We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Unforgettable Day - Thank you!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waterfront Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portpatrick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Waterfront Hotel
Save
You added The Waterfront Hotel to your Saves list
7 North Crescent, Portpatrick DG9 8SX, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Portpatrick B&B and Inns
2 reviews
“An Unforgettable Day - Thank you!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

The Waterfront Hotel hosted our wedding reception on in October, and also accommodated our entire wedding party over the course of the weekend.

We picked Portpatrick as the venue for our big day due to fact that it holds a very close place in our hearts and its picturesque backdrop.
From start to finish, nothing was too much for David, Geraldine, Anne and the team, who have all now become friends.

We really could not have asked for a better weekend! The organisation and assistance that the staff provided was second to none, nothing was too much trouble, which allowed us and our guests to relax and just enjoy the weekend.
From the room allocation, the decorating of the venue and down to the quality of the food provided – the whole weekend was seamless.

All our guests have commented on how fantastic their rooms were, as well as the quality of the breakfasts (which have proved a particular hit!). Many of our party also extended their stay because of this. Since returning, all of them have commented that they intend to return to the Port in the future - and much of this is down to the hospitality provided by all of the staff at the Waterfront.

Thank you to all who made our wedding so perfect.

Room Tip: The cottages on the side of the hotel are fantastic – particularly if you are traveling as a large p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    52
    13
    14
    8
See reviews for
33
101
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Belper, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We have been using The Waterfront for about ten years. We usually stay in self-catering accommodation in Portpatrick but we always aim dine out on at least two occasions on each visit at The Waterfront. We always find the menu to be totally inclusive and good value. The prices reflect the quality which is excellent. We've stayed at the Waterfront as residents on a couple of occasions. I would agree that the rooms are on the small side but the beds are supremely comfortable and the services are more than adequate.
The staff are always attentive and polite and helpful in the extreme. Having read previous reviews, and being somewhat picky myself, I wonder if there are two Waterfronts in Portpatrick?

Room Tip: Choose a harbour front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We ate early here on a Saturday in October before attending a wedding reception. The food was absolutely gorgeous - the pear and parsnip soup was so lovely and will be on our Christmas menu for the family. I also chose the lobster which was absolutely wonderful too. Definitely a return visit next time we are in the locality.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Being part of a large group filming for the BBC here, we had a great stay. Friendly staff, good food. Nice warm rooms on a windy cold day... And being a Londoner the FREE wifi, is a home comfort I couldn't live without.

It would be a great place for romantics walks in the fresh sea air.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancs/yorks
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Early October in Portpatrick, went to the Waterfront on the strength of other reviews on tripadvisor. A very nice dining room with very nice staff Food was excellent,whitebait to die for,scallops,seabass all excellent,what a shame then that our experience was ruined by a large part of ignorant men on a nearby table who were hell bent on spoiling the evening for the other diners who were all as equally mortified as us at the carry on!!
The management should not take paties like this at any cost as this will soon turn out to be some considerable cost to themselves as people like us will look to Campbells and the Crown to supply our needs. Could have been a one off?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Although we did not stay at this hotel, we dined in their restaurant for dinner. We found the food and service to be very good. We enjoy good seafood and were happy to find expertly prepared fresh local seafood here. I would highly recommend the hotel restaurant but would also recommend that you book a table if you will be there on the weekend.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights dinner bed and breakfast. Rooms are tiny but the food staff and heart of the place make up for this. Dinner was outstanding! Seafood choice - langoustines, mussels, lobster, sea bass, calamari, crab all sourced locally were cooked to perfection as was chefs homemade lemon tart! Just amazing.

Great location, staff really friendly and nothing seemed any trouble.

Would definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Hotel

Address: 7 North Crescent, Portpatrick DG9 8SX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Portpatrick
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront Hotel is situated directly on the harbour in the scenic village of Portpatrick and has 14 high quality en-suite bedrooms, many with sea view which provides the perfect venue to experience first class food and hospitality in this stunning corner of Dumfries and Galloway, south west Scotland. The hotel can comfortably provide accommodation for up to 30 persons and has a selection of rooms including two family rooms as well as two annex facilities which can be booked to provide private accommodation including lounge and garden areas, these annex amenities also have private access to the main street and are excellent for small groups or families. Our menus, which are changed regularly, are complemented by a carefully chosen selection of house and specialty wines. Our elegant restaurant serves an exciting and innovative selection of dishes to suit all tastes - vegetarian dishes are also catered for. Bar meals are also available and our popular Terrace area is the perfect way to ‘people watch’ and take in the stunning views of the harbour and across the Irish Sea whilst enjoying a drink or some delicious seafood. We also offer very attractive seasonal breaks including midweek packages and weekend breaks and for that romantic occasion or getaway, we provide all the little extras that will make your time with us memorable. Just let us know when you make your reservation and we will take care of the rest. The area has many activities to offer - fishing, walking, golf, tennis, riding to name but a few - you may well extend your time in Portpatrick to fit them all in or you may just wish to check in, unwind and enjoy everything that the hotel has to offer. The hotel can also provide hospitality facilities for small corporate functions and parties and is the perfect size host small scale conferences, meetings, seminars, corporate hospitality and training events as well as board meetings. The hotel can be booked exclusively and local area provides many activities to create team-building events and leadership programmes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Portpatrick, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waterfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.