We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big fans” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tilly Tearoom

Tilly Tearoom
10a Bank Street, Tillicoultry, Scotland
+44 1259 752642
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 restaurants in Tillicoultry
Cuisines: Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Dessert
Description: Small tearoom offering simple food, breakfasts, home made soups, breads and freshly made lunches. Good selection of homebaking including gluten free choices. Very proud of our Scottish Homebaking Award 2013/2014. Inspirational home of Mr Tilly, the loveable pug - available on Amazon books.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Big fans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We loved our visit here great soup, pancakes and croissants. Followed by yummy cakes. Great to see an independant cafe in a scottish village that is actually open on a sunday! Good job ladies!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora Tilly T, Owner at Tilly Tearoom, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Glad you found us and look forward to seeing you again - any day! Thanks for writing your review, it gives us a boost.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

97% Recommend
    124
    22
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunblane, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly homely T room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Home made soup out of this world. Best by far in a long time I have tasted. They make a big effort on presentation. Nora and crew are chatty and clearly enjoy what they do. Will definitely be back. Nicely priced. Very competative. Large bowl of soup £3.20 with fresh crusty bread.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillicoultry, Owner at Tilly Tearoom, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your first visit and also really glad you wanted to review and recommend us on trip advisor - thank you and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alva, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Warm Welcome & Wonderful Cakes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Visit Nora and her lovely staff,sit near the log fire on a cold day and thaw out with home made soup and beautifully presented mains,if you have any room left can recommend the Coffee Cake!
Love that your teapot is refilled and you are never made to feel that you are sitting chatting too long!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillicoultry, Owner at Tilly Tearoom, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you very much for writing such a complementary review. Of course, you do realise we only allow our favourite customers to sit so long!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dollar
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“*** wonderful****”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

a cold rainy day we sheltered in here by the fire with a cappuccino which was delicious and a fresh cream meringue toped with raspberry's, blueberries and a sprinkle of glitter was to die for. They will even give you two forks if you can't manage a whole one yourself. Yummy will be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillicoultry, Owner at Tilly Tearoom, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
what a wonderful review, thank you very much for taking the time to write your review and brighten our day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillicoultry
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This tearoom is really an experience to visit. This is our second time here and as we babysit every Thursday we will be calling here. We are building up a nice relationship with the staff. Laura can't do enough to satisfy the customers. Norah was busy in the kitchen but for the short time we talked with her was very interesting. We have found our ideal coffee shop in Tillicoultry. Well done to all the staff and in time we might get to know all their names.

Well done for your excellent professional service with a homely touch.

Brian and Rita McSweeney

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillicoultry, Owner at Tilly Tearoom, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. I'm glad you have found us and also glad you like our scones! We pleased to have a couple of new regulars.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tilly Tearoom also viewed

Tillicoultry, Clackmannanshire
Tillicoultry, Clackmannanshire
 
Tillicoultry, Clackmannanshire
Fishcross, Clackmannanshire
 

Been to Tilly Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tilly Tearoom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.