We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, warm, comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cross Haven Guest House

Cross Haven Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cross Haven Guest House to your Saves list
Cross Haven Guest House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Lewis Street, Stranraer DG9 7AL, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 30 Stranraer B&B and Inns
Hove, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“clean, warm, comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Clean, warm and comfortable, all you need for an overnight.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    11
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
31
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

This is a wonderful place to stay. Beautiful house, fabulous room, great breakfast, everything you need.
Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kildare ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

On arrival We received a warm welcome eventhough we were very late because of delayed ferry. Our room was warm and cosy with tea/coffee making facitities well stocked with supplies. Next morning we were served a tasty breakfast by Gayle who was very efficient, courteous and friendly in a reserved professional manner.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

Upon arriving we were greeted and shown our very impressive room. The room was super clean, beautiful, and spacious! The area surrounding is quiet, quaint and safe. Just a short walk to all the resteraunts and the train/ferry. Breakfast was wonderful!!! We had a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Gayle was the ultimate hostess. Our room was lovely and included thoughtful gestures: of course,tea, but also hot cocoa and candy bars. The little things that welcome you. Wonderful breakfast , warmth and hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

I stayed at Cross Haven Guest House for five nights in May 2010. I was made to feel very welcome by the owners Mick & Gayle.
My room was extremely comfortable,warm and had little extras ie: complimentary tea & coffee etc tray, tissues, hairdryer & TV/DVD.There was also a hot water bottle if needed.
The en-suite bathroom was clean ,modern and provided constant hot water & towels.
There was a choice of breakfasts including juice,cereals, yoghurts and fresh fruit. The hot breakfasts were perfectly cooked and included tea/coffee and toast.
I would certainly go back. I recommend Cross Haven for short or longer stays.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halkirk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

Finding appropriate accommodations for my travels to Ireland is always difficult, as I bring my two small dogs with me. Many places that advertise being "dog friendly" end up being less than acceptable for the dogs' owners. I would stay at Cross Haven whether or not I had pets with me, because the service and rooms were first rate. Very friendly, inviting atmosphere. However, to have both the high level of service and acceptance of my pets made the experience perfect. Thank you so much!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cross Haven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross Haven Guest House

Address: Lewis Street, Stranraer DG9 7AL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Stranraer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cross Haven Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cross Haven is a beautifully refurbished Victorian Villa which was formerly a convent. We are conveniently located for Stranraer town centre, ferries to Ireland and the surrounding countryside. We are easy to find being located directly opposite the Ryan Leisure Centre. We have a room on the ground floor which is easily accessed. All rooms are non-smoking and we have off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Cross Haven Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cross Haven Guest House Stranraer, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cross Haven Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.