We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shetland Trio” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glengarry House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tyndrum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glengarry House
Save
You added Glengarry House to your Saves list
Main Road, Tyndrum, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Tyndrum B&B and Inns
Shetland
1 review
“Shetland Trio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

What a lovely B&B to stay while walking the West Highland Way. Very warm and friendly welcome from Andy and Ellen. Ellen was even brave enough to wash a few pairs of socks for us. Luggage in rooms yippee. Very clean and comfy rooms with lots of personal touches. Yummy banana cake on arrival very welcome after a long days walking. Delicious evening meal and breakfast. Andy even wore his Simmer Dim Rally t-shirt to serve breakfast very impressed. ~Few lovely little souvenirs and photos I now regret not buying one of the photos. Would definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    18
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
120
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We decided to stop at Glengarry while walking the West Highland Way because of the great reviews and because dinner was offered. It was nice, but not great as we'd expected based on the reviews. The B&B is outside the village, and there is a lot of traffic on the road to get there (though that is less of an issue early in the morning and later in the evening.) There is a narrow path along the road, but it is not the most pleasant walk.

We had not realized that there were several options for dinner and that we had to tell the owners what we wanted to eat before 18:00. When we arrived we were very tired, and when we arranged breakfast and lunch for the next day the lady didn't mention anything about also choosing dinner. Even though we had booked dinner and even exchanged e-mails about it, she just assumed (without checking with us) that we didn't want it after all. We only found out when we came down to eat and there were no seats for us! They said that they were already done cooking and couldn't accommodate us anymore, not even with a simple dish. We were disappointed but they offered to give us a lift to the village. (Unfortunately, the options there are nothing special.) We thought that, since we had already booked dinner, they might at least have checked with us and/or remind us instead of just assuming we'd be eating elsewhere.

Our luggage was waiting for us in the room when we arrived. When leaving we found the laundry basket in front of our door - everything was clean and folded, which was great!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Great place to stay and difficult to fault. Lovely warm welcome, with immediate offer of tea or coffee with some nice home made cakes. Made us feel very welcome and the bags wee all in the rooms waiting for us. Some nice touches with scented and original bath wash and soaps.
We even got a lift into the village, even though is is only a few hundred yards, but after a long day hiking......
Nice little sideline of candles and Harris tweed items. My daughter was thrilled with her I pad mini 'Harris Tweed' cover.
Would definitely recommend and keep up the great work!

Alex

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely place to stay and lovely couple. Rooms spotless with little extras you wouldn't think of. The homemade cakes and tea and coffee on arrival lovely touch and our heavy bags waiting in our room. Was a great relief. Only place on the way that has done that so far.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed here with friends during the WHW. I was very impressed with the bedroom, environment and owners. Lovely touches of gowns in rooms, lovely smellies, all welcome after a very tiresome long day. Made so welcome, shoes off with a glass of wine in the conservatory. Bliss!!!! Next morning the most delightful breakfast, eggs from the resident hens, delicious. I am converted to B and B instead of hotels after this wonderful experience. thank you for helping me achieve the WHW.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I booked 3 rooms here for myself and 4 others when we were completing the WHW. This couple seem to have everything just right to ensure you have a great stay. Very comfortable, immaculately clean rooms and great service. Tea made for our arrival and a lovely conservatory to relax in.

It happened to be my Birthday while there and my friends had organised fizz, balloons etc as a surprise. Ellen had gone out of her way to organise a birthday cake sourced locally so that my friend did not need to transport it. Champagne glasses, ice etc were readily available. Breakfast was one of the best on our trip.

If you need to stay in Tyndrum then book here ..... you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleckheaton
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Our third stay at Glengarry House. Rooms are very comfortable. Food is excellent especially the welcome cup of tea and flapjack on arrival. What made this trip that bit special was the loan of a knee brace. My wife had developed considerable knee pain that afternoon before we arrived and this was likely to halt further progress as we had 19 miles to walk the next day. Ellen suggested that a knee brace would help and offered to lend hers. It worked a treat with no further pain throughout the walk. We shall always stay at Glengarry House when we come to Scotland.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glengarry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glengarry House

Address: Main Road, Tyndrum, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tyndrum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Tyndrum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glengarry House is a friendly and comfortable Guest House situated in Tyndrum where the Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park and the breathtaking Highlands meet. We are centrally located which is perfect for hiking, munro bagging, cycle touring, mountain biking, golfing and walking the West Highland Way. It's also an excellent base for touring by car or motorcycle. In addition to the B&B there is a separate self-catered Lodge which sleeps 4. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glengarry House Tyndrum, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glengarry House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.