We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tyndrum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Royal Hotel
Save
You added The Royal Hotel to your Saves list
A82, Tyndrum, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Tyndrum B&B and Inns
Redditch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Royal hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We returned from Tyndrum on Monday night having spending 5 days there. The coaches from Birmingham and Tebay were both comfortable and pleasant. The drivers gave us lots of stops to stretch out legs. The hotel was very clean and the staff were very efficient and worked very hard throughout our stay and nothing was too much trouble. The food was always hot and tasty. Our driver John was very funny, entertaining us with his stories and we enjoyed the trips each day. The only downside would be the length of time on the coach from Birmingham, but it's worth it. We had a real bonus of the sun, which shone each day. We would recommend this holiday

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    62
    27
    6
    7
See reviews for
22
85
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hull
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have travelled with Highland Heritage before but were very disappointed this time. Our room was supposedly a premium one but it was disgraceful. The chairs were all stained and dirty, the carpet was threadbare. The sink was next to the bed so we had to squeeze between them to get to the closet, which I might add had no door. The bathroom was dreadful everything was dirty and worn. I know it is only a three star hotel and you get what you pay for but is a clean room to much to ask for. We complained straight away to Alex the manager and she was absolutely brilliant she took us to a superior room which was really nice and arranged to have our luggage transferred straight away. It is normally £12 a night more for a superior room but she said that there would be no charge as we are old customers. The food was average but the trip to the hotel took us a total of twelve hours and everybody was exhausted. The coach that we were on was ten years old and was very uncomfortable. I can only praise the staff who work very hard doing everything that there is to do in the hotel between fifteen of them. I am sorry but I think that it is time some serious money was spent on the hotel. We wont be travelling with Highland Heritage again.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are much better quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, N.Ireland, U.K.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just came back yesterday and had to write this review due to nearly being put off going by previous negative reviews. As recent reviews have stated the cleanliness and efficiency of service was first class and could have left some 4 star hotels behind. Coach picked us up from our local town drove onto the ferry and handled all the luggage as previously stated. Staff friendly, courteous and extremely hardworking. Food good, full breakfast, cereal, juice, kippers or full Scottish brekfast. Evening meal 3 courses with choice of menu. Fruit, tea, coffee, Galaxy drinking chocolate+ biscuits in room, also complimentary toiletries. Maid service and clean towels every day (as long as you place the soiled ones in the bath). Rooms were a little dated but beds were comfortable and room very clean. Trips out were excellent, beautiful scenery enhanced by the great weather we had over the Eastr break. ( only thing I wasnt impressed with were the places the coach drivers reccomended for lunch and scones) Entertainment in the evenings after the meal was great, we had great fun. Overall excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms ground floor on right side away from bar/lounge, or upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I really dont understand all the negative reviews about highland heritage and this hotel. Just come back from a 4night tour at a cost of £180 which included all transport costs and meals except lunch. Room very clean and meals superb. Our coach driver Adrian very professional and knowledgable. Put simply for the money you cant better it! Thanks to the manager and all the very hardworking staff. I came home with some very happy memories of my trip and would definitely consider Highland Heritage again at a future date.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fantastic holiday. When you arrive by coach, you are greeted by the manager, in full highland dress, and given your room allocation. By the time you arrive at your room, your luggage is already waiting outside your door. We had 2 single rooms, very spacious, best single accomadation I have ever had. Quality bath robe, toiletries, tea/coffee facilities, with fresh fruit, and good biscuits. shower, W/C, trouser press, hair dryer, TV, and heater. Views out of this world, stunning wild life. Staff first rate ,all stand in entrance of dining room, and greet you on entry. Service and food first class, Plenty of excursions, with history given by the coach driver, plenty of free trips included (ferry to Mull) etc. entertainment nightly, Billy very funny, and the Homelanders very good. Well worth paying that little bit extra.

Room Tip: All rooms are equal, which is good for the single traveller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

We were told that one of the tours was a cruise around Mull! We checked the brochure and it also said it was a cruise. It turned
out that it was a return ferry crossing.Not a cruise round Mull.The other trips were very poor value.
Never again!!!!

Room Tip: Check the room out as ours was full of dust webs and not very clean.The room size was very good.If t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIGAN
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

Returned from a 5 day break with Highland Heritage at The Royal Hotel, Tyndrum. At £153 each for a 5 day 4 night D.B & B with travel included and 2 excursions it is excellent value for money. It is well worth the extra £14 each for the additional tour via Fort William up to Fort Augustus and, to my mind, provided the best scenery on our journey through Glencoe. On our included trip to Edinburgh we decided to take the additional tour of Edinburgh, £6 each, but because of the amount of traffic the tour took 1/2 hour longer than the 1 hour quoted. This means that out of the 3 hours in Edinburgh we were left with 1 1/2 hours which, after we had had lunch, only left time to return to the coach. However, I should also add that on the way to Edinburgh we stopped at the Firth of Forth Bridge Observation for a comfort break and two of the three toilets were closed. On the included trip to Oban we were entertained, during the afternoon, by Skipinnish, a 4 man group providing excellent music.
Our Hotel 'The Royal' in Tyndrum is the reason I add, but you get what you pay for, in my title. Our room in the Hotel and the food in the attractive dining room was just as we expected. Three courses with a choice on each course followed by a cup of tea or coffee and evening entertainment. Having slept and dined in many Hotels then I have something to compare which is the reason I have given the Hotel 3 Stars but, overall, the tour was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: A82, Tyndrum, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tyndrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Tyndrum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With return coach transport form your local pick up point, and with its stunning setting in the village of Tyndrum, in the middle of the Scottish Goldfields, this hotel has fantastic views and four acres of sheltered gardens. With plenty of space in both the dining room and the entertainment lounge for dining, relaxation and dancing, each capable of accommodating 200 guests. Free WIFI available in Quiet Room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Royal Hotel Tyndrum, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.