We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Wedding Venue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Solsgirth House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dollar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Solsgirth House
Save
You added Solsgirth House to your Saves list
Dollar FK14 7NZ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Dollar B&B and Inns
dornoch
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Superb Wedding Venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Nephew's wedding here. A mansion in its own grounds with lawned area as far as nearby woodland so very private. Staff most welcoming & very aware of the sense of occasion. Service at reception superb with no-one waiting between courses (not an easy task on these occasions). Later the same feeling was generated by the staff at the evening dance - nothing appeared to be too much trouble.
Two downsides however. Our room had absolutely nowhere to hang clothes-not a wardrobe - not a hanger & not even a hook on the back of the bathroom door! What's more, my brother (groom's father) had the same problem. The othe downside was that the toilet did not flush properly. Fortunately we were only there for one night & so reported it next morning (it probably would have been put right straight away had we said.

Room Tip: Make sure that you are given somewhere to hang your suits/dresses etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Solsgirth House, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Solsgirth House Hotel. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your nephews wedding at Solsgirth House and that the day went very well. Solsgirth House is a great place to hold a wedding as it provides the happy couple and their guests with complete privacy. The team be very pleased that you found the service to be efficient and welcoming, we also take all comments provided on board. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO, Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    6
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
21
10
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We attended a wedding breakfast there but didn't stay at the hotel. The food and service were top notch although the room a bit nippet for the number attending. The main event was held in a modern ballroom in the grounds which was easily large enough, so take your brolly or water proofs to get to or from it, in case they're needed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Solsgirth House, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Solsgirth House Hotel. The team will be very pleased to read that you enjoyed the wedding that you attended and that you felt the service and food was top notch. We hope you had an enjoyable day and we hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO, Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Myself and now husband cannot fault Solsgirth House as a Wedding venue. The house itself and surroundings have a magical feel, inside and out it is beautiful. The standard and quality of service by the staff was great and it was clear they have lots of experience of weddings. From the moment I arrived they were calming and helpful, it was a horrible wet day and my worst bridezilla moments came out, but I had nothing to worry about as everything was in hand. It was a friendly relaxed atmosphere and did feel completely private and "our house" for the day to welcome and celebrate with our guests. The food was first class, the service was co-ordinated and everything was timed perfectly. The rooms are stunning and have been finished to a high standard, the beds are so comfy - if there had to be any kind of negative it was that we did not want to leave and the family would have been very happy to have the night before and the whole day after to spend at the house! It was a lovely escape to surroundings we would normally not be in and it was the best day of our lives so far. Thanks to everyone at Solsgirth! Emma & Danny xx

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Solsgirth House, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
What a lovely review – thank you for your kind comments regarding your wedding at Solsgirth House Hotel. Firstly may I congratulate you both and I hope your day was as special and perfect as you had hoped for. The team at Solsgirth were delighted to read that you had an amazing day and that you found them to be friendly and helpful on your important day. I hope all of your guests had an enjoyable day, Solsgirth is a beautiful wedding venue with the added benefit of having the whole house to yourselves. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you both back again soon.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO, Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dollar, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was the venue for our daughter's wedding on 6th September - and we could not have asked for a better place. The staff, the atmosphere and the food were all excellent, and we could not fault a thing. Angela and Kirsten had gone out of their way to make this a special day, and Shona in addition on the day did a great job. Thank you. Matt (Head Chef) produced the most wonderful food (considering he had photographers delays to deal with....) - especially as he had so many "special"diets to deal with - there was no hassle - all needs required and dealt with discretely. Superb!
The bar staff in the evening were very attentive and helpful. Again, the evening food was wonderful - including the vegetarian Stovies!
Our daughter had an idyllic wedding, and we can't thank the staff of Solsgirth enough for making it such a special day. I know it is the people attending such events that make it a great occasion, but I really would like to sing the praises of all the Solsgirth staff for helping in making it such a memorable day. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Solsgirth House, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review of your daughter’s wedding at Solsgirth House Hotel. We would first of all like to congratulate the newlyweds and we hope that their day was as special as they had hoped. I was delighted to read that all of the team at Solsgirth House helped to make the day perfect and that everything ran smoothly. I will pass on all of your kind comments to the team who will be very pleased and we hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was the setting for my niece's wedding. What a place - absolutely amazing. Staff were very attentive - nothing too much trouble. Would recommend this place for anyone's wedding or special occasion.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Solsgirth House, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
What a lovely review – thank you for your kind comments. We were delighted to read that you had an enjoyable experience at Solsgirth House Hotel. I hope your niece and her new husband had a lovely day and I am delighted to read that you found all of the team at Solsgirth to be helpful. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO, Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanquhar scotland
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Solsgirth House is a lovely old building set in beautiful grounds elegantly decorated with period furniture and ideal setting for a wedding. If I had one tiny complaint the bar was not very well stocked for a venue hosting weddings. no complaints about the food or the service.
Very Good !!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Solsgirth House, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
What a lovely review – thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at Solsgirth House Hotel. We were delighted to read that you had an enjoyable time at a wedding you were attending. I will pass all of your comments onto the team at Solsgirth House Hotel who will be very pleased and we hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO, Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We recently attended my nieces wedding at Solsgirth House and stayed overnight in The Coach House. The hotel and grounds are stunning and the rooms in the Coach House very contemporary, comfortable and the perfect place to stay for guests. The staff's attention to detail is faultless and they can't do enough for you. The food is amazing quality given they are catering for such high numbers and the bar prices reasonable. Only issue was the small room where my niece was married. There was very little room for guests and the bridal party and standing up was a bit of a challenge! We had a fab breakfast in the morning which helped clear our heads after the most perfect wedding day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Solsgirth House, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
What a lovely review – thank you for your kind comments regarding your nieces wedding at Solsgirth House Hotel. We were extremely pleased to read that you had a lovely day and that everything went perfectly. I will pass all of your kind comments on to the team at Solsgirth House and we hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO, Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solsgirth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solsgirth House

Address: Dollar FK14 7NZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Clackmannanshire > Dollar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dollar
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Solsgirth House Dollar, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solsgirth House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.