We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for anyone who going early morning ferry or a late check in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeview Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Lakeview Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lakeview Guesthouse
19 Agnew Crescent, Stranraer DG9 7JY, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free WIFi Free Parking
Ranked #7 of 28 Stranraer B&B and Inns
kerry
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location for anyone who going early morning ferry or a late check in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

In all honesty it's the best family room accommodation we've ever stayed in. I was met by the owner, Alan who showed us to our room. The room was pretty large with an ensuite shower room, excellent fresh breakfast, Will defiantly stay again

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    10
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
15
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

easy to find and convenient for cairnryan stenaline ferry. on the main road but were not bothered with traffic noise. our room had a great seaview as the hotel faces a large grass area then kids play area. we park on street outside hotel but there's a huge long stay car park within sight. we stayed one night in their family room with en-suite a large room with plenty of space, even with a double bed and two single beds. clean and well decorated. found owners genuinely friendly and very helpful. breakfast was fab, plenty of choice for all, even the fussy 5 and 2yr old.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this guest house last night , and what a very lovely place to stay with great views overlooking the loch with beautiful scenic views .I set from England upto Scotland with my husband and two girls Saturday and said we wanted to just travel around and hopefully find somewhere nIce to stay and this as been one of my favourite short breaks we was very lucky to find lake view stil had vacancies. Breakfast was very nice and will definatly be going back sw Scotland and staying here !!! Would recommend

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkhall, Lanarkshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I stayed at the Lakeview for 2 nights recently. My room was very clean and there were also a lot of really nice wee touches. I had a great night's sleep. Didn't hear a peep all night. Breakfast also offered a very good selection. Just one wee thing Elaine I forgot to mention. The tap in the bathroom is pretty stiff. Kept resulting in me soaking your floor and also myself! Otherwise would highly recommend Lakeview to other travellers.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dumfries
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

first time at lakeview very impressed with our room clean and comfortable we also liked the modern look and the original features as well great breakfast would recomend it to anyone to stay there would go back again lovely

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Pristine inside. Customer care that goes the 'extra mile'. Parking at the door. Quiet night's sleep. Hearty breakfast. Good value for money. Couldn't fault it.

Room Tip: Once the work is complete, go for the top floor if you have a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We stayed at the Lakeview Guesthouse the night before taking the ferry to Ireland. Family rooms are normally quite difficult to come across and finding one reasonably priced is even harder. In my opinion the Lakeview is exceptional value for money.

In all honesty it's the best family room accommodation we've ever stayed in. I was met by the owner, Alan who showed us to our room. The room was pretty large with an ensuite shower room, nicely decorated and had a big tv on the wall. The lovely Irish breakfast was served by Elaine who was very friendly and attentive.

On top of all that, the Lakeview is literally 60 seconds from the ferry, you couldn't do any better if you need to travel on the ferry.

If we're ever in need of staying in Stranraer again I'd be really disappointed if the Lakeview was unavailable.

Highly recommended.


Oh, and there's a chinese restaurant not far that's excellent, really good food and the portions were huge.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lakeview Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Guesthouse

Address: 19 Agnew Crescent, Stranraer DG9 7JY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Stranraer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the seafront, Lakeview Guesthouse Bed and Breakfast Stranraer overlooks Lochryan and all Irish ferries. We are within walking distance of Stranraer town centre, the Stena Line ferry terminal and the railway and bus station, from which we offer a courtesy pick-up. Cairnryan ferry port is a 7 minute drive away. There's ample off-road parking across from our Victorian town house with its original character that offers attractive accommodating bed and breakfast, and is ideally located across from Agnew Park which features a mini railway, children's play park and boating lake. Whether you are holidaying or here for business in the area there's something for everyone in Stranraer. You can be sure of a warm Scottish welcome from Alan and Elaine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Lakeview Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Guesthouse Stranraer, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeview Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.