We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit - gourmet crown Regent Park golf club - Bolton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Portpatrick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crown Hotel
Save
You added Crown Hotel to your Saves list
9 North Crescent, Portpatrick DG9 8SX, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portpatrick
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Worth a visit - gourmet crown Regent Park golf club - Bolton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are clean but average, all you need when all your doing is sleeping.
The food on the other hand EXCELLENT maybe a little expensive, but you get what you pay for.
One great golfing weekend, had by all.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    36
    12
    14
    10
See reviews for
16
81
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My family went to Crown yesterday in the hope of getting lunch however after ordering the rest of the familys meals when my daughter went to the bar to ask the woman behind the bar what food they could do which was gluten free ( a dietary disease necessity - not a fussy eater ! ) she was very unhelpful even when my daughter suggested things as simple as just putting a piece of chicken in the oven and some chips it seemed too much to ask !!! Her general attitude was unhelpful and dismissive and my daughter returned to the table and dissolved into tears. Needless to say that due to the staffs lack of catering education we were very disappointed and decided to leave to find lunch somewhwere that could provide something suitable - it's not rocket science !!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Visited the Crown Hotel in lovely historic Portpatrick, located six miles west of Stranraer on the Rhins penisula. The hotel is nicely placed right on the harbour with excellent views looking out over the Irish North Channel to Ireland in the distance. What a gem of a place! Had dinner on several occasions during our stay in the village; good proportioned servings, freshly cooked food, guest real ale on tap, a dream! and to top it all the bar had live music on the Friday and Saturday night; a merry time was had by all!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinross
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We ate here twice- once inside due to pouring rain and once outside due to sunshine (an unusual event tihs summer). Both times the food was good. We had ling in batter. portion size was good and the fish and batter were very good. My husband had the seafood salad which he enjoyed. The crab was very fresh. The vegetables were cooked well and most importantly not overcooked.
As we had our 2 dogs with us we were very pleased they were allowed in the bar with us for a meal. They were glad too as it was pouring!
Portpatrick is a lovely location and sitting outside with a view of the harbour was very pleasant.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Had lunch here yesterday. A friend had recommended the hotel next door but we foolishly went to the Crown, the busiest-looking place - to our great disappointment! This was by far the worst lunch we`ve had for years anywhere. The salmon was inedible, the salad was virtually a plate of lettuce with no dressing, the rolls were old and chewy, the pickles were cheap and vinegary. We had paid beforehand and when we raised our concerns on leaving, we were dismissed with no apology.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownportpatrick, Owner at Crown Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
hello.i'm sorry you were disappointed with your meal.
i must say i was suprised by your description of our seafood salad.we usually sell between 5 and 15 of the salads per day along with many other seafood dishes and it seems very unfortunate that you didnt enjoy our salmon.i can assure you everything that you had would be fresh.and as you noticed it was quiet busy so we are always needing fresh supplies daily.i have posted a picture of a usual seafood salad on the photo section.it certainly contains more than lettuce.our rolls are delivered fresh from our local bakery every morning and only used that day.the pickles we use are a silverskin pickled onion.i would say that they are vinegary but thats what pickling does.
you raised your concerns as you were heading out of the door.i wished you could have let us know when the food was at your table as this would have been a better solution and we could of fixed the problem and seen for ourselves your desciption of the meal.
we try very hard to mantain a very good standard of food and service and pride ourselves on our extensive menu.
although we can be very busy (which i hope is because of our reputation) we have a large team of chefs to deal with the busy times.we do mention taht delays may ocvcur during busy times as our food is cooked fresh when you order.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

stayed here from thursday the 11th until sunday the 15th july and once again i was not disapointed the food was great and the staff were fantastic and looking forward to going back,i have stayed midweek and weekends and even though it is busier at the weekend we had no problems ordering food and as it says on the menu they prepare all food from the start to finish as you order and i would rather wait for good food than have it rushed and it not being as good so a big thumbs up to all the staff at the crown and looking forward to seing you soon.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Meal took 45 mins to arrive .
Cod served 5 minutes before vegetables.
Wrong vegetables brought to table so a further delay of 5 minutes while they were exchanged.
Waitress argued with us and brought the till receipt to the table to "prove" we were wrong. ( A member of staff later acknowledged it had been rung up carelessly on the till).
The portions of chips were served in shallowish oval bowls 4 inches long - a child's portion for adults. Instead of replacing the potatoes and vegetables with an equivalent portion of chips they only replaced the potatoes.
We didn't have the inclination to take this up with the waitress after the previous argument and just hoped the portions were bigger than they looked. They weren't.
One cod portion was nice but the other was falling apart and contained large bones - "our fish doesn't have bones" they had said.
We were still hungry after the main course which cost £11.95
We complained about the difference between the two cod portions and the small quantity of accompanying chips. They didn't want to know. They seemed to view our complaint as a battle they were determined to win. They twice said - we can't see how much you have had to eat because you have eaten it. I had provided the bowl so they could see the quantity but by them it had been taken into the kitchen and they seemed to blank this. The chef apologised for the bones. The eventually offered a complimentary coffee.
Since we were hungry this wasn't impressive. If they had offered a dessert or voucher towards our next meal we
would have been satisfied.
Because of the surly and unpleasant attitude of the staff we will not be returning. We will not be telling people what a great meal we had and we have cancelled plans to bring friends and visitors here during the summer.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Hotel

Address: 9 North Crescent, Portpatrick DG9 8SX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portpatrick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown is centrally situated in probably the most picturesque village in Dumfries & Galloway. Sitting yards from the water's edge, we offer unspoilt views across the Portpatrick Harbour and the Irish Sea. We have twelve individual en suite rooms, all well presented with tea/coffee facilities and over forty channels on our LCD TVs. AA awarded seafood & extensive bar menu in our Conservatory restaurant. Seafront terrace dining. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Portpatrick, Scotland
Crown Portpatrick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.