We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You stay in a lighhouse. A LIGHTHOUSE!!. With brilliant food. Bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stranraer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Corsewall Point | Kirkcolm, Stranraer DG9 0QG , Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 28 Stranraer B&B and Inns
Harrogate
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“You stay in a lighhouse. A LIGHTHOUSE!!. With brilliant food. Bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

We could only spare a weekend away, although we spent more than a week looking for the place to stay, and wanted excellent food, great scenery cozy rooms and somewhere special. The Corsewall Ligthouse Hotel is special. The food is marvellous and excellent value, the rooms are excellent and with views to die for. But then again did I mention - you're in a lighthouse!!! Our room was the smallest in the hotel but it was perfect and looked straight out to sea. The staff excellent, personable and very professional. The food divine - all 5 courses and the breakfasts will set you up for the rest of the day.

The Rhinns are special, we have travelled to many parts of Scotland and once again it's different. Wonderful rolling countryside with magnificent hills and cliffs dipping into the sea. Wonderull little villages and miles of empty beaches.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    30
    13
    8
    2
See reviews for
31
135
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

We live thirty eight miles away from The Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel ,and happened upon it after a stressfull day .What can i say every thing about it was excellent , a little pricey maybe but you get what you pay for .Mind you the drinks were cheaper than some pubs , feel so chilled out now cant wait to go back

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

great place to stay, wonderfull view very good pub&restaurant and many excelent whisky's.
For motorbikers it is better to arrive with daylight, the roads at this "end of the world" are not very good, but the place deserves 2 stars in the guide michelin" : worth the detour.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

We stayed in the Stevenson suite, which is one half of a recently built block which was apparently originally intended to be the owner's retirement home. It is huge - like a large bungalow - with 2 massive bedrooms, living room , kitchen etc, in a location that has to be seen to be believed - literally yards from the sea, almost on the cliffs, 3 minutes walk from the main lighthouse building itself. Even if it were just a self catering cottage, it would be a perfect spot for a romantic or family break. But when one adds the delightful hotel dining room and staff, it gives you a killer combination of space/privacy/independence on the one hand and food/service/having your bed made on the other.

The hotel is charmingly in a 70's timewarp. The sniffy would no doubt moan about lack of wireless internet, no plasma tellies, no pillow menu, tired decor, cramped dining room, lack of variety on an old fashioned leatherette dinner menu, tinned fruit and carton juice at breakfast (how life-shatteringly dreadful), so if you want a chain-alike 21st century experience stay away. But the place is beautifully clean and well managed, the food delicious, the staff friendly and helpful, and the location so incredible, that it adds up to a really memorable experience. We will be back.

Its pricey - we paid £800 ish for three nights DB&B for 2 adults and one 10 year old. Overall, though, it is worth it, but for reasons that go way outside and beyond the usual tickboxes.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

Just returned back from a fabulous trip as a group of 4 40-something ladies, celebrating a birthday. The whole experience from when we drove over the hill and saw Coresewall Lighthouse, to the accommodation (Lighthouse Suite), scenery, and WONDERFUL food was absolutely fantastic.

This Hotel under-sells itself! The Lighthouse Suite was paradise, we sat in the Conservatory for hours, watching the sunset and the waves crashing against the rocks - with bubbles in hand! The Suite has a full kitchen and dining room, TV, DVD, Stereo CD system - but don't even think of cooking, the intimate restaurant was PERFECT, with the Chef clearly taking real pride in the quality and presentation of every dish - again, fantastic!

The staff simply couldn't be nicer! If you want Lighthouse view, it has to be the Lighthouse Suite. If you want contemporary luxury with sea views go for the Stevenson and Ballantrae - we are going to bring our hubbies next time and book in to these 2 suites!

YOU HAVE TO GO! This is brilliant - enjoy (and thanks to everyone for making us feel so very welcome).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRose82
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

Really enjoyed the stay. We were in a smaller room but it was great value as the deal included a wonderful five-course meal, which was delicious and fresh. We didn't claim the smoked-salmon-and-bucks-fizz for breakfast but I believe it's available (simply didn't fancy it but the breakfast was good).

The decor is old-fashioned and one thing I was a tiny bit disappointed at was the fact that we weren't in the main body of the lighthouse in a curved room but to be honest that was nothing. I had a fantastic time and, as I said, it was great value.

It's a bit out-of-the-way to get to, we got a taxi from Stranraer as didn't fancy a long drive. The scenery is beautiful, though.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

This was a fantastic stay, the hotel is beautiful and although we were based in one of the suites away from the hotel, the suite was also stunning with views over the water.. It was clean, modern, warm. The facilities in the suite are fantastic, bed is so comfortable that it took all my effort to get out of it in the morning.
The staff are so friendly and welcoming and very attentive. The food was amazing and great value for money, the chef obviously takes his cooking very seriously as not only was it very tasty, it was very well presented.
It's a warm comfortable hotel and we could have happily stayed longer.. It was a bit of a trek to get there but totally worth it. We will be back frequently and anybody that hasn't been, you will not be disappointed with this venue.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel

Address: Corsewall Point | Kirkcolm, Stranraer DG9 0QG , Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Stranraer
Hotel Class:3 star — Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel 3*
Also Known As:
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel Stranraer, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel to your Saves list