We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and a lovely view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pier Tea Room

The Pier Tea Room
The Pier, Stronachlachar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3TY, Scotland
01877 386 374
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Café
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good food and a lovely view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We ate as a group of 6 adults and 2 kids twice on one weekend as we were staying very close by and found the Pier to be a brilliant spot.

The food was freshly made and great quality and the staff were friendly and accommodating to our various requests. The view across the loch is stunning and there is little to fault. I would say the milkshake was pretty second rate (I really wanted it to be made with ice cream and a blended but sadly it was probably just Nesquick and milk!) but it didn’t detract from the experience. The coffee and cakes were brilliant and huge!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    23
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly, gorgeous lunch, lochside view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch and found a welcome as warm as the day was cold! Delicious home made soup and a mouth watering grilled chicken and red pepper on light as a feather ciabatta - good deal on soup and half sandwich which was stuffed to the gunnels ! - nice glass of house white, crisp & dry, and good coffee and home baking for the other half. Lovely peaceful view from conservatory and warm welcome and service. Definitely worth a visit. I suspect in season it would be much busier tho!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Chicken Sandwich I've Ever Paid For”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I popped in for a sandwich and a coffee and, boy, was it worth it!

My chicken sandwich was served in a soft, warm ciabatta with moist chunks of chicken, mayonnaise, freshly grilled red peppers and enough rocket to keep anyone from Italy happy. It was served with a lovely small salad. Without a doubt, the best chicken sandwich I have ever paid for. It's worth driving all the way just for this food. The coffee was lovely and the service was great. I sat in the conservatory, overlooking the loch. An amazing view. The sandwich and the coffee was about 9.25. Worth every penny. After your food you can hire a motor boat and putter around Loch Katrine. The journey there is wonderful too as you get to drive through some pretty countryside, past lochs, via some small villages. A great way to spend the day.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stunning location, surprisingly good food and coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed in Stronachlachar for a week of peace tranquility and down time. We had several visits to the cafe choosing the cosy seats by a roaring fire or the beauty of Loch Katrine from the conservatory. The coffee is perfect, the cakes are amazing especially the carrot cake and the service is friendly helpful and professional.
We have also been here on a day trip from Glasgow for a walk along the lochside before or after visiting the cafe.
Many thanks for enhancing our stay.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“What a Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We came across The Pier Tea Room by accident while out for a Sunday drive getting lost around the lochs in the Trossachs area. What a beautiful setting, the lady serving was polite and cheerful. We had a bowl of soup each with some nice bread and butter. Perfect for a crisp Sunday afternoon. The menu looked good as did the food served to other tables. We will be back in the summer for a longer rake about.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pier Tea Room also viewed

Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Stronachlachar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Pier Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pier Tea Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.