We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best campsites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beinglas Farm Campsite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tyndrum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beinglas Farm Campsite
Inverarnan, Loch Lomond | Dunbartonshire, Tyndrum, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7DX, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Louth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of the best campsites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

If you want a comfortable and cosy campsite then this is the one. Ideal for the West Highland Way as its right on the route. Excellent showers and cooking facilities with a reasonably priced shop and a fantastic bar! Couldn't recommend more!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    76
    24
    8
    19
See reviews for
14
65
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coylton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

just want to say that you should not be put off by the gate being closed at 11.00 pm, the campsite bar is superb. We were in two minds as whether to camp here or not when we discovered that the gate on the bridge ( entrance ) is closed nightly at 11pm, being huge fans of the Drovers Inn we were a bit pissed off, thinking it might ruin our night ( leaving the Drovers just as a band gets going ). I can honestly say that I was totally shocked at just how good the bar at the campsite is, in fact , I would probably say it's even better than the Drovers. It boasts a far better range of beer/lager, has an excellent menu and has great live music. We were camping here as a base for hillwalking and had no problem at all with any of the amenities ( great hot showers ) and are planning to return in the near future...oh, don't worry about crowded pitches, plenty of space and you can park beside your tent if you like...we stayed a fri/sat and the only noise bothering us was a couple of sheep having a chat beside our tent at 4 am...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamlash, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Walking the West Highland Way with two friends, we had booked to camp at Beinglass Farm when we planned the walk. After a good days walking we came down into Inverarnan not knowing what to expect, boy were we pleasantly surprised. This site is brilliant. The ammenities are very good with a well stocked shop catering for all campers.The even do packed lunches for the next day. There are washers, driers, a covered outside eating area & a good drop off, collection area for rucksacks if you are getting them carried. The Bar & Restaurant are great the food was excellent & so was the beer. On seeing the cabins we thought we would see if one was available for the night, unfortunately they were all booked which just goes to show how popular this site is, as this was the 2nd week of the Easter holidays! Excellent if you are passing through or for exploring the surroundings, I would highly reccommend this camp site.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

You might think twice about staying at a "farm" and the appearance of this as a farm might make you be reluctant to stay here but we were happy we did. Very helpful staff, very clean room with easy access (all are first floor). Towels were generously provided and they did not skip on electricity. They have a store with essential items. The laundry service came in very handy. And the food was quite good: breakfast and dinner with many healthy options. There is no wifi here. And you are right next to the West Highland Way for the next day's hiking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

An essential alternative to the Drovers Inn!! We had a camping cabin which was cozy and sleeps 4 on mattresses. Unfortunately we left the door open to enjoy the ambience and view which meant that we let the midges in and then I got thoroughly bitten (but that was my fault). The bar is good, there was a pub quiz the night we went, and the meals / breakfasts are delicious. There is a nice outdoor seating area under umbrellas. The toilets and showers are clean. There is a shop which is well stocked with essentials and not ridiculously expensive. The laundry is busy. Very good value. Really nice atmosphere too. Would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: There are some double en suite rooms in wooden huts which looked very comfortable and, dare I say it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

we stayed here for 3 nights in july 2013, staff ok when we booked in conversation very limited took money and walked away back to the restaurant and he seemed shocked we wanted to stay for 3 nights.

the site was ok toilets could be cleaner and better maintained, id walk around in flip flops or that its dirty. seemed a few campers did not have respect for the site or the people in it the way they treated the site. ie leave toilets in mess, roundiness at night even though it says no excessive noise after 11pm but as it was between campers and staff it seems they can get away with this, if you get what i mean. we found the restaurant was pretty dear for the meals.

we were bitten to pieces from horse flies and midgeys i can cope with midges since im scottish used to them but seeminly west coast is known for horse flies(not sure if true) but cover up, im still trying to get rid of the bites after 2weeks. but they cant help that it was just a tip for you to cover up.

try to bring essentials with you as its a small onsite shop with limited supplies and dear. they advertise a like kitchen and fridge onsite for you but cooker has seen better days we did not use it, we watched campers try to cook pasta for least 30mins on full heat and still not boiling, the fridge is full of rust, and tables and chairs need replaced as ripped etc.


drovers bar is great, very friendly so go there for meal and drinks just about 5 mins walk from site. very friendly staff, good live music. they have rooms too.


i would recommend this place if staying a night, but if plan to stay for longer look else where.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have stayed at Beinglas several times over the years whilst doing the WHW as well as when exploring the beautiful surrounding area with friends. I have always found the staff to be warm and very friendly, the food to be tasty and the washing/cooking facilities on site to be ideal for a walkers' requirements. But, I have seen previous reviewers have stated disappointment at the fairly recently installed security gate (at first, I too was a little disappointed at not being able to enjoy a late one in the famous Drovers Inn!) so whilst I appreciate the concerns raised, I must say I personally found the live music and vibrant atmosphere of the Beinglas farm bar to be just as good,if not even slightly better, than that of my previous Drovers experiences, once I got over my initial misgivings. Overall, I have always found Beinglas farm to be a safe, friendly and well-ran campsite, with all the essential facilities required for an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Avoid the bottom field if possible if the forecast is to be wet, as it has been known to flood in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beinglas Farm Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beinglas Farm Campsite

Address: Inverarnan, Loch Lomond | Dunbartonshire, Tyndrum, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7DX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tyndrum
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty lodging in Tyndrum
Also Known As:
Beinglas Farm Campsite Hotel Tyndrum
Beinglas Farm Campsite Tyndrum, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beinglas Farm Campsite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Beinglas Farm Campsite to your Saves list