We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding 16th August 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Henrys Bay House Restaurant

Henrys Bay House Restaurant
Cairnryan Road, Stranraer DG9 8AT, Scotland
+44 1776 707388
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 35 Restaurants in Stranraer
Cuisines: Seafood, English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Nestled in the West Coast town of Stranraer overlooking the picturesque Loch Ryan where you can watch the ferries going to and from Northern Ireland and Cairnryan Port. Henrys Bay House Restaurant boasts the finest sun terrace for alfresco dining and views to be inspired by. The menu features locally sourced fish and meat prepared and cooked freshly to order by local chef/restauranteur John Henry. The comfortable and stylish restaurant and bar are managed by his wife Jane and her team of attentive, welcoming staff.
Girvan, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wedding 16th August 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had our weding meal in the Bay House on the 16th August 2013. Even though the restaurant was not open until night time they opened up for us at 4.30pm and the meal was absolutely wonderful , they had decorated our table for us and the staff were just great. Made our day extra special. Was so good we went back the next day for lunch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    17
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Had a wonderful meal at The Bay House. Food fantastic. Service excellent and surroundings really nice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful dinner at this restaurant. The food, drinks and service were all worth a visit to this lovely restaurant!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely lunch here.Great menu with plenty of choice.Pleasant surroundings with friendly attentive staff.Food very good and well presented.Never felt rushed in any way.Would have no hesitation in visiting again when in the area.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely meal & friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We went there for lunch and were impressed by the friendliness of the staff. We enjoyed a drink in the bar whilst they took our order and prepared the food. They very considerately gave us a table which was easy to park a pushchair beside. The decor is fresh and modern. The food was lovely. I had salmon in pea, bacon and saffron broth which was delicious and really well cooked! No overcooked veg here! We were told they use local suppliers and local produce whenever possible. Very impressed! Will be back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henrys Bay House Restaurant also viewed

Stranraer, Dumfries and Galloway
Stranraer, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Stranraer, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Henrys Bay House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henrys Bay House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.