We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and welcoming with views to die for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barons Craig Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dalbeattie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barons Craig Hotel
Save Saved
You added Barons Craig Hotel to your Saves list
Rockcliffe, Dalbeattie DG6 4QS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Dalbeattie
retford
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Charming and welcoming with views to die for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Stayed here for a second time on Mothers Day 2011 - what a brilliant weekend. The weather was sunny and the scenery was stunning as usual.
What better place to eat breakfast or dinner, or lunch than in the Barons Craig Dining room.

You might be mistaken for thinking that this place is a bit snooty - not at all - the staff are wonderful and the owner is a lovely man who made us and our four year old son very welcome. the place itself is composed of two halves - the old wing and the new annexe - we have stayed in both parts and can definitely recommend both parts - the annexe is probably better for families.

We stayed in the annexe this time and it was like having a mini flat all to our selves - the french doors opened out onto lawn, it was very spacious and comfortable and quiet.

The bar is very comfortable and basically the whole place feels like a very comfortable pair of old slippers - it is sslightly shabby chic - without meaning to be rude - but that adds to the overall charm.
We would definitely recommend this place to friends and we will definitely return at some stage in the future as it already feels like another home to us.
Food is great and we have had some delicious meals here - particularly mothers day lunch which was rather too much after having eaten there for breaskfast aswell!!
the restaurant does not have a childs menu - for evening meals but they made my son some very yummy pasta which he loved.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    13
    5
    9
    14
See reviews for
13
23
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We were slightly concerned after reading previous reviews. However we wedded pleasantly surprised. We had a small dog with us and found the staff and the set up very good. The food was excellent and the scenary stunning. For dog owners there are several National Trust paths which can be accessed directly from the hotel.

The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful, we will defiantly make a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

What was supposed to be a special occasion to celebrate my father’s 60th birthday turned out to be more like a 2 hour episode of Fawlty Towers thanks to the bumbling staff at the Baron’s Craig Hotel. The amateurish service we received is possibly the worst I have encountered. To give just one of many examples, when asked if we could move to another table because of the number of flies on the window next to our table (due to the warmth; the hotel itself was clean), our waiter, who also happened to be the receptionist / bar man / manager, replied that he ‘could not guarantee that the flies wouldn’t follow us’ and begrudgingly allowed us to move table. We were then left to set up the new place settings ourselves while he dithered about in the kitchen (I’m still unsure if he was also the chef).

The food itself wasn’t bad however it wasn’t great either and certainly didn’t warrant the £20 for 2 courses price tag. My prawn cocktail was the defrosted frozen shrimp variety rather than the king prawns that the dish should have evolved to in the 21st century. The steak, whilst tender, was not medium rare as I had requested and was accompanied by a single boiled potato and a measly serving of boiled to death mange tout. My fellow diners’ experiences were not much better with one member of the party having to wait an extra 10 minutes because the waitress forgot there was another meal to be served.

The icing on the cake (pardon the pun) was when the birthday cake which we had brought earlier that day was brought to the table minus the birthday candles. At first I thought it was health and safety gone mad only to realise once again it was down to the inept service of the waiting staff.

The only positive think I can say about the hotel is that it is located in a stunning setting overlooking the Solway Firth. The Hotel and gardens are beautifully maintained however It is unfortunate that the service and the food do not match the quality of the surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Hotels is situated in lovely grounds & looks impressive from the road but!
We stayed in garden room which turned out to be in a maybe 70`s extension & was what you might expect in a cheap motel, old bed & bathroom & dated decore.
Proprietor, David?, was pleasant but disorganised on check but as time progressed we found you were ignored if not a wine buff & strongly reminded us of Basil Fawlty. Meal time was similar disastrous with my wife being served the wrong meal & by the time she received hers I had been finished for sometime.
Whilst reviews had been iffy before booking we took a chance because one recent reviewer said it had new competent managers. Not true David has been there for 10 years.
Accommodation & meals were not cheap & beer at GDP4 per half pint was bloody expensive & there`s no where else to eat.
Book at your peril.

Room Tip: Do not take garden eoom option or better still go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

A few friends and I stayed here to play golf a couple of miles up the road. We had read some bad reviews about this hotel but I'm pleased to say they were all wrong. We found the rooms were immaculate and the staff very friendly. Apart from the waiter forgetting to bring me my toast in the morning, I have no complaints whatsoever. Would definitely stay there again.
Views from my room were fantastic (room 31).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Stay at this hotel for its stunning situation but forget everything else. There appear to be no permanent staff and the rooms are in dire need of refurbishment.

It was unfortunate that the owner who, it seems does almost everything when he is there, had been taken ill and had been kept in hospital leaving a temporary chef to do everything including finding his way around the place. No wine cellar keys as the owner apparently had them with him.

The food was terrible and had we not booked DBB we would have gone out.

What a shame. It is to be hoped that someone who knows what they are doing buys the place, refurbishes it and then it would be a fabulous place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Barons Craig's location can only be described as stunning, the nearby scenery of hills and coast are fabulous and the hotel has a fabulous vista across it all.
We stayed for a three night break and there was plenty of historic towns / castles / trails to keep us busy, my favourite was the the Red Kite trail around Loch Ken.
I agree with earlier comments that at the moment the Hotel is punching above its weight, our garden wing room was comfortable and clean, but quite dated (especially the bathroom).
There seemed to be very few staff, the Manager acting as waiter, breakfast cook and receptionist all rolled into one. The lady greeted us on arrival had real trouble deciding which room was allocated to us and also couldnt locate it !
We booked B&B as there was little incentive to book DBB (no price reduction on cost of the evening meals). So we went to 'The Anchor' at Kipford for dinner, which was a short drive away.
Overall we had a fabulous break, but if Barons Craig reduced its food & Bar prices it may be surprised to find more of its guests opt to stay around the hotel in the evenings to enjoy the fantastic views.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are comfortable and clean, ours had a great view, but need updating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barons Craig Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barons Craig Hotel

Address: Rockcliffe, Dalbeattie DG6 4QS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dalbeattie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Dalbeattie
Also Known As:
Barons Craig Dalbeattie
Hotel Barons Craig
Barons Craig Hotel Dalbeattie, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barons Craig Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.