We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Craignelder Hotel

Craignelder Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Craignelder Hotel to your Saves list
Craignelder Hotel
Cairnryan road, Stranraer DG9 8HA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 29 Stranraer B&B and Inns
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Me and my partner Came here on Sunday after our drive from portpatrick, a friend said it was good so decided to give it a try and she wasn't wrong. the food and staff were great we will definitely be back..

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    15
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
11
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I have been several times recently to the Craignelder for a meal and was never dissapointed. It has recently been taken over by a son (Hammy) of the McMillan Hotel dynasty (The North West Castle is next door) and since he has taken over and wisely kept on the recently employed Masimo Lisi of the now closed L'Aperatif restaurant for his welcome and determination to please you plus his expertise in cocktail making (previuos world champion I believe) it has got a whole lot better and it was good before. Pay it a visit you won't be dissapointed.

Room Tip: Get a cocktail
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Food on menu varied, spoiled for choice, really good and tasty on both occassions and reasonably priced, service efficient even although restaurant very busy, cheery staff and new owner very attentive. Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely evening meal here with friends.Lovely surroundings with a good choice of menu and reasonably priced.Staff were very friendly and more than attentive.Though restaurant was very busy service was quick.Could not fault the food in any way.What I would have liked was to have a jug of water on the table and also to have been given a fork along with the spoon for the dessert, otherwise it would have been hard to find fault with this place.Wishing the new owners every success .

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Baeutiful restaurant here, very crowded on a Saturday night when we were in (maybe a good thing) food was exceptional here would have given 5 stars but thought it was just a little expensive. Would recommend though to try...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirriemuir, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We had been to the Craignelder for meal a handful of times over the past few years, every time swearing we would never go back, because of indifferent food and very sullen service (always the same waitress). But our visit last week showed it to be transformed: the menu is more varied,the quality of the food is much better and the service was impeccable. ("That" waitress, mentioned in others' reviews, wasn't there.) The only criticism I have is that they had no low alcohol, or alcohol free beers, only soft drinks. Hopefully they will get up to date on that score soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West Scotland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Went here with friends for a meal and was not disappointed, I hadn't been for a while and was pleasantly surprised at the new decor and layout. Food was very well cooked and presented well on the plate and there was plenty of it. The Hotel has recently changed ownership and the new owners certainly know how to keep up standards.

Will definitely be going back here more often.
3 Course evening meal was £22 or you could have 2 courses for less.

Room Tip: We live in the area and only went for a meal and drinks so can't comment on rooms etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Craignelder Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craignelder Hotel

Address: Cairnryan road, Stranraer DG9 8HA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Stranraer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run hotel with a large restaurant and public bar. We pride ourselves in our customer service & cleanness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Craignelder Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craignelder Hotel Stranraer, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Craignelder Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.