We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Craignelder Hotel

Craignelder Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Craignelder Hotel to your Saves list
Craignelder Hotel
Cairnryan road, Stranraer DG9 8HA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 30 Stranraer B&B and Inns
South West Scotland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We visited the Craignelder Hotel last night for a meal and the service was second to none, the food superb and such good value, theres a set rate for evenings, it was very busy but staff coped well.

Highly recommend eating here, you wont be disappointed.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    17
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
13
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
stranraer
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

my husband and I had our ruby wedding celebration here on 28th june 22 guests from the service meal to our guests accommodation everything was 100% I could not have asked for a better night special thanks to Kelly Karin dougie and Massimo your staff are to be commended well done hammy x

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Just returned to england after a two night stay.
I would highly recommend this hotel to all and sundry.
Excellent service, polite staff, very polite owner.
I along with my father and brother were in Stranraer for my uncle's funeral, the staff were aware of this as we were having the wake on the Tuesday.
The Buffet was outstanding.
Rooms were spotless, could do with a little extra toiletries in the bathroom.
We sampled the menu, Lamb, I have never tasted better.
Breakfast, you do not have to eat for the rest of the day.
Stay at this hotel and you will be very happy and full.

Room Tip: Sea view is always an advantage
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Went for an evening meal with family that knew the restaurant well and highly recommended it. I must admit the place is very popular with locals and the food was delicious. I had the pate starter, highly recommend that to anyone. Although like all pate dishes they never give you enough oatcakes. I had the macaroni cheese for my main and I would like to warn people that this is a hearty meal, I could not finish it. They allowed us to order a starter from the A la carte menu and the rest from their 'specials' menu which was good of them. My husband had the chicken and he said it was very dry so he was a bit disappointed with that. All in all it was a good restaurant and we would probably go back if we were treating ourselves. I thought the bill was a bit hefty given we also had a voucher to use. Next time I will check the bill very carefully.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner Came here on Sunday after our drive from portpatrick, a friend said it was good so decided to give it a try and she wasn't wrong. the food and staff were great we will definitely be back..

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I have been several times recently to the Craignelder for a meal and was never dissapointed. It has recently been taken over by a son (Hammy) of the McMillan Hotel dynasty (The North West Castle is next door) and since he has taken over and wisely kept on the recently employed Masimo Lisi of the now closed L'Aperatif restaurant for his welcome and determination to please you plus his expertise in cocktail making (previuos world champion I believe) it has got a whole lot better and it was good before. Pay it a visit you won't be dissapointed.

Room Tip: Get a cocktail
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Food on menu varied, spoiled for choice, really good and tasty on both occassions and reasonably priced, service efficient even although restaurant very busy, cheery staff and new owner very attentive. Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Craignelder Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craignelder Hotel

Address: Cairnryan road, Stranraer DG9 8HA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Stranraer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run hotel with a large restaurant and public bar. We pride ourselves in our customer service & cleanness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Craignelder Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craignelder Hotel Stranraer, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Craignelder Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.