We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I,ll be back.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of By The Way Hostel and Campsite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tyndrum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
By The Way Hostel and Campsite
Save
You added By The Way Hostel and Campsite to your Saves list
Tyndrum, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8RY, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“I,ll be back.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

What an excellent place to stay. I have stayed in the Hostel several times and would highly recommend it, comfy beds, lovely hot showers and a nice big kitchen area, and very reasonably priced. An ideal base for bagging the local Munros or somewhere to stop over if walking ( or running ) the West Highland Way, where the Hostel gets it name from, it is literally "by the way". I am going to try one of the trekker huts or Hobbit cabins next time, they look really cool. Site has a nice wee shop to stock up your supplies.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    26
    8
    9
    5
See reviews for
18
37
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

A great place to stay after a long day's running or walking, after all there is nothing better than a good hot shower and a comfortable bed to sleep in. The facilities are good and it's very reasonably priced. I will always use By The Way when I'm in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Just spent a few days at bytheway, i visit this site quite a lot, tried the new motorhome park and found it perfect, the tv point and free wi-fi are an added bonus.
The owners have put a lot of effort into making it a great place to stay, and i will definitely be returning soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Very nice little site. We stayed in one of the camping cabins which was very small, but we made it work. Luckily our little heater worked, but our friends in the cabin next door weren't so lucky. The kitchen is in desperate need of an upgrade, but was at least clean. The drying room was excellent!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty B, Owner at By The Way Hostel and Campsite, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Many thanks for your comments. I would like to apologise about the heater that did not work in your friends' cabin. We would gladly have moved the people to another cabin if we had known. The heater has now been replaced. Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Staff very accommodating and friendly
Location excellent for walkers
In one of the cabins it was lovely and clean and had a small but pretty inefficient heater and as it was a very cold night I was glad i had a warm sleeping bag
Would certainly recommend for fellow walkers

Room Tip: Have a warm sleeping bag in chalets if cold
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed in one of the Hobbit Houses - can't fault them as they have everything you need - kettle, microwave, T.V. and heating.
These would be ideal for families with young children as the single beds in them are a touch too small for great comfort if you are walking the WHW without children.
Nice and handy for the Green Well store and trains/buses

Room Tip: Don't rent if you are 6ft and above for the single beds. Go for one of the bunkhouses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

I try to write balanced reviews, but I'm really struggling to find fault with By The Way. From the first phone call to the initial welcome to helping us out during our stay (2 nights in January 2013), staff, accommodation, cleanliness, value for money. All perfect!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to By The Way Hostel and Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Way Hostel and Campsite

Address: Tyndrum, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8RY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tyndrum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Tyndrum
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
By The Way Hostel And Campsite Tyndrum, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage By The Way Hostel and Campsite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.