We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great christmas at the tarbet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Tarbet Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tarbet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Save
You added Bay Tarbet Hotel to your Saves list
Main Street, Tarbet, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7DE, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarbet
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“great christmas at the tarbet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

this was our first Christmas away from home ,we had a great time ,I had read some of the comments on here , and they said some nasty things ,but I can honestly say not all were true , yes the bedroom was cold but we were given another heater and that really warmed the room up lovely ,it was lovely and clean there and we were made to feel really welcome , the staff there are all helpful and so friendly , the food was lovely and a lot of it , it was a wonderful Christmas thanks to all the staff in the tarbet ,the view of the loch is stunning ,I would recommend to anyone , Ronnie the manager is one of a kind , really nice man

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for your kind words and for spending your first Christmas away from home with us. It was a privilege to celebrate this time of year with you all.

I’m glad that you found your Christmas break to be wonderful and will pass on your lovely comments to all the staff, I’m sure they will be delighted to hear that you thought so highly of them all.

We hope that this is the first of many visits to us and would like to take this opportunity to wish you all the best for 2014. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    173
    94
    64
    68
See reviews for
63
258
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Boroughbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Went with Shearings in November 5 day break fantastic value for money. Coach driver very good, hotel very nice in need of refurbishment in the bedrooms, which are getting done so no complaints. Food excellant, staff very nice, entertainment great had lot's of laughs, location of the hotel very beautiful over looking Loch Lomand. If your thinking of booking do not hasitate a good time will be had by all.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your kind review.

It’s good to read that you enjoyed yourself and found the food and service to be an excellent standard. I will pass on your lovely comments to all concerned.

We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Went and stayed in hotel in November stayed in room 204 room very good and clean all staff all very good ronny the manager was excellent all staff were excellent don't be leave what you read on trip Advisor go and see for your self best hotel ever and best views in the world even the food was excellent and you can't beet the price and hotel was always warm

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

I would like to thank you very much for posting your kind review of our hotel.

I am glad to read that you had such a special time and that the staff and everything concerned with the hotel met your expectations.

We hope that you will visit us again in the near future and wish you all the best for 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Just got back from a 5 day break at the Bay Tarbet Hotel and had a great time the hotel is a little tired in some parts but our room 214 was a big room with comfy bed and very clean white sheets it had 1 double and 1 single bed for the price we paid it was ok the food was very good and the staff could not do enough for us ,The loch was just across the road and a great place if you are into walking ,This was our 1st Shearing,s break and we loved it great value for money we will be booking another that's for sure , Lovely old looking Hotel with loads of character

Room Tip: 214 room is big ok for 3 people sorry don't know about other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post this lovely review.

It’s good to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the break such good value for money.
I will pass on your comments to all involved and would like to take this opportunity to wish you all the best for 2014.

We hope to see you back at the Tarbet soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burstwick, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Just spent a brilliant weekend here with 46 friends and family to celebrate my birthday. We booked through Shearings, who did us a value for money package, including transport, drinks vouchers, entertainment, half day excursion and half board meals basis. The Hotel is an old hunting lodge in a fabulous location, although it is quite remote if you cannot walk too far or don't have transport. Consequently, it has creaky floorboards, areas in need of refurbishment, and some bedrooms with more dated décor and facilities than others. The staff however, were welcoming, friendly and very accommodating. The food was adequate, given what we'd paid, and as far as I know, everyone in our party was well catered for. Despite initial reservations about the "entertainment" provided, both evenings turned out to be good fun, and helped make our stay pleasurable. My only criticism relates to some of the single rooms having inadequate heating for the time of year. Unfortunately, my mum and her friend occupied 2 rooms on the first floor, which never reached a constant, warm temperature during our stay. When my husband complained about this situation, after the first night of them being frozen, the man on the reception offered them the use of one heater between them. We found out as we were leaving to come home, that there were in fact more heaters available, had the member of staff concerned not been too lazy to go and get another one! Perhaps the hotel management should place additional heaters in these particular rooms whenever they are booked out in the winter months.

Room Tip: If you travel to this hotel in the winter, beware of rooms 103 and 104. These are single rooms, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I am really glad to read that you had a brilliant time with us during your stay.

I can only apologise for the confusion over the other heaters, I have gone through this with the staff member concerned and ensured that he is aware of the location of other heaters if required.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We used Shearings vouchers, received after a ghastly coach holiday, to have a self drive break at this hotel. We paid extra for a room with a view which was fantastic. The room was large, warm and very comfortable with a lovely view of Loch Lomond with Ben Lomond behind.
All the staff were helpful, polite and friendly.
The public areas of the hotel were clean and tidy with a good selection of daily papers to read.
The dining room was clean but we found it cold despite heaters placed round our table. The food was variable, some selections being tasty and well cooked, others nor so good. The cooked breakfasts were not of the best quality. Again the staff were friendly, polite and helpful. Our grandson joined us for a meal one evening and this was accommodated easily and kindly by the staff rearranging tables in our part of the restaurant.
The drinks vouchers were very generous with four free drinks per day/night.
The one downside (apart from the cold dining room) was the noise from the bar which penetrated our room directly above. This would not be a problem to anyone who is not 'early to bed' as all was quiet by 11pm at the latest.
Overall, a lovely stay, very good value for money and the area is well worth a visit!
Overall

Room Tip: Great views from Room 123 but it is directly over the bar/entertainment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your lovely review, I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the package to be very good value for money.

I will pass on all your comments to the departments and staff, who I am sure will be happy to consider them, both good and not so good, as we will use this to improve as a business.

We hope to see you again in the near future and would like to wish you all the best for 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Apologies for the late review. I accompanied my mother on a 4 night break with Shearings, hoping it might be the first of many. The trips were fine, driver nice, can't fault the fantastic scenery and great location - especially liked the train journey to Fort William. Unfortunately the same could not be said for the food or the hotel. I realise people have different expectations regarding food - we were not expecting Michelin stars! Really I thought it was poor food, often tinned or, having worked in catering, obviously pre-prepared and of low quality. The chef's specials were a joke, no more touched by a skilled human hand than anything else on the menu. On one occasion we asked our very sweet waitress if there was any alternative starter as we did not like what was offered and she had the grace to look embarrassed when she said no. A serving of prunes at breakfast was 3 prunes. Mum is not a big eater and she was hungry - by our third day all she was interested in when we got to Fort William was the location of the nearest fish and chip shop, so that we could eat our main meal before we got back to the hotel. Having such short set meal times was like travelling back in time to bad guest houses in the 70s. It felt like everything was arranged for the convenience of the management/staff and not the paying guests. I am fully aware that some reviews of similar stays in this hotel are more positive - all I can say is most of the people we spoke to during our stay from 16th to 20th September 2013 were not impressed by the food and largely disappointed in the standard of the hotel and especially their rooms. Several of them said their stays compared very unfavourably with trips with other companies offering similar holidays. We said that if this hotel was typical then never again! We have been given recommendations for alternative companies offering similar breaks and may consider them but we won't be returning to Bay Tarbet.

Room Tip: We paid more for a room with a view and mostly got a tree to look at. If we stood one at a time at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review.

I'm glad to read that you appreciated the scenery in the local area and found the train journey to Fort William enjoyable.

I'm disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your dining experience with us and have passed on your comments to the relevant parties to investigate and action where needed. I will however say that the majority of the guests enjoy the food and dining experience at the Tarbet and the reviews underneath would mostly testify to that.

We hope you will reconsider your decision not to stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Tarbet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tarbet Hotel

Address: Main Street, Tarbet, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tarbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within one of Scotland’s largest national parks, the Tarbet has had a rich history as a resting place for travellers for over 400 years. The present building dates back 250 years and was built in the Baronial style. The exterior has recently been redecorated and the hotel presents an impressive first impression even today. There are a total of 69 rooms arranged over two floors, some of which offer spectacular views. The surrounding scenery is second to none, as the hotel looks out over Loch Lomond and Ben Lomond from its location on the banks of the Loch itself. Admire the beautifully decorated restaurant where some tables overlook the loch and take advantage of the spacious entertainment lounge with bar. The Tarbet also has the benefit of a comfortable residents’ lounge with board games and books to help you relax and unwind. The perfect end to a great day’s sightseeing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Tarbet Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.