We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indian Delights..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Mahal, Stranraer

Taj Mahal, Stranraer
London road, Stranraer BT55 7FG, Scotland
07764587978
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 31 restaurants in Stranraer
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Indian Delights..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Well last Saturday I ordered my carry out..Four different curries..Each one was perfect from the Chasni to the Korai..Very authentic..I make my own basmati rice and Naan and Paratha at home..There was enough food to keep the three of us going for two nights..Now to answer the question,why is this restaurant not as busy as it should be..I've no idea..In my home town of Glasgow, Indian restaurants are usually packed on the weekends but in my opinion,Stranraer has never taken off to Indian cuisine..Those who have never been for a true Indian curry don't know what there missing..My In laws prefer a Chinese curry with chips ( Whits all that about ) ..I'll be back for my Hogmanay carry out in a few weeks time, and I hope others will try it out. Go ahead and try a Indian curry..You won't be disappointed..

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    26
    9
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Deserves to be busier”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This is a pretty good little Indian with a lot going for it, but was practically empty when I dined there which detracted from the meal. Great value food. Naan outstanding and obviously freshly made to order. Everything ordered was well-spiced and extremely tasty.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent bargain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I missed getting any Black Friday deals in Asda, but I got the bargain in of the week in Stranraer, without having to que on being trampled in the crowds. At £9.95 for a starter, main course and naan bread, I exceptionally surprised with the quality of the food, the attentive service from staff, well done to the Taj staff we will be back soon!
Book your tables soon to enjoy this wonderful place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirriemuir, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Couldn't Fault Anythying.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Our first, and so far only, visit to the Taj Mahal was on a quiet Monday night in Stranraer. The omens weren't good as we were the only customers there. However, the whole experience was excellent. The two staff were welcoming, polite, helpful and friendly without being overly familiar. An excellent choice of food on the menu. Our meals were served promptly, the portions were generous and the food itself was excellent. The final bill was so modest that my first thought was that they had forgotten to include the bottle of wine! I can only assume that the place has improved a lot since some earlier reviews. If our experience was typical, they do deserve to succeed, and we will certainly be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good takeaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Tried Taj Mahal for a takeaway whilst staying near Stranraer.
Tasty. Reasonably priced. Friendly service.
Would return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj Mahal, Stranraer also viewed

Stranraer, Dumfries and Galloway
Stranraer, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Stranraer, Dumfries and Galloway
Stranraer, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Taj Mahal, Stranraer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Mahal, Stranraer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.