We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and small!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Strathfillan Wigwams

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tyndrum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Strathfillan Wigwams
Save
You added Strathfillan Wigwams to your Saves list
Tyndrum, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8RU, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cosy and small!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Bare Eagle Lodge we were a party of seven!
Were the other three were going to sleep I really don't know. The lodge is small. Luckily there was a spare wigwam and three of our party slept in that. They are very basic.
We only stayed one night and then continued on the WHW.
The fire pit was excellent!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    37
    16
    10
    11
See reviews for
35
34
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I took a bit of convincing from my Husband to book this instead of a nice, warm spa break! And I loved every moment of it.

Staff were lovely, scenery gorgeous, wigwams spotless and much to my amazement I loved the outdoor camp fire cooking experience.

Take a wee risk and experience the outdoors, wigwam style... you will not regret it.

Room Tip: Go for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Fantastic stay , beautiful walks and surroundings , defo be back , Only down side some of the staff not all could be more friendly and welcoming , this didnt affect my stay in any way though . Highly recomended :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stopped in the Yurt and at £75 (sat night premium) it was expensive. For that price I was surprised to find that no bedding was supplied but it could be hired at £5 per person which was a lot on top of the price of the stay.

That said, the Yurt was lovely to stay in and had been very prettily decorated on the inside with colourful fabric. The scatter cushions could do with a wash though!! I noticed that one had a splodge of dried food on it. There is a free laundry which is very welcome and the kitchen facilities are very good with a nice dining area.

There is a useful safety gate surrounding the wood burning stove in the middle of the Yurt which was very handy for drying out washing.

The toilets and showers are kept clean although you do have to pay £1 to have a shower (this was the only place along the WHW where we had to pay for a shower) but you do get 8 minutes and both of us managed to have a quick shower in that time (there is enough room in the cubicle for a couple to share). The food in the little shop is quite expensive but has basics.

There is freshly baked bread in the morning which sells out fast so get there when the shop opens at 9am!! Another good thing is that there is plenty of free firewood which was great.

Would recommend but it is a little pricey.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Lovely place to stop on the WHW, well stocked shop, great service, beautiful views from the camping field. Camping field was well maintained and tidy, and showers and kitchen facilities were exactly what we needed and more than we expected. Weather was good so we cooked outdoors but the seating area is large with tables and chairs which would've been a god send in bad weather. No rain, not even a midge, great place to stay. Overall a first rate stop. Wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night in beaver lodge. The gentleman at check in was pleasant. the lodge was clean and more than enough space for my partner and I and our 19 month old. our little girl loved playing on the decked area and watch everything. The part of the campsite where the lodges are situated is very quiet. the farm shop on site is well stocked. the views from all over the site are very good. the site is good for day trips to loch lomond and ban. We will definitely be back

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed here last Saturday night with friends. We hired 3 wigwams, thankfully they were right next to each other which was a bonus! Gorgeous settings and views. The wigwams themselves are good, maybe not worth the £50 per night though. Good reasonably sized fridge however this was leaking and our floor was soaking wet. I think it had maybe been turned off and therefore the freezer had started defrosting and was only turned on that day before we arrived. Very basic inside, a unit, fridge and a seating area with table (and this is where you form your bed). I had a good sleep though and beats camping plus it's a novelty.
However.....the large downside is the owner. There was a debate over the price, my friend was told it was £40 per night but when we arrived we were told it was £50 per night!! We queried this £10 increase with a young boy who told us to drop by later when the manager was in. We called by a couple of hours later. Eventually he appeared out the back office and when we first spoke to him to explain our issue he kept interrupting us when we trying to speak - he was instantly defensive. He kept saying 'hang on...hang on...' when we trying to speak. Basically he told us our friend got it wrong and was told £40 a night - funny that, as I was sitting next to him and heard my friend confirm £40 a night. It's also strange that there are no signs or price lists and the young boy couldn't confirm how much a night in the wigwam is - do they just make up prices as they go along??! To cut a long story short, in the end we never got our money back, the manager would not even listen to us and was very defensive. The way we were spoken to was shocking!! An absolute disgrace to speak to 2 woman like that!! My friend has stayed here before and she said she would not be back and he didn't seem bothered in the slightest. When we left he followed us out the door shouting at us! This man is the owner - how he still has a business is beyond me. He needs to learn some customer service, and people skills. If it wasn't for this horrid man we would be back in a shot. However due to the utterly appalling attitude we will NOT be back!! I advise all customers to take a note of how much you are quoted and charged and to cross your fingers you don't run in to this appalling and very rude man.......

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Strathfillan Wigwams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathfillan Wigwams

Address: Tyndrum, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8RU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tyndrum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Tyndrum
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Strathfillan Wigwams Hotel Tyndrum
Strathfillan Wigwams Tyndrum, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strathfillan Wigwams, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.