We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Tarbet Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tarbet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Save
You added Bay Tarbet Hotel to your Saves list
Main Street, Tarbet, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7DE, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CLICK FOR GREAT DEALS
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarbet
west sussex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Disappointed.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2007

Entrance Hall impressive, outside renovation urgently needed.

Food Ok varied meals in evening 5 courses for main. Breakfasts varied. Service adequate

View of Loch from our small double bedroom disappointing, Fir Tree obscured main view, first day. Only view of loch through small side window. Bedrooms need decorating clean but tired decor. Bedroom floor creaked at every step taken. Bathroom had to be plastered whilst there - running repairs, Water pressure very good and hot water.

Renovations started whilst there, Peak weeks in August, scaffolding up outside of room completely obscuring view from 2nd day.

Evening entertainment much to be desired.

General area very quiet no shops at all only 1 small tea room and above Only hotel at the Loch Lomond where the boats were hired from.

Loch really picturesque. Great as a day trip area but not for stopping long in. No refreshments where boats were but elaborate WC's.

Booked through WA Shearings, tour company cannot fault except still waiting for an answer from them about scaffolding problem.

Marks out of ten - 4 at most for hotel - but 9 out of 10 for tour company.

  • Liked — View of Loch outside Hotel
  • Disliked — hotel bedroom, very small andno view eveth though paid for one.
  • Stayed August 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    194
    97
    65
    69
See reviews for
69
279
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2007

Unfortunately we booked our long weekend before reading the hotel reviews!
The hotel must have been quite magnificent inside and outside in the very distant past, the exterior is still imposing from a distance but close up it looks very tired and unloved.
Most of the ceilings showed signs of water leakage, some had obviously been replaced in places and just about shown a bit of plaster.
Our room was quite small and dismal, but adequate: but the bathroom took our breath away quite literally. The stench rising from the pluhole in the tiny sink almost knocking us sideways when returning from a day out. A towel had been wedged under the cistern to stop a leak; the shower curtain was mouldy as was the grout between the tiles; there was a hole that had previously been blocked with some wood,which had now rotted, and at night light from downstairs could be seen through it; the door was cracked across the base; the flooring was paint splattered and ancient; the radiator had gone rusty and best of all when the shower was turned on we had the staff knocking on the door to say water was coming through the ceiling downstairs.
The food made 'greasy spoons' look tempting, as far as we could determine, the only things cooked on the premises were toast (always cold and rubbery), eggs and kippers; everything else must have been cooked elsewhere(probably in a factory) and just heated up in the hotel kitchens.
In the face of all of this the staff were to be admired, they were helpful and pleasant throughout.
When we returned home, amongst the post was the latest WA Shearings brochure, you can imagine where it went !!!!

  • Liked — Close to the Loch
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2007

We have just arrived back from 4 day break at the tarbet hotel.
Yes the decor in the hotel could do with a bit off attention but nothing to drastic, the creaking floor boards gave this listed building alot of character, and the staff were perfect in every way .they could not do enough for you . food we could not fault great choice always something on for veggies all seemed home cooked and presented to high standard, dining room staff were exellent no waiting at all.
Entertainment was very good singer, comediene,
the bedrooms wre very clean and neat, Once again a few repairs would go along way. there was scafolding up blocking our views to the loch which we had paid extra for, but on speaking to the management this was repaid without any delay or hostilities.
Overall we all found in our group that apart from abit of repairs and decorating this hotel was great and would certainly go back there.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2007

My husband and I booked a 3 night weekend stay at the Tarbet Hotel in August 2007. I think it can only be booked through Shearings.
The hotel was easy to find and the drive up was scenic and enjoyable. The hotel itself looks impressive from the outside, and has a great lochside view.
The inside of the hotel is very dated, although I think this is common with most Shearings hotels. I found the hotel to be clean, although the use of air freshener spray was pretty overpowering at times. The bathroom looked like it had been recently changed - simple white suite throughout (shower rubbish - stuck to having big bubble baths instead).
There is decent choice of meals on the menu each day, although the meals are a bit school dinnerish. We were never asked if we wanted drinks (they need to send someone through from the bar to get your order if you ask), so we just brought water down with us each evening. This saved us a fortune in alchohol and we just went back to our room after dinner and drank the wine we had brought with us. (Im sounding like a right cheapskate, amn't I!?)
I cant rate the entertainment as we didnt stay for it.
Dont go expecting a view of the loch, we were facing onto the main road (quite noisey) and I think a lot of the other rooms were facing on to car park etc.
My husband and I did enjoy our stay, but we are easy pleased and can make our own entertainment, but if you like your hotels to be swanky you may want to book somewhere else.

  • Liked — Location and relaxing atmosphere.
  • Disliked — The smell.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Lancs
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2007

We stayed here as it was the only hotel we could get into for the Golf week at Loch Lomomd.
The setting was lovely and the hotel did look Ok from the front.
However, it is such a shame that Shearings do not spend some money on re-furbishing this hotel. it could be the jewel in their crown. Or failing this just spend a few pounds screwing down the floorboards!!
We had a loch view room (221) which was very shabby and the noise from the staff quarters above at 1am was so bad that my husband went down to complain and we moved rooms the next morning.
I feel so sorry for the reception staff here as they do their very best to deal with complaints that are out of their control and are very sympathetic, but I have the feeling that they are fed up with the same complaints week in week out.
We have stayed in Shearings hotels before they are all pretty much the same standard but the Tarbet Hotel is really scruffy.
Food was OK and service was good. Shearings please do your employees a favour and upgrade your hotels to something approaching decent I am sure people would pay a little extra for a bit of luxury, I would!

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — the rooms are very scruffy
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2007

We seen advert for self-drive weekend break, Whitby fully booked, Loch Lomond second choice. Weather not too bad. Beautiful setting. Stayed in Rooms 120 & 121, great big size, although some updating & refurbishment could be done. Staff pleasant & attentive. Entertainement, well a wee bit to be desired. Food plenty good choices (I can be a fussy eater!). A superior old building, but Shearings please give it some TLC. Paid £60 per person, 2 nights dinner, bed & Breakfast, VALUE. Clean & tidy rooms. In fact all over. Slight smell of urine outside downstairs loos. Would stay again.

  • Liked — Value for money all round
  • Disliked — Needs some TLC, although Shearings are refurbishing it bit by bit
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2007

I am amazed that there are any posiive reviews of this place. I regularly post reviews on Tripadvisor but have never given a negative review until now. I have stayed in plenty of budget hotels and do not have especially high standards.
The location is fabulous and the front of the hotel looks outstanding. The staff were admirable in the circumstances too. Our room had clearly not been decorated for some time as there were outline stains on the walls where pictures had been taken down. There was a strange smell and very little light coming through a cobweb covered window. After a poor dining experience on the first night, I opted for the safe option of "selection of cheeses from the chef's larder" which was a plate of grated orange cheese. We considered checking out early but decided against it. When we did leave, intending to leave a complaint at the reception, another couple was checking out early so we handed in our key and left. I would advise no one to stay here.

  • Liked — Close to Loch Lomond
  • Disliked — The food
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Tarbet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tarbet Hotel

Address: Main Street, Tarbet, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tarbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within one of Scotland’s largest national parks, the Tarbet has had a rich history as a resting place for travellers for over 400 years. The present building dates back 250 years and was built in the Baronial style. The exterior has recently been redecorated and the hotel presents an impressive first impression even today. There are a total of 69 rooms arranged over two floors, some of which offer spectacular views. The surrounding scenery is second to none, as the hotel looks out over Loch Lomond and Ben Lomond from its location on the banks of the Loch itself. Admire the beautifully decorated restaurant where some tables overlook the loch and take advantage of the spacious entertainment lounge with bar. The Tarbet also has the benefit of a comfortable residents’ lounge with board games and books to help you relax and unwind. The perfect end to a great day’s sightseeing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Tarbet Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.