We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Aperitif

L'Aperitif
London Road, Stranraer DG9 8EP, Scotland
01776 702991
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 34 Restaurants in Stranraer
Cuisines: Indian, Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
scotland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“lovely meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

good quality italian food with good service never goes wrong,have a nice drink in the bar while you choose from a good choice menu then enjoy a lovely meal upstairs

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    11
    2
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food in relaxing surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Arrived without pre-booking on a wet and cold night - couldn't have received a more welcoming reception, with the proprietor taking us straight through to the dining room to warm near the wonderful log fire. Spoilt for choice with the extensive menu. Food was plentiful and delicious; nobody should leave hungry! Would recommend.
Thank you L'Aperitif for your hospitality - both my husband and I enjoyed the evening very much.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Spent a quick lunch hour in restaurant. Food was okay for lunchtime and haven't been for an evening meal

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Gone downhill”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This used to be such a good restaurant with excellent Italian food in a pretty Italianate upstairs room with statues and flowers. This time we were shown into a room downstairs with confused décor with chandeliers and classic prints along with white plastic table cloths modern cruets and cheap looking candle holders. This confusion was reflected in the menu with Anglicised pasta dishes served with frozen chips, over cooked vegetables and salads with hard-boiled egg alongside its very popular saltimbocca.

I get the feeling that this restaurant has lost its direction over the years and is trying to survive the economic recession by trying to cater for everyone. As a result it misses all its target markets. It certainly isn't the restaurant it used to be and I don't intend to return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I have a caravan in the area and when I go down I make a point of going to l aperitif , we are always made to feel welcome by massimo the owner, he greets us as if we are old friends.
the food is marvellous and fresh. Although downstairs dose need a makeover, upstairs is a delight .I would highly recommend this place for a special occasion or just a lovely meal.I certainly think it is worth driving one and a half hours just for the food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Aperitif also viewed

Stranraer, Dumfries and Galloway
Stranraer, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Stranraer, Dumfries and Galloway
Stranraer, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to L'Aperitif? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Aperitif, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.