We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome on a rainy day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fernhill Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fernhill Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fernhill Hotel
Portpatrick DG9 8TD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Portpatrick
Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Warm welcome on a rainy day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Despite arriving on motorcycles and dripping on the carpet we received a warm welcome at Fernhill for a second time. Several of us had asked for our Scottish trip to include Portpatrick just so we could stop at Fernhill once more. Last time we sat outside in sunset and this time we watched the sea crashing over the harbour but both times the view was spectacular.
Dinner in the conservatory with the the sun setting around us was a special evening. The meal was excellent and well served to a large party.
The room was large with the view over the town and sea making it all the more special
Staff went out of their way to be helpful as we tried to rearrange our travel plans as an Atlantic hurricane disrupted travel. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    31
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
77
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wigtown, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Our Medical Motorbike club stayed here in 2009 and again this year. This time we'd ridden through some rough weather and arrived a little bedraggled but the staff were friendly and welcoming as ever. Our rooms were uniformly excellent, Mine had a terrace overlooking the harbour, unfortunately the remnant of an Atlantic hurricane made it impossible to enjoy.
We had a big table set up for us in the conservatory so we could enjoy our excellent dinner as the sun set over the North Channel.
The staff were friendly, the front desk lady printing out weather forecasts for us in the morning prior to our departure.
Excellent establishment. We hope to be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Having visited the Fernhill Hotel in Sept 2010, as part of an Aston Martin Owners Club tour, (most thought it one of the best hotels on the tour, - the others being 4 or 5 stars), we returned with our children & grandchildren this year.

It was as good as remembered, the staff unfailingly helpful & obliging, the food excellent, the rooms all one would expect for the 3* rating.
Portpatrick is a small resort on a rocky coast, with neither extended sandy beaches, nor significant business traffic. The hotel does not, therefore cater for trendy business professionals, nor family parties who would be better served at Blackpool. The most likely visitors met being golfers, making use of the plentiful links in the area, or people seeking peace and quiet, walkers, or garden afficianados, visiting the numerous estates in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMcMillanFamily, Owner at Fernhill Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Thank you for a wonderful review. As with all reviews, we appreciate our guests taking the time to post them. We look forward to welcoming you back to Fernhill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

the over all experience was wonderful our room was very comfortable and clean the food and dining room were fantastic the menu was great and the staff was very friendly and
helpful a great start to our vacation wish we could have stayed longer a beautiful hotel in a
lovely little village.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

I stayed here with my husband and 4 friends for one night in August 2011. The 3 guys wanted to go to the Stranraer v Alloa game (sad I know), and the 3 girls planned to use the spa at the sister hotel - the North West Castle in Stranraer (about 7 miles away). The Fernhill Hotel has a lovely reception area with big windows overlooking the town - fantastic views. They allowed us to check-in to our rooms straight away, even although we had arrived early at around 1.00pm. We had 3 double rooms facing the front - all had baconies with beautiful views. Our room was lovely - the other two were a little older and a bit tired, but overall, the rooms were well appointed and the bathrooms were clean and fine. After some lunch down in the town (there's a steep path down to the seafront), the guys went off to the football, and we drove to the North West Castle Hotel for our swim.
Glad we weren't staying there! Pretty old and shabby. The Leisure Club has seen better days. Broken tiles around the swimming pool; steps held in place with 2 curling stones; very shabby flooring; horrid changing rooms; no lockers; overall a bit yuk. However, we were the only 3 people using the facilities, so it was just like having our own private pool!

Back at the Fernhill Hotel, we thought we'd have a drink in the Lounge while we waited for the guys returning. It was quite hard to get a drink, as the bar was in total darkness and there was only one member of staff on duty in the whole hotel (the Manageress who was doing the hoovering; the Reception; the Bar; etc etc). However, when she did come, she was very polite and friendly and gave us good service. She explained that the staff don't come on duty until 6.00pm.
We asked for an ice bucket for our room, as we had brought some champagne to drink with our friends. We were told that it was forbidden to drink alcohol in your room! How odd?! We do this EVERYWHERE! (But not in the Fernhill Hotel!).
Dinner in the restaurant was very nice. A nice varied menu, and the food was very good. The service was excellent - the young people who had come on duty at 6.00pm were all really competent and very friendly.
An unexpected treat, was the bonfire and firework display in the town at 10.00pm. It was the end of Lifeboat Week, and this culminated in a big celebration. The view from the hotel was amazing, and we went outside to view the fireworks (which lasted for ages!), from a lovely wee patio area.
We slept well - the bed was very comfortable and the room was a good temperature (I always complain about hotel bedrooms being far too hot, but this one was great).
Sunday morning breakfast was very good - everything you would want really, good quality food and served efficiently.
Overall, this is a lovely hotel. Just remember that it is a village - don't expect the same service standards that you would find in a city hotel. We'd definitely stay here again, although it was a bit pricey at £208 for DB&B for 2 people.

Room Tip: Room 44 is very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Recently returned from a two night stay at the Fernhill - now wish we had booked for longer. Whilst taking in the magnificent views from the reception we were offered a sherry prior to being given our room key. Staff very attentive and rooms in main building very clean and well maintained. Ground floor sea view rooms benefit from a terrace and furniture and still have wonderful views onto the village / harbour. Stayed dinner, bed and breakfast and the food in the restaurant was superb - the staff very attentive and polite and agin the views are breathtaking. Breakfasts similarly were very good. We would definately go back and both the hotel and Portpatrick itself have so much to offer and provided us with an amazing short break. No complaints what-so-ever and that's rare coming from very particular travellers!!

Room Tip: Go for front room in main building - not Stable House (see other reviews)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011 via mobile

Me, my son and family came here on a short break during july, we came lookin forward to our stau, as the pictures and standard online looked very appealing and high of standard, but when we arrived, we sat in the reception area for at least 15 minutes waitin to to be shown to our rooms, although we were the only people waiting to be seen to. When shown, we were sent to a stable like building quite a walk from the main building to find rooms filthy and freezing cold, the beds basically on the floor. We left them the deposit money and much to the staffs very much shown dislike left and refused to stay in that hotel, there wasn't even a public bar or coffee area before 6pm. We went and ended up stayin in a beautiful hotel on the hill overlookin the sea and the village called the mountstewart hotel. It was out on its own with amazing service from staff who even offered my sick grandaughter drinks by room service, made personally by the manager to sooth her throat. I'd advise anyone stayin in portpatrick to go to the mountstewart.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMcMillanFamily, Owner at Fernhill Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
When this family group of four arrived at Fernhill, they were served sherry and soft drinks in reception. They admired the beautiful view of the harbour and seemed in no hurry to be shown to their family suite. The Stable House is detached from the main hotel building and is about ten yards from the restaurant entrance. It has lovely sea views and there is parking at the door. There is a large four poster bed in the bedroom, a double sofa bed in the sitting room area and an extra fold down bed had been placed in the room for the family’s second child. It was explained that the bar opened at 6.00pm but that drinks service and coffees and teas are available at any time. We cannot agree with this guest’s comments about the cleanliness and temperature of their room
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fernhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernhill Hotel

Address: Portpatrick DG9 8TD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Portpatrick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Fernhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernhill Hotel Portpatrick, Scotland
Fernhill Portpatrick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fernhill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.