We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful experience....don't make the same mistake we did!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Thistle Inn

The Thistle Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Thistle Inn to your Saves list
The Thistle Inn
47 Dalrymple Street, Stranraer DG9 7EY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 30 Stranraer B&B and Inns
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awful experience....don't make the same mistake we did!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We arrived at the hotel after a 5 hour journey with an 8 month old baby and 2 other young children. We had booked a family room and ensured the hotel was 'pet friendly' as we had our dog with us also. Upon arrival, a member of staff rang through to the owner as she was unsure where we were staying. The owner at best can be described as terribly rude! I was made to speak to her on the phone where she denied informing me the hotel was pet friendly (web site stated it was but I had enquired over the phone at the time of booking to be certain). She was awful to me on the phone and when I enquired as to whether or not she was going to allow us to stay I was rather abruptly told to put the other lady back on the phone! We were shattered and the baby had had enough. Eventually we were told we would be allowed to stay. Interestingly another couple were sat in the 'bar' (a gloomy room at best) having the exact same problem.

I would question the websites accuracy in its claims of great hospitality! We would certainly NEVER stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    6
    3
    15
See reviews for
10
11
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I was concerned before staying at the Thistle because of the other reviews however i found the place to be clean, the room adequately sized and everything worked fine. It is a basic B&B and should be reviewed as such. Overall i had a good nights sleep and found the staff extremely helpful and accomodating. Would definately recommend to anyone looking for a simple overnight stay in the area.

Room Tip: A colleague mentioned the single/twin chalet is poor so ask for a double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

My partner and i booked here last minute+wished we had checked the reviews first! The room was small+reeked of smoke,bed was hard with one flat pillow each.bathroom was the tiniest i have ever seen!towels were tiny to match.tv was also tiny+my partner had to jiggle the aerial wire to get even basic channels.place was really noisy.breakfast room was dingy+cold+breakfast nothing special.the only good thing about the stay was the gorgeous weather which enabled us to stay out of the 'chalet'!will never go back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perthshire scotland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed one night which was more than enough, the only good thing I can say is that the room was clean. Other than that the place is terrible the room had way to much furniture in it . In the morning we were told to make our own toast but only after the lady had been to the shop to get some bread , no maramlade or jam available , she told us that if we wanted tea or coffee we were to make that yourselves also and in the corner of the breakfast room /bar was a jar of coffee a box of tea bag and a earn of hot water, cook breakfast was no better tasteless and no even cooked properly . No matter what we will never be staying again would sleep in the car before going here again .

Room Tip: There isn't a good one
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here August. Looked at some reviews before we set off and must admit got a little concerned...we shouldn't have. When we arrived we where met by Sandra who showed us our room. Rooms where basic but spotlessly clean. We where there as two couples and booked last minute cheapy so to be honest we weren't expecting much, we could have booked other hotels but all for a lot more money. We visited close by Port Patrick which was a gorgeous place then returned to be met again by Sandra, who was doing her ironing in the bar...but who cares?, just shows that she worked like a wee trojan. Serving us a drink she made recommendations of where to go for a drink and somewhere to eat in Stranraer. Everyone was really friendly. We returned to The Thistle Inn around 10pm where a Karaoke was in full swing, great atmosphere. Sandra, (although not working at this point) still came to talk to us and even bought us a drink! We have never experienced this hospitality from any other "short break hotels" we have stayed at. If we ever drive to this area of the country again I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnard Castle
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Where do I begin ?

It was hardly the “ Welcome Inn “ On arrival even though the owner watched us parking along side the chalets she never spoke to see if we were booked in, and we had to go chasing after her to check in. We were given a room and then once we took our 15 year old border collie out of the car we were told that they did not accept dogs even though the web site advertised the Thistle as “ Pet Friendly “. On saying that the advert clearly states pet friendly we were told that the web site should have been updated as they did not now take pets. We were then told to move to another room with a green carpet where any dog hairs apparently did not show up so much and thus required less hoovering, if we wanted to stay. My wife told the owner that if it was a problem we would move on but we were told that on this occasion it was not a problem and she would get the web site altered for future bookings. We then went into the public bar of the Thistle which seemed to double up as the laundry / ironing room and were served by a barmaid who said that she had worked there for one year yet when I asked for a pint of draught keg beer she had to be coached from the only customer in the pub as to how to pour a pint pf beer. Next minute, in walked a family of five with a dog who had just travelled for five hours to stay there that evening. The mother of the family was carrying a young baby and was distraught to be told that they new nothing of the booking and they did not accept dogs, even though the mother had personally spoken to the owner informing her of the fact that she had a dog and that she did not require a travel-cot as she had her own. Time for a sharp exit we thought. We went off in search of food and returned to our chalet room later that night only to be kept awake all night with people arriving and leaving at all small hours of the morning. The poor woman next door had been sick and she did not no whether it was the drink she had in the Thistle’s bar or the Chinese after that had upset her but with paper thin walls between us we were left listening to her being violently sick. Any movement she made in her chalet or for that matter any movement any person in any of the chalets made seemed to vibrate right through to all of the chalets. People just walking to the toilet two doors away could be clearly heard. Once we got up for our breakfast we found that most of the guests had gone to catch early morning ferries and this had been the reason for cars leaving throughout the night. We were served breakfast in what was the disused lounge bar by a very pleasant lady. It was a kind of help yourself affair, there’s the toaster, there’s the jar of coffee, and we were presented with a good looking cooked breakfast. One criticism was the thin pink lint sausages seemed to be meat free and even the dog ( who was hiding in the car by this time ) turned his nose up at them.
Well some you win some you loose.
Q. If The Thistle Hotel ever decided to become pet friendly again would we return ?
A. Not in a hundred years.
Q. Do we ever wish we had done an about turn on arrival ?
A. You Bet we did.
We won’t be back.

Room Tip: Try a more friendly hostelry in Stranraer, on the sea front at The Marine Hotel were very accomodati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here at the end of July as we were attending a wedding in Stranraer.

We were a bit concerned when we first pulled up into the car park but eventually found our way into the bar and we were met with a very warm welcome and shown to our room.

The room was basic but was spotlessly clean, what more do you really need? We went back into the bar and had a drink whilst we waited on our taxi.

On returning later that evening (12.45 am) we decided to go for one last drink in the bar before bed. We were made to feel incredibly welcome by the regulars and the staff and before we realised it was 3am, we'd been sitting talking to the owners for hours.

Breakfast the next morning was cooked fresh to order.

I've stayed in other B&Bs and hotels in Stranraer including the North West Castle and can honestly say the Thistle wins hands down.

Dont be put off by the other reviews, this place is a wee gem and we'll definately be staying here again next time we're in stranraer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Thistle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thistle Inn

Address: 47 Dalrymple Street, Stranraer DG9 7EY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Stranraer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Thistle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thistle Inn Stranraer, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Thistle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.