We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balyett Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Balyett Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Balyett Bed and Breakfast
Cairnryan Road, Stranraer DG98QL, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 29 Stranraer B&B and Inns
newcastle england
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

Balyette is a beautiful bed and breakfast, very friendly welcome, very good recommendations for restaurants in town, delicious breakfast , clean and spacy room, perfect hosts, great guest in the gardens ducks, hens, (like there eggs too) and rabbits. The weather was better than Spain
Look forward to returning
Larry and Helen

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
54
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

We stayed only one night but the welcome we received and the high standard of accommodation was excellent as was our hostess.. We would definately stay again and highly recommend it to anyone in that area.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2009

A welcome respite after a long drive, previous reviews were justified. Well proportioned room with decent bathroom and comfortable bed. Superb location for access to ferry terminal. Breakfast was excellent - just the right amount and very tasty. Will definitely stay again.

Be warned - the B&B is not in Stranraer as indicated on Google Maps, it is a farmhouse on the Cairnryan Road just outside the town.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

The Balyett B&B was an excellent choice for us as we wanted a quiet break away for Easter. The accomodation was immaculate with beautifully decorated rooms and wonderful sea views. The little extras in the room included good choice of teas/drinks and extra toiletries in the bathroom (razors, deoderant etc). The breakfast was wonderful, cooked to perfection!
In the evening we walked along the sea front to the nearest restaurant (approx 20mins) where we had an excellent meal - good service, reasonably priced and great food.
Would highly recommend this B&B to anyone of any age and particularly good location for those travelling by ferry to Ireland.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

We stayed overnight to and from Belfast. When we arrived tea and coffee were served and we were made to feel welcome. There was a lounge where we met other guests and had an enjoyable evening.
A local restaurant was recommended that was excellent and not over expensive and a taxi organised for us.
Both ourselves and the other couple would recommend anyone to stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

My husband & i stayed at the Balayette over night because we were catching the ferry to Ire the following day,& we liked it so much that we booked another night stay on our return journey.The hospitality that we were shown from the proprietors Pat & Bill made us feel really welcomed it was just like as if we were staying with really good friends.The rooms were of excellent standard& very clean & we had a lovely breakfast on both occasions .I would just like to take this opportunityto say thanks to Pat & Bill for their hospitality & would be very happy to stay with them again on our next visit to Stranraer Scotland. Respectfully,Margaret & Charlie Anderson, London

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2008

A lovely B&B situated a short drive from town centre. Owner gave us some great advice to see Portpatrick a 11 km drive away which was well worth it.

We got chinese take away and they allowed us to use their kitchen table which was very kind.

We had two kids and we were made very comfortable and didn't feel like we were intruding.

Both husband and wife very welcoming and friendly.

First class.

WIFI a big plus too,

  • Liked — Not feeling like I was intruding into someones home
  • Disliked — A little far from town if you want a few pints at the local and need to drive
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balyett Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balyett Bed and Breakfast

Address: Cairnryan Road, Stranraer DG98QL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Stranraer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star graded Balyett, is on the shores of Loch Ryan, ideally located, a short drive from both Stenna and P&O ferry terminals. A picturesque walk to and from Stranraer town centre, the family run Balyett offers peaceful and very comfortable accommodation. In the house we have one Lochview luxury twin room, with a king size bed and a double bed, one king size Loch view double, and a double room overlooking the garden, all en-suite. All of our rooms have colour televisions and courtesy trays. Private off road parking for all vehicle types. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Balyett Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balyett Bed And Breakfast Stranraer, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balyett Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.