We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent weekend in Dollar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tigh Ur Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dollar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tigh Ur Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Tigh Ur Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
4, Hillfoots Road, Dollar FK14 7BB, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Dollar B&B and Inns
Ardglass, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent weekend in Dollar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Had a great nights stay in Tigh Ur whilst attending a nearby family wedding. We received a very warm welcome from Rosie, Pete and their 3 beautiful black labs. The self contained annexe meant that we could come and go as we pleased knowing that we would be disturbing our hosts. The bedrooms were comfortable and large. Great nights stay topped of with a wonderful cooked breakfast, would definitely recommend.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosemaryLawry, Owner at Tigh Ur Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you may be able to visit again and that the weather will be good as it was when you were over.
Rosie Lawry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
9
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Spent 4 nights with Rosie and Pete along with my firend Mo. Tigh Ur is in a perfect location for a hike up to Castle Campbell..if you have sturdy knees,it is well worth the effort.

We received a great welcome from our hosts and also from their 3 lovely dogs.

Breakfast on day one was huge,all you could wish for,very nice but couldn't do it every day.

Lovely bathroom but you have to be prepared to share if there are guests in the other annexe room. Lots of info' brochures which are helpful if you wish to explore the area and beyond. Having our own door to the annexe meant we could come & go without disturbing anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosemaryLawry, Owner at Tigh Ur Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again while the sunshine lasts!
Rosie & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Stayed over the New Year at Rosie and Pete's B&B who made us very welcome. Nice large bedroom with very comfortable bed and lovely view of the hillside and Golf Club. The bathroom had been refitted since my last stay, and it was lovely, bright and cosy with the hot towel rail and the shower was very lively! Lots of nice food and Rosie and Pete are real dog lovers with their 3 Labs. Lovely quiet spot away from the traffic and just at the bottom of the lane to the Castle.
Well recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosemaryLawry, Owner at Tigh Ur Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
We were glad you could visit again and that you had a comfortable stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Stayed at very short notice with my wife and 10 year old grandson for three nights in October 2011. Had large family room with extra camp bed. Oweners Rosie and Peter Lawrie made us very welcome with brand new fitted bathroom/shower. Showr rating out of 10 at 25 plus! (Good old high presuure hot shower). Located at foot of Glen and road to Castle Campbell.
p.s, Only downside was we did not get each nught a complimentary 1 litre bottle of 15 year old single malt Scots Whiskey - left by mt bedside!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosemaryLawry, Owner at Tigh Ur Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Peter - Come back and you'll get the whisky! We were glad to meet you all and happy you enjoyed the new shower. Thank you for your compliments and we look forward to your next trip over.
Rosie and Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We have just spent a lovely few days in the home of Pete and Rosemary, we were made to feel very welcome, a very large cooked breakfast, which kept us going all day!! Really comfy bed, and it was good having our own key so that we could come and go as we pleased.Would we come again? YES,YES,YES

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosemaryLawry, Owner at Tigh Ur Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Thank you for your generous comments. It was a pleasure having you here and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

After the long trip from Norwich we were welcomed to the B&B by Rosie and Pete in fine fashion. More than helpful they showed us the room's and then talked us through the locality, the where's and how to get there. Really useful to help us on what was a short visit.
We got settled in, were introduced to the dog and her litter of pup's and then headed up Glen Dollar via the castle. A good walk and if you' re able and the weather is right, do it!!
The rooms are very comfortable and facilities are excellent, we slept very well!

Breakfast is superb, Pete takes pride in the fare he cooks and with our lads we gave it the respect it deserved and cleared the plates daily!!

We could and should have taken our dog, the area is ideal for dog walking and we will next year when we plan to return. We highly recommend this as a destination, relaxed and very attentive the host's are a credit and we wish them well, all the best from Chris/Corinne & Keir/Louis/Jasper and Finley (or Fergus!!!)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosemaryLawry, Owner at Tigh Ur Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to Dollar and thank you for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you and the family again when you can make it north of the border.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

What a welcoming and relaxed place to stay! My double room was large and bright with hospitality tray (fresh milk) and all mods cons. Really comfy bed. Tigh Ur is easy to find and is ideally located for hillwalking, sightseeing, golfing or just enjoying some of the shops and cafes in the town. Great, freshly cooked breakfast and lots of it. A separate entrance means you can easily come and go as you please. Free off-street parking.The owners, Rosie and Peter, are very friendly and happy to provide information about the area. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will definitely book again when next in Dollar. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosemaryLawry, Owner at Tigh Ur Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure having you and we look forward to seeing you again when next in Dollar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tigh Ur Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh Ur Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4, Hillfoots Road, Dollar FK14 7BB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Clackmannanshire > Dollar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dollar
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tigh Ur is a detached country house located one mile below Castle Campbell in the small village of Dollar in central Scotland. Our home is located in a quiet corner of the village, a short walk from Dollar Glen which winds up to the Castle, Dollar Golf Club and local shops and amenities. We offer an optional evening meal for guests. We speak Dutch, French and some German as well as English. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tigh Ur Bed And Breakfast Dollar, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tigh Ur Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.