We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cross Haven Guest House

Cross Haven Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cross Haven Guest House to your Saves list
Cross Haven Guest House
Lewis Street, Stranraer DG9 7AL, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 29 Stranraer B&B and Inns
Dudley, West Midlands, England
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Really great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights and could easily have stayed longer. Fabulous breakfast and clean comfortable room. Gayle & Mick were very friendly and helpful and recommended some good resteraunts for evening meals. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BandBStranraer, Owner at Cross Haven Guest House, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We really appreciate the time people take to share their positive experiences at Cross Haven. Glad you enjoyed your breakfasts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    11
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
30
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Stayed 1 night after crossing from Belfast in the ferry. Excellent B&B overall, with friendly hosts Gayle and Mick. Would strongly recommend it as a B&B, but get directions from them prior to arrival, if you're not using a car (as I wasn't), as the walk from the ferry terminal can be a bit confusing.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed 1 night waiting for the ferry to Northern Ireland. This worked well. The owner, Gayle, was friendly and obliging, the room comfortable and the breakfast hearty and tasty. Little touches we liked were that the towels, tea and coffee supplies etc were all of good quality, Gayle offered us fresh milk for our tea, and she took our breakfast order in the evening, which made everything run smoothly in the morning (important if, like us, you are on a time limit for leaving.) She recommended a good place for our evening meal, which we would not have stumbled across on our own.I would definitely recommend this Band B and book there again if I were travelling via Cairnryan. Our only niggle was the walk around from the parking area with our bags, but Gayle said they are considering a path/ gate to ease this. I noticed they have a downstairs twin room...worth noting if you are travelling with a wheelchair or are of limited mobility. I don't know if you have that mentioned on the info on websites, Gayle? A few years back I struggled to find such rooms when travelling with my old Dad. If you aren't already, make sure you are in any disabled guides eg Radar. Thank you, keep up the good work!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberaeron, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed with Mick and Gayle for 3 nights earlier this month, and found the whole experience brilliant! We had come up for a wedding, stayed the night before, and the following night to make a break of it, and would have stayed longer considering how comfortable the beds are!
Road noise was barely audible, considering the road outside is fairly major there was little traffic, and what there was we couldn't hear at all.
The breakfasts were exemplary and our hosts couldn't have been any more gracious or welcoming, even giving us the local low-down on the best places to visit and to eat!

Thanks to you both Mick and Gayle, we'll definitely be coming back as soon as we find an excuse!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011 via mobile

Stayed for one night whilst on business and it was lovely. Lovely people, lovely room, lovely breakfast. Fantastic value for money. Will definitely come back if working this way again. Thanks.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Very well received, friendly greeting, just what you expect from Yorkshire people.
By the time we left, you would think we had known them all our lives. Keep up the good work, and hope to visit again

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We spent a two night break here before travelling on to Ayr. There were no problems at all and we would not hesitate in recommending anyone to stay here in future. We had never been to Stranraer before and unfortunately there was not much for us to do there so don't think we would go again but Cross Haven was excellent and made up for the lack of amenities in Stranraer. Even though our bedroom was facing a main road and it was during the recent heatwave we were able to leave our windows open at night as there is not much noise.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cross Haven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross Haven Guest House

Address: Lewis Street, Stranraer DG9 7AL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Stranraer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cross Haven is a beautifully refurbished Victorian Villa which was formerly a convent. We are conveniently located for Stranraer town centre, ferries to Ireland and the surrounding countryside. We are easy to find being located directly opposite the Ryan Leisure Centre. We have a room on the ground floor which is easily accessed. All rooms are non-smoking and we have off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cross Haven Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cross Haven Guest House Stranraer, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cross Haven Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.