We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place , lovely setting , lovely people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of By The Way Hostel and Campsite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tyndrum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
By The Way Hostel and Campsite
Save
You added By The Way Hostel and Campsite to your Saves list
Tyndrum, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8RY, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place , lovely setting , lovely people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

I am just back from a weekend at ' by the way ' and what a time it was , we hired out ' the hobbit ' and at first I thought it might be really cold inside as it was snowing but how wrong I was , it was a great little cabin and very well insulated that sleeps up to four people with its own tv , micro , fridge and heater , the people couldn't be anymore helpful and are very warm and welcoming

Don't let this little gem of a place pass you by

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    26
    8
    9
    5
See reviews for
19
37
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Excellent facilities and great customer service are just the beginning of this little gem... I hired a hobbit hut for two people and as well as offering something very different it's very affordable and sleeps 2-4 people...

Bearing in mind it's freezing outside and white with snow the hut is well insulated and has its own tv, fridge, micro, kettle and fan heating!

It's handy for both of Tyndrum's train stations and bus service from Glasgow or fort William and I think Oban too. It's on west highland way too and with plenty car parking here it's a nice drive to Loch Lomond, inverary, Oban, Glencoe, ft William, Trossachs and 1 hour from Glasgow.

Free wi fi and excellent kitchen facilities on site are the icing on the cake;)

We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is a very clean,well-run hostel with very good facilities at a decent price. Helpful owner was very welcoming. The location of the hostel is excellent, tucked away down a leafy lane but still close to the village centre. Tyndrum has a few little shops which backpackers can restock from, as well as a couple of eating and drinking places. There's also the possibility of camping or staying in a camping pod or hobbit house or a trekker hut.
The hostel is clean and well laid out.The drying room was quite small and I can imagine that in the summer when it's busy it will be overcrowded.
There was free tea and coffee available and free wine and beer as it was just after Hogmanay! A nice touch and much appreciated.
The room I stayed in had 4 bunks in (for 8 people) although as it was quiet the owner tried to give everyone their own room as far as possible so I had a room to myself!
The kitchen is spotless and well-equipped. There is also a lounge area and a bookshelf.
Check out time is 10am
I really enjoyed my stay here and I can only assume that earlier poor reviews were from the previous management or in the interim as the new owners established themselves.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Ive stayed here everytime i go north and got to say it,s the best bunkhouse anywhere, very clean, great facilities , very helpful and friendly. Drying room. X.lent kitchen. always ongoing work to improve teh site which takes tents, vans and for the glampers there are camping huts. some great hills around area also low level walks for the less adventureous.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Just got back from a few days at bytheway, really can't fault this place at all, stayed in the 2 bedroom chalet, everything you need is there, lovely and cosy.
Can't wait to try out the new Motorhome Park next year, it looks amazing, the owners have really worked hard on this, i wish them every success, they deserve it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

accomodation for to suit every budget, from camping,bunk rooms,hobbit houses,and classy private self contained chalets. We seen them all and it could not be beaten. Great location, quiet, spotless, fabulously equipped and very helpful loverly couple running it. You will love it too.

Room Tip: all great. suit those who love the amazing enviroment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

A wonderful place to stay along the West Highland Way. We stayed in a small but comfortable double room in the main hostel, which has a handy drying room, well kitted out kitchen and light, open plan lounge/dining room area. The kitchen was clean and a nice touch for walkers was space where free food was left by other travellers for people to use (we'd brought our own food but the principle of sharing was in great alignment with the traditions of hostelling). Other neat features were the mountain profiles painted on the beams, the shelves lined with books and games (there is no TV and that's no loss as you are used to being without it on the WHW).
The owners have put a lot of work into this place and it felt like a home from home. The site was neat, tidy and the reception office had a little shop for snacks, drinks and First Aid accessories. We found the owner Kirsty very welcoming and helpful, and we would thoroughly recommend this hostel, both as a stay on the WHW and as a base for walking/touring in the area. Excellent value for money. Compared to other pit stops along the WHW route, Tyndrum has the advantage of a few shops and facilities so if you arrive early there is always something to do.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to By The Way Hostel and Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Way Hostel and Campsite

Address: Tyndrum, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8RY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tyndrum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Tyndrum
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
By The Way Hostel And Campsite Tyndrum, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage By The Way Hostel and Campsite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.