We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great time despite the foul weather!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kennels Cottage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kennels Cottage to your Saves list
Kennels Cottage
Dollarbeg, by Dollar | Scotland, Dollar FK14 7PA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Dollar B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A great time despite the foul weather!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

A fantastic experience all round. We hired the Jaguar E type for two days for my partner's birthday. Touring the open roads and stopping off at Alex's suggestions was simply a fabulous to spend the day.

We usually avoid B&Bs after a bad experience in Ireland, so it was with some intrepidation we decided to stay overnight at Kennels Cottage but we had no need to worry! The room we stayed in was lovely with views over the garden. It had everything we required and was very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and Tanya and Alex made up feel very welcome.

We will be returning to Kennels Cottage because the second day of our car hire was cancelled due to the appalling rain. Not that we really needed an excuse to return!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    4
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
76
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

great bed and breakfast with lovely fresh White linen on the beds to match the fresh White decor throughout the house. enjoyed relaxing in the guest lounge in a beautiful, peaceful setting. Fantastic experience driving the Austin Healey 3000 around the local villages. The owners Tanya and Alex were both very helpful and provided us with a very memorable experience which we would love to repeat again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We had a fantastic time and Willie certainly enjoyed his day driving the Jaguar MKII (Inspector Morse) round the Fife Coast.

A beautiful B&B in a lovely peaceful location. Tanya and Alex made us so welcome. Breakfast was plentiful and free range eggs from the "pet" hens just finished it off. We certainly felt right at home, so much so that I even thought of offering to clear the breakfast table and helping with the dishes.

We will certainly be booking sometime in the future to come back. All Willie will need to do is decide what car he would like to drive next.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

I first stayed with Tanya and Alex at Kennels Cottage back in 2008 and have been back every year since. I stay with them when I visit Fife for the British Touring Car races at Knockhill, the track is only 15 minutes away. The rooms are a good size, bright and clean with en-suites. The breakfasts are substantial and very tasty. Both Tanya and Alex are great hosts and can't do enough for you. I have stayed there alone and with friends. When I was there alone I always felt safe. The cottage is set back off the road so is nice and peaceful bit it is close enough to Dollar, Stirling and Kincardine to find good places to eat. The chickens are friendly and add to the overall atmosphere of the B&B, I look forward to going back in 2012.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

A lovely place set in a spacious quiet location. Bedroom and bathroom facilities were excellent. We were made to feel very welcome from the start and their helpfulness and advice were offered through to when we left. Breakfast was plentiful and tasted great. The classic cars on offer were very well maintained and made the whole stay a unique and wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We were made to feel special and loved every minute of our stay. We hired the Austin Healey, she was a beautiful beast, and great fun. We hope to be back soon

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

After an easy transfer from Edingburgh to the B&B, we dropped our luggage, got the instructions on how to handle the car (a blue MG) and we hit the road. Alex&Tanja from the B&B are great hosts; they also prepared a two-day itinerary of things to see and towns to visit - their recommendation brought us ao. to a biological farm JamesField that served us wonderful homemade cakes....we would not have found out without their suggestion. The B&B rooms are spacious and clean with nice bathrooms and the breakfast is a feast - we loved the homemade pancakes with fresh fruit. With the B&B located near the cities as well as the entrance to the highlands, we were able to see a good deal of Scotland: from the country of Fife to the southern highlands, as well as a short dive into Glasgow. It's a joy to drive the winding roads & hills and see the wonderful landscape in a classic car. This was sincerely a good experience which both my husband and I can recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kennels Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennels Cottage

Address: Dollarbeg, by Dollar | Scotland, Dollar FK14 7PA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Clackmannanshire > Dollar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dollar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kennels Cottage is a four star contemporary style guest house set just outside the village of Dollar, in the central heart of Scotland, within easy reach of Glasgow or Edinburgh. We are very close to the wedding venue Solsgirth House and only 6 miles from Knock Hill. We have 3 ensuite guest bedrooms, guest sitting room, reading area and plenty of garden to roam around in. We are near to Solsgirth House and a short distance to We try and use local and organic produce in our breakfasts and we have our own free range hens. Our garden has various visitors which include lots of wild birds, red squirrels and deer. This is a very restful place to be.All rooms are ensuite with lots of towels, organic bathroom products, TV with DVD, hairdryer and Tea and coffee making facilities we also offer free internet access.At Kennels Cottage we also offer Classic Car hire we have nine beautiful classics including the famous E-Type Jaguar, MKII Jaguar, Morgan 4/4, MGB Roadster, Triumph TR6, Caterham Seven, Austin Healey 3000 and 2 VW Classic Camper Vans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kennels Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kennels Cottage Dollar, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kennels Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.