We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cosy, very welcoming, and family friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Peter Hotel

The Blue Peter Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stranraer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Blue Peter Hotel
23 Main Street | Kirkcolm, Stranraer DG9 0NL, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 28 Stranraer B&B and Inns
North-east Fife
1 review
“Very cosy, very welcoming, and family friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

My wife, two small children (one of 9 months, the other nearly 3 years) and I stayed in the family room at the Blue Peter for a pre-Easter break of 3 nights. Nothing was too much trouble for Ian and Ruth, who attended to our every need. Ian is a mine of information and lore on all sorts of subjects, and Ruth cooks the most wonderful meals for guests and casual diners. Ian has equipped the lounge with a rich collection of antiques and other things: it's a fascinating collection. The garden is full of interesting wildlife, and the region unspoiled and relaxing in general. We highly recommend this excellent hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    7
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
11
15
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Neuk of Fife
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2009

We've only just discovered Tripadvisor, but this was our 8th visit to the Blue Peter since spring 2007!
What a gem of a place! Ruth's home cooking is amongst the best we have tasted; and at such low prices! Ian's constantly changing Real Ales, again low prices, are consistantly well kept - we've never found better!
The garden. Other reviewers have said it all! Where else can you sit sipping a pint and seeing perhaps 20 species of bird, and 7 or 8 red squirrels?
The hospitality. Visit once, and Ian and Ruth will introduce you to their wonderfully friendly and welcoming regulars. Visit twice and it's like going home!
Admittedly the rooms are small, particularly so the bathrooms, but they are clean, comfortable, warm, and perfectly adequate for any length of stay.
CAMRA's Scotland and Northern Ireland Pub of the Year 2007 will definitely see us visiting again (in fact we've already booked a couple of weekends in April - see you there?)

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2008

I do not usually write reviews but was so amazed to see the review left by someone with regard to room size !!!! that I felt inclined to leave this with regard to our experiece. We happend upon the Blue Peter Hotel by chance (on the internet whilst I was looking for somewhere to stay in that area). It looked and sounded lovely so we booked. We are so pleased that we did!...What a delightful stay we had there...the whole ambience of the place is friendly and relaxing. Ruth and Ian both went out of their way to make our short stay enjoyable and relaxing, they made us feel as if we were really special and that our comfort and enjoyment really mattered. So many nice little touches. The food is second to none the breakfasts and evening meals alike. Their garden is enchanting with many wild, and some unusual birds, but its the red squirrels that held our attention for so long with their comical antics. The hotel is clean, warm and welcoming. The rooms are not big, but they are certainly big enough...the room size became so insignificant when compared with everything else that helped make our stay there so lovely. We definitely intend to go again.

  • Liked — Food, friendliness, fantastic wild life
  • Disliked — Only had two nights there which was not enough
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2008

I booked this hotel on a recommendation of a local resident. I wish I hadn't! I booked a twin room for me and a friend, on arriving we were shown to a tiny room so small that when our 2 bags were on the floor you had to tread over them to move. The shower room was so small that if you sat on the toilet your feet touched the shower tray. We asked if another room was available and that we were willing to pay for 2 single rooms. The owner said he did have another room but it wasn't made up since the last guests left so we couldn't have it. My advice is, unless you want a really close encounter with whoever you share the room with, book somewhere else.
It has 1 saving grace and that is that it has a wonderful garden where the owners feed much of the local wildlife including many species of birds and red squirrels.
Alan.
Dec. 2008

  • Liked — The garden
  • Disliked — Size of the room and shower room.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redruthless, owner at The Blue Peter Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2008
on arrival these guests asked for another room but as we were having alterations in the only other spare room it wasent made up to be available.i agree our shower rooms are not the largest but they are clean and warm .we have many return happy visitors........what i cant understand is why this guest gave me a tip on leaving and said he would be back when in the area.our rooms are very clean and tidy and this man was quite large but we have had even larger people stay with no complaints.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

Spent 4 nights at the Blue Peter Hotel. The room was warm and quiet, located above two bars situated on the ground floor. The hosts were very friendly and accommodating having an obvious pride in their business. Breakfast was good and the evening meals were very nice too. The pub was traditional and laid-back, seemingly a focal point for the small local community who were also very friendly. I was made to feel very comfortable and it was a relaxing place to stay. Great open fire. Very reasonably priced. No complaints.

  • Liked — Food & Fire
  • Disliked — Small bathroom
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reno nevada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

Ian and Ruth are great hosts...very friendly and helpful. Blue Peter is in Kirkcolm, a few miles from Stranraer so this is a convernient place for a 1 night stay before catching the ferry to Belfast. The rooms are very small, but complete with all the necessities and quite clean and neat. I did notice that the bath towels were very thin, but that really wasn't an issue. The price was quite good and Ruth and Ian could not have been more accomodating. When we arrived in the evening, Ruth prepared a wonderful dinner for the 4 of us and the breakfast the next morning was very good. For both meals we were offered several choices and the price was right. The downstairs of the hotel is a pub, but there was no noise problem like we have experienced in other places. If the weather had been better, we could have sat on the patio in back and watched the squirrels!! This is a great little find for the price.

  • Liked — Ian and Ruth, the hosts
  • Disliked — Size of the room and skimpy towels
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

Reviewer: Nash, Cheshire.

We were drawn to this pub by the mention of red squirrels in the garden and were not disappointed as they appeared and performed each morning we were there.

We were also delighted by the warm and friendly welcome we received from Ruth and Ian, who bent over backwards to ensure our stay was comfortable. In addition to the substantial and excellant breakfast included in the price of the room Ruth will, on request, serve a delicious evening meal to guests even on the nights that the pub does not serve food to non residents.

The whole establishment is very clean and well run with plenty of nautical, equestrian and Yorkshire based memorabillia reflecting the life and interests of these two aimiable hosts.

We used the Blue Peter as a base to explore the penisula and visit local businesses and found the advice offered about this most welcome and helpful. We will no doubt need to return to this area on business in future and would not hesitate to return to The Blue Peter.

  • Liked — Hosts that have created a business to be pround of.
  • Disliked — Small en suite
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Blue Peter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Peter Hotel

Address: 23 Main Street | Kirkcolm, Stranraer DG9 0NL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Stranraer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
The Blue Peter Hotel Stranraer, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Peter Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Blue Peter Hotel to your Saves list