We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost felt part of the harbour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Steam Packet Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Steam Packet Inn to your Saves list
Steam Packet Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Harbour Row | Isle of Whithorn, Wigtown DG8 8LL, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Wigtown B&B and Inns
Hampshire England
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Almost felt part of the harbour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We travelled around the coast of Scotland during May and this is one of the hotels we stayed in - This is a lovely old inn and we really enjoyed our night there. It really could do with a bit of decoration TLC but in many ways the odd bit of paper lifting added to it's charm and age. We had a lovely wide windowsill in our room to sit on and a separate part where a table and chairs was situated. The restaurant was clean and modern and we were made very welcome. Parking was along the harbour and as long as there is a space it's free, not sure how you stand in high season.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    23
    3
    4
    7
See reviews for
12
38
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

Nothing happens here, it literaly is the end of the road, but with cask beers, and lovely food.
They take dogs, they've got a power showers, the beds are comfortable, and the breakfast means you aren't going to need lunch. Don't expect anything but peace and quiet.
On the down side, you do have to be careful when going out onto the busy road outside, there may be someone turning around after a visit to the pub, but you get a warning because it's the only vehicle thats moved in an hour.
I would recommend this hotel, but I don't want it to be too popular, otherwise it may be fully booked.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

Finally persuaded my husband to visit the Isle of Whithorn, after years of telling him about wonderful childhood holidays in this area. After a long journey we arrived at the Steam Packet to have lunch. We arrived within the time advertised for lunch but when the staff finally served us ( after 10 minutes busy in their conversations) we were told there was no food available! The staff ignored us largely, and had we not have been so hungry we would have left there and then. Did not ruin our lovely day out but expected a bit of civility and Scottish hospitality - both sadly lacking. Will come back to the Isle of Whithorn but will not bother to spend any money in the Steam Packet - they obviously don't want custom!

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

I have been intending to write this for a long time.
This Inn is a wonderful place indeed, we have been going there about 3 times a year for the past 7 years. We just keep on returning as every time is as good as the last.
The whole area of Wigtownshire is so beautiful , a hidden gem.
Alistair and his team ( and they do work as a team, from his wife to the bar staff, the restaurant staff , the chambermaids and all the kitchen staff, and how can I leave out his dad......! ) they all work so hard to make this place run like clockwork and be the relaxing and fantastic Inn that it is.
I have never had a cheesboard as good, the steaks are fab, fish locally caught, portions generous, chips crispy, and the wine list is excellent, I just wish I could drink more of it.
We keep on returning, for the reliability of a wonderful hotel, with lovely staff , magnificent views over the harbour, and an ambiance that is unsurpassed. (and all very reasonable. )
The starched white linen tablecloths and napkins, the huge stove to warm the place, the bottled water in the bedrooms, the homemade preserves, the tasters before the meal, being personally led to one's table, all these touches just make the place.
So, Thankyou, and I only hope that I can still book a room the next time I phone up .

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arendal, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

My wife and I stayed there for two nights. We came here mainly for the food, which was excellent as usual (we had been here once before). The Isle of Whithorn is a special place, right at the end of the known universe (or so it feels).

Friendly peoply who can take (and give) a joke, fine food and drink.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

We didn't stay here but went for an evening meal. Despite enjoying a very good meal, & excellent beer, we'll not be hurrying back. The staff ranged from sullen to charmless, & the place lacked any sort of atmosphere. Even when we tried to make conversation with the staff, we were largely ignored!

We'd visited this place some years ago & had a completely different experience -- everything was terrific. Apparently what's changed is that the previous owners retired & handed the business on (to their children, I believe).

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

We did not stay at the Steam Packet, but was advised to go there for Sunday Lunch.

We were lucky that we were in that area and so was able to book a table, for the buffet style Sunday Lunch. It was well worth it, very very good value for money, it cost £10 a head, and that was for three courses!

To start we both had the onion soup, which you served yourself, they also did a vegie alternative, there were altnatives as well. The main course was a traditonal Sunday Roast beef, which was very very nice, again you helped yourself to vegs, but the meat was carved for you, the veg was good as well, and again there was a vegie alternative, in fact the women did say that some people have a little of everything for the main course. I think there was about 4 different choices inclusive of the vegie option.

Dessert well I could not resist was hot chocolate fudge cake with hot sauce and fresh cream, again you could help yourself, so I had a very small portuon, but it was really lovely and again there was 3 other altnatives.

I would say that this is extremely good value for money, but be warned it is best to pre book, otherwise you may not get in as it seems to be very popular.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Steam Packet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steam Packet Inn

Address: Harbour Row | Isle of Whithorn, Wigtown DG8 8LL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Wigtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Wigtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Steam Packet Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Steam Packet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steam Packet Hotel Wigtown
Steam Packet Inn Wigtown, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steam Packet Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.