We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, but check your bill!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clonyard House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Clonyard House Hotel to your Saves list
Clonyard House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clonyard House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Colvend Rockcliffe, Dalbeattie DG5 4QW, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Dalbeattie
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great food, but check your bill!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I would reiterate the comments that have already been made about this venue, which we stayed and dined in for two nights. On the positive side the food is excellent with a good range of choices freshly prepared each evening. The staff were generally friendly, but the waiting staff desperately need more training and were incredibly slow.

Our room in the garden wing was clean with a pleasant aspect, but the curtains were wholly inadequate, so our baby did not settle until it was dark and woke very early. The walls are very thin, so we were woken each time anyone came to bed, so had two terrible night's sleep. Also, dogs are allowed to stay in the rooms, which added to the noise and made me nervous to let my daughter crawl on the floor.

I was very glad to have read reviews prior to attending, we were part of a large party and on checking our bill we had been overcharged by £400!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    15
    12
    6
    6
See reviews for
10
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at clonyard hotel for two nights as we had a wedding in Colvend and most of the wedding party were booked in there as well.

I do not agree with the comments about cleanliness...our room was very clean and although the decor was not modern the room was incredibly comfortable and I slept very well (my room was very quiet and looks out into a lovely garden).

We had dinner there on the first night and the meals were yummy. I had steak pie and my husband had a sirloin steak which he thought was excellent.

The owner of the hotel, Nick, was really welcoming and incredibly helpful. I have a new born and the staff made sure we were well looked after and had everything we needed.

I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a good quality 3star hotel with great food and comfortable rooms.

It was a lovely part of the country for a wedding (if a little cold) and although the wedding didn't take place at Clonyard it was a great place to stay for the weekend

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

A group of six (all male) stayed at the Clonyard for 2 weeks. We worked irregular hours, often leaving early, sometimes returning late. The best thing for us was that nothing was too much trouble for Nick, the owner and chef, or his friendly helpful staff. The menu was full of good, wholesome options (often provided late in the evening for us, without a grumble) and the bar cosy and welcoming.

The bedrooms were were adequate; sufficiently spacious, kept clean for us, beds were comfortable and the setting very quiet. Bathrooms were functional.

I think the best one-word description for the Clonyard House Hotel is unpretentious.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-3 are in the main house, 4 and higher in the annex wing. Annex rooms are all ground floor w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We had booked our table of 10 in advance and upon arrival was taken into a dining room which was half lit and was so cold as none of the radiators had been switched on. I had to ask the waitress to put them on. Whilst the bar area ( with plenty of tables with people eating) was buzzing, our room was dead! The food we ordered was okay. Not even good value for money. We all left promptly after our mains. Never to return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

The hotel is a country House situated in lovely grounds with a lake. The rooms are a little tired but were kept clean. The majority of the rooms are on the ground floor but they are great for the less able bodied and have a small patio and seating, with a view over the garden.
We stayed on a B & B basis but chose to eat dinner in the hotel restaurant.
Breakfast was partly buffet with help youself selctions of cereal, yoghurt, fruit juice etc., and a menu of cooked items made to order, I can especially recommend the smoked haddock with poached egg!!!
The menu for dinner was superb and diverse, all served with a separate selection of vegetables and potatoes or chips.
The bar area had an open fire which made it a welcoming and cosy place to spend the evenings.
The area around the hotel is beautiful, with the beautiful villages of Kippford, Rockcliffe and Sandyhills well worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

This is a country hotel in a most beautiful area. The place is a little run down but has lots of charm for all that. The room was fine- we had a dog with us so the garden rooms were a godsend. I would agree with a lot of comments, it is a bit old fashioned and underinvested but in a way it was more homely for it. when we went there all the rooms were full so it can't be quite as bad as some people have reported. The food was actually very good and not expensive, and the restaurant was full and is very popular locally. The beds were clean and comfortable and the bathroom was ok-bit dated but it all worked! If you want international standards of decor and service go elsewhere, if you want a nice meal and a comfortable room- stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

I have read the reviews of others and whilst some points I can agree on, it certainly as far as I was concerned - was not value for money. To copy a phrase from another guest - "genteel poverty" is a good description. In the past I have forgiven small country out of the way hotels for lack of investment because of their seasonal location and business, this one can't be allowed. The ground floor bedrooms were of poor quality and build, there was little ventilation in what was a very stuffy room with duvets too heavy for the this time of year and in such a cramped room. The en-suite was little more than adequate.
I had eaten here before at the restaurant but hadn't stayed and the meal was quite good so we were encouraged to stay here for a night or two on DD & B. Whilst the breakfasts were excellent the dinners left a lot to be desired. A steak should have been taken to the cobblers - or perhaps it had come from there! - and the vegetables were overcooked. The allowance out of £100.00 per night was £15.00 for the evening dinner - anything more was surcharged which makes £85.00 per night for Bed & Breakfast very much over the top in these surroundings. Excellent B&B exists nearby for £60.00 for a couple per night!
The bar itself was comfortable and the service there was good but overall I would be loath to recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: I should think that an upstairs room would be superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clonyard House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clonyard House Hotel

Address: Colvend Rockcliffe, Dalbeattie DG5 4QW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dalbeattie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Dalbeattie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clonyard House Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Clonyard House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clonyard House Hotel Dalbeattie, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clonyard House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.