We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and well looked after campsite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of By The Way Hostel and Campsite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tyndrum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
By The Way Hostel and Campsite
Save
You added By The Way Hostel and Campsite to your Saves list
Tyndrum, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8RY, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Leipzig, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quiet and well looked after campsite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed in a camping cabin here for three nights. Although it was very wet the first two days, the shower and toilet area and the kitchen were very clean. We found the campsite to be very quiet and well looked after.
The campsite is only a couple of metres away from Lower Tyndrum station, to Upper Tyndrum station it´s a 15 minutes walk, but trains will not disturbe, because there is only a couple a day.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    26
    8
    9
    5
See reviews for
18
37
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

stopped here for a night in the hostel whilst walking the west highland way and was very impressed - very clean welcoming and even had free jelly beans - lovely outside space and tidy kitchen and eating areas - highly recommended to anyone passing through the area - the lady at reception was lovely too!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

i have stayed at this hostel and found the facilitys were great and the owners very friendly its a great place for walkers or campers great scenery and a nice place to be i woulkd definately recomend a stay here to any friend or relitive

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnyrigg, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Having picked up an injury whilst walking I thought I would check into the accommodation early, but was told to "Go Away" by the female owner, as they didn't open until two o'clock. I tried again later that day, around 2:45 but I didn't have any booking details with me, and was again told to wait outside, and that I could not access any of the facilities. She did not try to look up the details on her computer, or try to help me in any way at all. During this time some other walkers also tried to check in, and pick up their bags which had been dropped off, and her response was to shout at them "How do I know who you are? You could be anybody!". After another hour wait some of my other party members arrived, and so we tried to check in for a third time. Although we had booked multiple trekker huts we only wanted access to one of them for some shelter from the rain and midges - not a huge ask - and we were willing to pay for the single hut until the rest of the party arrived. Her attitude towards us was hostile to say the least, and we were made to feel very unwelcome. Once we finally gained access, the hut was covered in thousands of dead midges. And also you had to pay extra to use the cooker, washing machine and tumble dryer. For walkers doing the West Highland Way I would recommend you looked at accommodation elsewhere, as my stay here really put a damper on the whole trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty B, Owner at By The Way Hostel and Campsite, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
I am sorry to hear you had an unpleasant stay with us. Firstly I do apologise that you had to wait a while before going into your huts. We have been understaffed on a few busy days, but this is no excuse, I understand that. With regards to the luggage, we do not know whose luggage is dropped of here and sometimes people who are not even staying with us have their luggage dropped off. It's difficult to know whose luggage has been dropped off. I once again apologise if I was off hand. We have recently removed all meters in huts and kitchen (after your stay). This was something that the previous owner had installed. I would be happy to offer you a free night's accommodation for two, either in the hostel in a twin/double room, or in one of our hobbit huts. Please accept my sincere apologies once again. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashington, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Arrived soaked wet through and set up camp on lower level opposite shower block as pitches on upper level were holding the water, drying room was shed which served it's purpose of drying boots and water proofs etc, a few coat hangers would not have come in a miss though. Showers okay and hot. When packing up in rain I went to use the electric hob in the food prep room to have a hot meal before departure which required 50p for the meter so didn't bother.
Biggest complaint about this site was the amount of dog crap on the camping areas and the number of people walking their dogs late at night and hearing them calling their dogs away from the tents as they no doubt cocked their legs against them. (thats the dogs not the owners) Look for somewhere else to camp in Tyndrum. Also a very nice young German couple who's camping gear had become wet through from the previous night were charged £38.00 night to stay in one of the unheated cabins which had an electric meter which needed to be fed 50p every half an hour to provide some heat. WELCOME TO RIP OFF BRITAIN !!! They should follow the example of the Hostel cabins at Kinlochleven where they are heated,have a flat screen TV fridge and kettle all in for the price and the owner Callum could not be more helpful even if he tried.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty B, Owner at By The Way Hostel and Campsite, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
We are sorry to hear that your stay was not to your liking. All the meters are going to be removed. We recently bought the site and the prevouls owner had all the meters installed. We do check the site daily for dog waste and tell dog owners to clean up. Most dog owners do clean up after their dogs, but on this occassion obviously it was not the case. We do apologise for this. We are in the midst of fitting a new, larger drying room for the campers. We have recently purchased two microlodges (like the one's at Kinlochleven) which are very popular. We do appreciate all comments which will help us to improve the site. Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

have stayed here many times. great for camping. the facilities are excellent lovely toilets and showers and a camping kitchen and drying area too which are well equipped. The site is well looked after and has cctv too. It is quiet and friendly and the owners are very helpful. Many great stays here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Mean owners. Luke warm tiny drying room only on at night. Loads of signs "do not" . Not cheap but coins for hotplate, cabin heaters.This stingy attitude spoils what could be a great place to stay on WHW.

Room Tip: Take lots of coins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to By The Way Hostel and Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Way Hostel and Campsite

Address: Tyndrum, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8RY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tyndrum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Tyndrum
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
By The Way Hostel And Campsite Tyndrum, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage By The Way Hostel and Campsite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.