We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my birthday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Bull Hotel

Black Bull Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duns
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Bull Hotel
Save
You added Black Bull Hotel to your Saves list
15 Black Bull Street, Duns TD11 3AR, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Duns B&B and Inns
houston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“my birthday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

excellent food, staff were brill, and rooms were lovely, they knew it was my birthday and nobody let on ,as freinds and family were also in staying in the hotel one of my best birthdays yet, thanks to all staff, freinds and family also to my hubby george , for a perfect weekend, great night ,in the hall watching SCOCHA, THANKS FOR THE MENTION. p.s FOOD IN HOTEL EXCELLENT,


Helen from Houston

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    10
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
6
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Our last stay was in 2010 but the date list on this web site doesn't go that far back. This is only because the venue has been fully booked when we have wanted to stay since then.
We have stayed at the Black Bull in Duns many times and have always enjoyed the visit. This is a typical Scottish pub style hotel and restaurant. The bar is small but popular; the number of rooms is small but the restaurant is first class - you may need to book for dinner,even as a staying guest.
Our favourite en-suite double room is at the top of a flight of stairs on the 3rd floor (no lift). It is large, well equipped and with a huge queen size bed.
Although a popular pub, bar custom does not disturb sleep in this room. The Black Bull is located on a side street close to the centre of Duns, which has a good range of shops and a small supermarket.
It has a small beer garden with some children's facilities for summer enjoyment.

Room Tip: All are excellent. If your sleep is easily noise-disturbed, recommend a room higher up the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Don't be put off by the location of this hotel....you could drive around for ever trying to find it.....it's down a small side street next to a (very good) chip shop and opposite the rear entrance to a supermarket loading bay. Once you've found it you will be glad you did. The food is simply delicious and presented soooo well and the staff very very friendly. A HUGE plus for us was that we were able to take our dog into the bar, where we had our supper, and after a fantastic meal we regretted the fact we only found it on our last night in the area!

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paoli, Indiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Did not stay in the hotel, but we were staying near Duns in early September 2011. We drove into Duns to find a place for dinner. We ended up eating at the Black Bull on two different nights. The food was great. One of the nights we had the traditional fish and chips. The other I had Scottish roast beef and Yorkshire pudding. My boyfriend had a beef stew and both were very good. Oh and I had to have their Creme Brulee. One of my favorite desserts! We would definately go back and hopefully will.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Lovely little hotel in a quiet location in the centre of Duns. Comfortable room and excellent locally-resourced food in the restaurant. Duns is a good base for walking the easternmost two days of the Southern Upland Way, with Longformacus just a six-mile taxi ride away.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

This is an old pub which has bedrooms on two floors up a number of stairs. The bedroom had been decorated and smartened up as well as you can in an old building and the bathroom was absolutely fine. The huge bed was very comfortable and had lots of lovely white cotton pillows, duvet etc. Quiet at night. Tea making things in the room.
Dinner was good, especially the creme brule. Everyone very welcoming and lots of attention to detail.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bull Hotel

Address: 15 Black Bull Street, Duns TD11 3AR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Duns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Duns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Wheelchair Access on Ground Floor Only. *Children Welcome. *Pets allowed in Main Bar/Beer Garden Only. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Bull Hotel Duns, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Bull Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.