We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buccleuch Arms Hotel Scottish Borders

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Buccleuch Arms Hotel Scottish Borders to your Saves list
Buccleuch Arms Hotel Scottish Borders
The Green, St. Boswells TD6 0EW, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in St. Boswells
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We booked 3 rooms for a family wedding locally and were not disappointed - all 3 rooms were lovely, tastefully decorated, fresh and clean. Bed was so comfy, we had a great sleep. Rate was very good £89 per room per night. It wasn't very good for granny due to the stairs, but hey it's an old building - we never specifically asked for suitable for disabled rooms. A good touch was the big faux fur blankets in the bottom of the wardrobes - wee granny needed that. Breakfast was plentiful, prompt and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The french toast was delicious. I would go back.

Room Tip: not very good for disabled (or 83 year old grannies) but we were pleased with the rooms and the help...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    70
    36
    14
    12
See reviews for
35
93
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My wife and I were walking The St cuthberts Way. We stayed here on the 17th September. This accommadation was booked through The Sherpa Van project who olso transported our luggage.
The price we payed for the accommadation was eye watering (£120). When we payed the bill and commented on the price, we were informed that this was "the rack rate". All I will say about this is, they need to get out more and see what there fellow hoteliers are charging for similar or better rooms. On a more positive note our bedroom was clean and niceley furnished with a full bathroom suite, the rest of the hotel was olso very clean and well presented. Staff friendley, and the evening meal was good and good value.
I am a Yorkshire man and I have to say "once bitten twice shy"

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillyHamilton, Owner at Buccleuch Arms Hotel Scottish Borders, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Sir,

I'm surprised that as a Yorkshireman, you didn't haggle when you originally made your booking with us!

That's is our top price or rack rate for a superior King and which is the price generally quoted when you first enquire about that room type. Prices fluctuate depending on demand, booking engine, and whether its being booked via an alternative agent.

I am very pleased, however, that you enjoyed the rest of the Buccleuch Arms and that you had a good night.

Billy Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have been eating at the Buccleaugh for a number of years and the food can vary, but recently I have to say both the service and the food is on the decline. Staff really do need some training on how to pretend they enjoy their jobs. Presentation means a lot, both food and staff! Menus look good but don't always represent what is served on the plate. Prices don't reflect the quality of the food, it is basically pub grub and you wold get much better at a harvester and better service.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Just back from an overnight stay. Advertised as "Superior King Room". Never! We had a queen size bed with 2 bedside tables, nothing else would fit in the width of the room, There was an old wardrobe at the bottom of the bed, the doors reaching the bed when opened. Wallpaper was pealing away from the widow and when you looked out of the window there was a broken chair on the roof. The noise from the kitchen went on into the night, then the function took over the noise when the fans eventually went off. The only saving grace for this hotel is the bistro, at least we had a nice diner. 4 star, no way. How do the Scottish Tourist Board come up with these ratings?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillyHamilton, Owner at Buccleuch Arms Hotel Scottish Borders, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Fiona,

I am very sorry to hear your comments on the state of your room, Nicu had mentioned that you had made these comments on checking out.

Although on making a reservation you did request/need a King room, it was made clear to you that there were no kings available that night and this was the date you needed to visit which is the reason you were offered an alternative.

I am concerned at the comments about our function on Saturday night, as the guests had all left by 10.30 and by 11.00pm, I was in there myself with our Night Porter by which time the room had been stripped.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your meal.

Billy Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

So decided to stop off on our way home from our trip in Scotland. The staff were friendly and service good. The selection of food wasn't vast but both of us managed to find something to suit. We didn't have to wait long and it was well presented.
Would stop off here again for food.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillyHamilton, Owner at Buccleuch Arms Hotel Scottish Borders, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Sue,

Thank you for your lovely comments on our food.

See you again soon.

Billy Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Really disappointed with the chicken salad I had here today totally tasteless with some kind of tasteless gunk under the salad leaves ....£10 for salad leaves and some chicken breast??....long time since I have eaten here and it'll be a long time before I'm back. The manager also needs a lesson on how to smile ....not very welcoming !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillyHamilton, Owner at Buccleuch Arms Hotel Scottish Borders, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

It's always disappointing when we hear negative feedback and I apologise that we haven't come up to scratch on this occasion for you. I don't doubt that you had a poor meal and I strongly suspect this dish was badly put together, albeit with all the correct ingredients.

We do listen to feedback and as a result we have tweaked this dish to reflect your views. The creamy pest dressing (or gunk) will still remain part the dish.

Regards
Billy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banchory, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Lovely large old Inn which has been modernised only where it needs to be. The atmosphere was welcoming and the bar excellent with a great selection, including a couple of local beers. The Bistrot (with a T) was a real highlight - excellent rustic surroundings with some of the best food I've ever tasted - unusual cuts of steak are one of their specialities. Breakfast was also served in the bistro, and it too was superb with a great choice for the inclusive rate (which is unusual I've found).
The room we had was nice, with a king size bed and ensuite. The only complaint I would have was the mattress was a bit lumpy, but then that could just be me.
Location of the hotel is just on the main road through St Boswells, so you can't miss it. Perfect location for all the events in the area, including fishing, walking & shooting.
We'll certainly go back :-)

Room Tip: Room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buccleuch Arms Hotel Scottish Borders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buccleuch Arms Hotel Scottish Borders

Address: The Green, St. Boswells TD6 0EW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > St. Boswells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in St. Boswells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Buccleuch Arms Hotel Scottish Borders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buccleuch Arms St Boswells
Buccleuch Arms Hotel Scottish Borders St. Boswells, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buccleuch Arms Hotel Scottish Borders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.