We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good local hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Bull Hotel

Black Bull Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duns
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Bull Hotel
15 Black Bull Street, Duns TD11 3AR, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Duns B&B and Inns
Lancaster
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good local hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

We had a family lunch in this quaint hostelry food was good Plenty on the plate Value for money. We had no complaints. Service was slow but the food was hot and it was home cooking. We would go back for another lunch. We will try dinner. I have heard good reports from the locals

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
5
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Well, it had good reviews, so in we went for lunch. For the best part of £15 each we had one course apiece. Mine - lamb with potato and vegetables. Lamb undercooked, no flavour, lumpy gravy, lumpy mash, no sauces offered, small plate, nervous characterless lad who was doubling up as waiter and barman. In the bar itself, children's cartoon channel playing loudly. My other half had a supposedly prime rib steak - very small, very average, with a few chips and sundries and a dollop of ketchup. For those top-quality prices it was jawdroppingly bad. I've no doubt that people have some good experiences here, but this must have been one of their off days.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duns
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

was staying in duns a few days had a meal in the black bull on our last night, my friends meals were good but unfortunately i chose the coronation salad which was very meager a few lettuce leaves half a tomato some chopped peppers and a spoon of chicken in mayonnaise and you could taste the curry powder no sultanas or hint of mango at all and for this i paid eight pounds ninety five pence and not a potato or chip in sight so a good job there was a chip shop next door as i left felling very hungry so by all means go for a meal but steer clear of the so called salad

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berwickshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Went in a party of four. 3 courses all round and a couple of drinks for just over £100.
Food was good ( I had the chicken breast stuffed with haggis ), service was spot on and the music was at what I would class an appropriate level for this type of eaterie.
No complaints would definately consider going back again!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

excellent food, staff were brill, and rooms were lovely, they knew it was my birthday and nobody let on ,as freinds and family were also in staying in the hotel one of my best birthdays yet, thanks to all staff, freinds and family also to my hubby george , for a perfect weekend, great night ,in the hall watching SCOCHA, THANKS FOR THE MENTION. p.s FOOD IN HOTEL EXCELLENT,


Helen from Houston

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Our last stay was in 2010 but the date list on this web site doesn't go that far back. This is only because the venue has been fully booked when we have wanted to stay since then.
We have stayed at the Black Bull in Duns many times and have always enjoyed the visit. This is a typical Scottish pub style hotel and restaurant. The bar is small but popular; the number of rooms is small but the restaurant is first class - you may need to book for dinner,even as a staying guest.
Our favourite en-suite double room is at the top of a flight of stairs on the 3rd floor (no lift). It is large, well equipped and with a huge queen size bed.
Although a popular pub, bar custom does not disturb sleep in this room. The Black Bull is located on a side street close to the centre of Duns, which has a good range of shops and a small supermarket.
It has a small beer garden with some children's facilities for summer enjoyment.

Room Tip: All are excellent. If your sleep is easily noise-disturbed, recommend a room higher up the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Don't be put off by the location of this hotel....you could drive around for ever trying to find it.....it's down a small side street next to a (very good) chip shop and opposite the rear entrance to a supermarket loading bay. Once you've found it you will be glad you did. The food is simply delicious and presented soooo well and the staff very very friendly. A HUGE plus for us was that we were able to take our dog into the bar, where we had our supper, and after a fantastic meal we regretted the fact we only found it on our last night in the area!

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bull Hotel

Address: 15 Black Bull Street, Duns TD11 3AR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Duns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Duns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Wheelchair Access on Ground Floor Only. *Children Welcome. *Pets allowed in Main Bar/Beer Garden Only. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Bull Hotel Duns, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Bull Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Black Bull Hotel to your Saves list