newton Stewart and Creetown every three or four months of the year and we usually end up heading out for dinner as Galloway restaurants have a good reputation. The food here is good no doubt about that, but my main problem is when the place is busy customers have to sometimes have dinner in the bar area where locals tend to turn up with their dogs. I consider myself rural as I am originally from Renfrewshire, but having dogs wonder about the bar when your eating is off putting to me....Service was OK, a bit slow, but looked understaffed. Staff were fine and as said food is good. Need to work on the pet thing.

Room Tip: It says are pets allowed....read my review...........oh yes!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

We chose this as a weekend destination as we had dined there on a few occasions in the past year or two whilst in the area. The Isle of Whithorn is the second most southerly point of Scotland – the next stop is the Isle of Man – it’s a very scenic area of Scotland.
We arrived just as it was getting dark on the Friday night after an enjoyable drive from the Glasgow area. We were shown to our room – a very nice room with modern finishes such as a small flat screen TV with Freeview. The room had excellent storage space, a nice seating area, super-king sized bed and all the usual features expected plus a great view of the harbour area.
As we were staying in the off-season the conservatory was closed which was not an issue as it was in the midst of winter – in the summertime it’s a great place to sit, either that or outside but it really wasn’t the weather in December.
Dinner was served either in the restaurant or lounge bar – the choice is yours. The menu has a lot of choice and everything we chose was spot on. Tip – skip the excellent starters to make sure you’ve room for the cheeseboard. The Steam Packet serves up more than just pub grub.
The pub itself is an excellent venue with character, great beers, good friendly atmosphere and a nice coal fire, along with the majority of the "characters" who frequent it – we were made to feel most welcome by all.
The traditional Scottish breakfast using good quality ingredients is fabulous and there is a huge choice of other items on the breakfast menu too (haddock, salmon, kippers and porridge etc) - you won't have to eat until the evening……..
All the staff are friendly and welcoming and many other hotels could learn from their easy going manner. Everything you expect from a good quality pub / inn is here.
A great weekend retreat with good rooms, great food, fab beers and value for money prices across the board. Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Just enjoyed a bar meal in the Steam Packet Inn, it's Thursday night which is Steak Night for £10 you get a steak with all the trimmings and a sauce of your choice. Excellent value for money. Great service and a good night had by all.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

This is a great place for lunch in a remote coastal scenic location. We visited with friends and unfortunately the front restaurant which has a view over the water was closed for some reason, so we ate in the large conservatory at the back. However we did have a pre-lunch drink in the front bar and could appreciate the coastal views. For most of our meal we were the only people in the conservatory. Food was very good overall and the selection of guest cask beer was amazing considering the fairly remote location.

Only negative was the state of repair and cleanliness of the seating in the restaurant, it badly needs replacing.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

Having enjoyed several bar meals over the years at the SPI, and having checked in the afternoon that meals service started at 18.30, we drove some 12 miles , arriving at 19.10 to find the bar almost full. We were diverted to the public bar and given menus . It was mentioned that there would be a delay in taking our order, as they were busy. However after 40 minutes with no positive moves from the staff we paid for our drinks and left
Obviously very popular, but needs to apply a bit of customer care and not just rely on its reputation and lack of any local competition.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

I went here for the sheer peacefulness of the place, after a stressful few months. The small fishing port is peace personified, with the Steam Packet Inn providing room, food and a wonderful location right by the harbour. I do agree with some of the other comments - the rooms are a bit tired, the service can be slow and a bit grudging... but for £40 a night I was prepared to put up with the downsides for the pleasure of just being in such a restorative place. I didn't have one of the harbour-view rooms (an extra £5), which would have made my stay more pleasant, but I would very happily go back there, and perhaps book further in advance to have a better choice of room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Steam Packet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steam Packet Inn

Address: Harbour Row | Isle of Whithorn, Wigtown DG8 8LL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Wigtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Wigtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Steam Packet Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Steam Packet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steam Packet Hotel Wigtown
Steam Packet Inn Wigtown, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steam Packet Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.