We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The King's Seat Bar & Restaurant

The King's Seat Bar & Restaurant
19-23 Bridge Street, Dollar, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 7 Restaurants in Dollar
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Zip code: FK14 7DE Tel: 01259 742 515 This restaurant and tavern is in Dollar (Scotland) in the UK near the Ochil Hills in Central Scotland. Their food is amazing; the best we ate during our entire UK trip (and we all over the place). Their sticky toffee pudding is the best I have ever eaten and boasts a texture that is out of this world. The tavern setting is upscale, but intimate. Not to be missed.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

We had an excellent meal at the King's Seat, where the staff were friendly and the food delicious. Good value and beautifully presented.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    10
    2
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wedding party pile in for a meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

I was in Dollar for a wedding and all of then family and friends that were staying at the Castle Campbell decided to eat one night at the Kings Seat. We just piled in without a booking, about16 of us including children. They could not have been nicer the food was good and they catered for a child with a food allergy.Good Pub grub.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is the first bar we have visited in a long time that really cares its customers are having a good time and are well catered. Bowls of crisps and meatballs were offered around the customers which was a really nice touch. We had a meal in the restaurant which was decent quality, well presented and fairly priced. Would definately return and recommend, worth a 5 star rating as they go the extra mile.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Negligence”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had a meal here travelling to a family wedding .My wife is gluten intolerant and before ordering the beef dish asked the server to check that it was GF
Assured that it was she ate and shortly after had the worst reaction she has suffered in years . We thereforeconsider that she was lied to .Fortunately she recovered in time . This is not a put up job as we have several Dollar residents who witnessed this matter

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulstermac, Owner at The King's Seat Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hello.Could you let us know when you visited so that we can investigate this.We take dietary requirements very seriously and even now sell Gluten Free beer as part of our commitment to this end.We have family and staff members who are affected similarly so would be keen to resolve!
Many thanks.Sharon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food with great staff and an atmosphere to match”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We are really lucky to have this place on our doorstep. Dollar itself is well known for its School and is a lovely village with the Kings seat at the heart of it.
The staff are always lovely on the numerous occasions I have eaten in there. I have eaten in both the bar area and restaurant. The food is of a very high standard and is well priced. My boyfriend and I often share a starter to make sure we have room for desert. On the weekends they often have lobster and scallops which are a must as there are lovely and fresh and at £12.50 for half a lobster it is well priced.
Over the past few weeks we have spent the majority of Saturday nights having a meal early. The menu is really good and I can highly recommend the fish dishes but keep some space for desert as they are amazing too. Just don't try to go there for food on a Monday or Tuesday night as it is the chefs day off, which my Father was gutted about on his recent visit.
A lovely welcoming place if you are in the area go in and see for yourself.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The King's Seat Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Dollar, Clackmannanshire
Dollar, Clackmannanshire
 
Dollar, Clackmannanshire
 

Been to The King's Seat Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The King's Seat Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.