We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pier Tea Room

The Pier Tea Room
The Pier, Stronachlachar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3TY, Scotland
01877 386 374
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Café
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Will be back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Visited Stronachlachar for the 1st time in 20 years. Was happy to see the Pier Cafe . We had some coffee and cake, went down a treat. Sat on the comfy couches beside a nice woodburner as a bit cool outside. The conservatory looked amazing with fantastic views. Food looked good. Staff were nice. Will go back in the nicer weather.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    23
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect mid cycle pit stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

As always a fabulous and friendly welcome! Lovely, helpful staff. Enjoyed great lunch and views..... Coffee cake best ever! This is on our regular cycle route and never fails to please.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly, Iowa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Loch Katrine Views, Very Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Took a long drive to see Loch Katrine, the inspiration for Sir Scott's Lady of the Lake poem. Near the end of the road, it seemed, we happened upon this fine restauraunt. Got a window table, and enjoyed a leisurely lunch (tasty, too) with wine. Great "romantische" kind of place. Food is made from scratch, well. Worth stopping here...even worth the long drive, as the Loch is excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“It's The Pier Cafe!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Don't be fooled by Tripadvisor! The Café and Tea Room are one and the same and very good in terms of food, value, service and views. We had taken the 'Sir Walter Scott' up the loch earlier in the week and had been disappointed not to have time to disembark for a wee bite. Since this would cut into the ship's takings, I suppose this is understandable.

We like to make the trip up to Inversnaid, so this gave us the opportunity to call in at the Pier Café. What can I say: freshly prepared, tasty 'bistro' food served with a smile. We sat in the conservatory area looking across the loch for spectacular views. One point: we visited on a sunny day (yes, I know they're rare in the Highlands!) and found ourselves getting pretty hot as we ate. Blinds or some form of awning would be handy.

While making our way back to Aberfoyle, we stopped at the 'Wee Blether' in Kinlochard and the owner also commented warmly on the Pier Café. It's worth the trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Such a shame”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Having come over on the Sir Walter Scott and had a walk we left ourselves an hour to have lunch at this beautifully positioned and lovely looking cafe. On putting in my order I was told that it could take some time because a lot of people had just come in but half an hour later I still had not been served. On going in to enquire I was told that the check had not even gone through to the kitchen. This was because a new young member of staff was on which I did believe but there were a lot of staff there and the check was sitting on the counter with the top copy on. Surely someone should have been supervising and taking note. We were not charged for the drinks we had and did receive and apology but it was just dissapointing. Having been really looking forward to having lunch there I decided not to bother since we were by then short of time. The food which was coming out did look good and I would go back and try it again but maybe a bit of joined up thinking is needed with respect to staff training. Also ladies toilets let it down a bit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pier Tea Room also viewed

Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Stronachlachar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Pier Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pier Tea Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.