We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic all rounder :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maxwell Arms Hotel

Maxwell Arms Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Maxwell Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Maxwell Arms Hotel
Maxwell Street | DG 54 AH, Dalbeattie, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Dalbeattie B&B and Inns
Armadale, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic all rounder :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Where do I start... The food in the restaurant was excellent the room I had was fantastic best sleep I've had for ages and brilliant en~suite. Then you have the lovely Sheila serving you in the bar and makes you feel more than welcome so all in all its a perfect place to stay eat and drink!! Will defo be back :)
Thanks again

Room Tip: I had room 4 lovely and quiet and really comfy beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
4
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arinsal, Andorra
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

A great little place on the Dalbeattie road. Cosy rooms and a nice reception from the Landlady.
We were very well looked after,my children enjoyed it immensely, especially the breakfasts.
Thank you Sheila.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a great wee pub. We popped in during a visit to Dalbeattie and enjoyed a pint or two. the staff were very friendly and there was a good selection of booze. I would recommend a visit if you are ever there!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Maxwell Arms is a pub, a hotel and a restaurant. We enjoyed them all. Sheila made us very welcome and knows how to add those little things that make all the difference, like fresh flowers everywhere, fresh milk for your tea making etc. The bed was extrememly comfortable, the whole place was immaculate and clean and the curry in the evening in the resturant was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My wife and I booked into The Maxwell Arms Hotel on the back of the reports on Tripadvisor. What a pleasant surprise was waiting. The minute we entered the hotel we knew this was a diamond.

Sheila the owner met us at the door, and welcomed us. I have a few health issues, so she summoned a member of staff to come and help us with our bags. The room can only be described as SPOTLESS, large, comfortable and warm, the bed was excellent.
The en suite was superb, the shower was great for me as I have mobility problems, it is big.
And that is the WORST bit LOL.
The restaurant is to die for. Sheila's husband Ali is the chef and has created one or two of his own sauces. I swear they are like an angel dancing on your tongue, you have to try the chicken naga, warm, not to warm but is a pure taste of heaven. I like Indian food, but the quality and care that is put into "The Taj Mahal" menu and service is above and beyond the call of duty. Even if you don't go to stay in the hotel, go and eat in the restaurant, and go on a Sunday. From 17.00hrs to 21.00hrs/22.00hrs you can eat all you want for £10.95. This is the bargain of the century, with an unlimited choice.
The staff are great, kind, funny and helpful. No issue is any problem.

We went for a wee Friday/Saturday break and finished up booking an extra night and we stayed the Sunday also. The breakfast is ENORMOUS, cooked to perfection, but if you want a more subtle toast (with real butter :o) bacon and scrambled eggs IT IS DONE for you. Cereals, juice, toast, marmalade, kippers, you name it.

At £70 for your room and breakfast, this is one of the best deals I ever had.

The Maxwell can be summed up in one word:
GO

Room Tip: We had a room on the front on the main road with no problems. The traffic is pretty low in Dalbeatti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockerbie
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Clean rooms, great service. Breakfast amazing and Indian restaurant as a bonus!
We recently stayed as we were attending a party nearby. If you need to stay in dalbeattie then book this hotel. Also this hotel is very handy for mountain bikers as the 7 stanes trail is very close. Will defo stay here again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The maxwell arms is a lovely place the people are fantastic, both the evening meal at the Taj Mahal and the full Scottish breakfast was top knotch!!!! It has a friendly and relaxed atmosphere, the rooms are very clean 10/10 for cleanliness!!! Would I stay again??? Definitely!!! Dalbeattie is a gorgeous town and the maxwell arms is an extension of this!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maxwell Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maxwell Arms Hotel

Address: Maxwell Street | DG 54 AH, Dalbeattie, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dalbeattie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Dalbeattie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Maxwell Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maxwell Arms Hotel Dalbeattie, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maxwell Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.