We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only eaten here.....Very Good though” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Stewart Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portpatrick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mount Stewart Hotel
Save
You added Mount Stewart Hotel to your Saves list
South Crescent, Portpatrick DG9 8LE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Portpatrick B&B and Inns
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Only eaten here.....Very Good though”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

On our last two trips to Port Patrick we have had an evening meal here and on both occasions the food and service has been excellent. The location of the hotel is high up and over looks the sea, so book the window table if eating just before dusk! Sally behind the bar is very good at her job, but one word of warning she will talk you in to having a naughty pudding even if you don't want one! The intrerior design is very interesting and looks splendid when all lit up with candles and a roaring fire in the grate. Great place to eat and drink.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    21
    10
    13
    6
See reviews for
13
39
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

I would like to thank Diane and her staff for the service they provided for us during our weekend break at the hotel, when i called to book for two rooms at the hotel for the Sept Weekend Diane had said that one of the rooms was a standard but would upgrade to a larger suite the following day and true to her word we were both upgraded at no extra cost, and the rooms were excellent both with sea views. the food was excellent and the service came with a smile. the views from the hotel overlooking the sea and portpatrick were stunning and to watching the sunset. the locals who also frequent the hotel were very pleasant. great weekend

Thank you once again.

Don Kesson

Room Tip: if available choose a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Very dissapointed with this Hotel, does not live up to the pictures and reviews. Bed very uncomfortable, we expected to eat in the Dining room, this was closed and we had to eat in the bar. Service was very slow, had to go to the bar and ask for our sweet. we booked for three nights only stay one.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diddlydiScotland, Owner at Mount Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Hello Margaret, I am Diane the owner of the Mount Stewart and it was I that served your breakfast on your first morning. I am sorry that the mattress was not to your liking, we do have hard and soft mattresses to try and suit all our customers and I did offer to show you other rooms but you said you were moving on because of the weather. We are in our low season now and find that our open fire and cosy bar best suits the weather but if you had prefered to be in the dining room we would have gladly opened it for you. I hope this does not affect how you feel about Portpatrick and that you return again if not to the Mount Stewart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Such a privelege to stay in such a romantic fishing port overlooking the atlantic. Thankyou

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

Just wanted to say thanks for a great stay when we were down in April and got that great spring weather again .... does Portpatrick have its own little microclimate..?

We all had a great time, were made very comfortable and to feel very much at home. The food was grand and a few good beers with your friendly locals were enjoyed too.

What a lovely village - it was nice just to get the cars parked and let the feet it for the whole weekend.

The weather made the golf great at Dunskey and we even managed to get 'round the Glen' to get some air into the lungs and walk off your hearty breakfasts (back to the Gym now..!!)

Thanks to all the staff particularly that nice big barman. Hope to see you again later in the summer if we can all organise our diaries..!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poulton le fylde
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

We stayed at the Mount Stewart over Easter weekend and thoroughly enjoyed it. We had a lovely room with a seaview and the food was exceptional. Staff very friendly and happy to spend time with you. I would definately recommend this and will be returning very soon.

Thanks to all the staff

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

Enjoyed our visit to The Mount Stewart Hotel. The food was great and the staff where very friendly and helpfull. The room was very clean, and the hotel was in an ideal location for exploring Portpatrick.

Also the drinks and wine were very reasonably priced for a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Stewart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Stewart Hotel

Address: South Crescent, Portpatrick DG9 8LE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Portpatrick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Mount Stewart Hotel Portpatrick, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Stewart Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.