We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most appalling service in the pub” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Rowardennan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Rowardennan Hotel to your Saves list
The Rowardennan Hotel
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   West Highland Way, Rowardennan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0AR, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Rowardennan B&B and Inns
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Most appalling service in the pub”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I did not stay at the hotel, we were in Lomond Lodge nearby, however our experience of the pub was bad. On the Saturday night of our arrival we tried to go in for a drink.... we ended up walking out still thirsty about 25 minutes later. We stood at the bar for a loooooong time being quite thoroughly ignored by all of the staff. There was not a lot of serving going on, or any eye contact. We vowed not to go back in. However, needs must and we ended up back there to ask a favour a few days later. After another long wait (despite the pub being virtually empty) we spoke to a man in late-30s who despite helping us out (for a fee) was abrupt and rude.
If you are looking for a cosy pub for a drink or food don't bother with this place. they have attempted to modernise the interior (badly), the beer selection looked disappointing, and the service is horrendous.
Head to the Oak Tree Inn further down in Balmaha and enjoy an open fire, lovely staff and delicious cullen skink with a pint of local cider.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RowardennanHotel, General Manager at The Rowardennan Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
This is not our usual standard of service and we are most concerned by your comments. We would be obliged if you would contact the Bar manager - on 01360 870 273 to discuss your comments directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    138
    81
    40
    44
See reviews for
55
175
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stopped at Hotel for much needed plate of soup while walking West Highland Way.Food was excellent homemade and my dog was also made welcome in the bar.Staff very friendly and big thank you to the ferry man for his home made tiffin cake(chocolate bar with biscuit and fruit soaked in a secret ingredient)He knew the rough walking I had ahead of me.All the establishments cater for the walkers on the west highland way and i,m happy to say this hotel does it well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

A very comfortable and homely hotel after a long day's walk along Loch Lomond. Mostly pleasanty decorated. Some areas of the hotel appear to be used only atr certain times (eg breakfast room only for breakfast and small but cosy bar). This gave something of an impression of being a bigger place than its business required of it. That said, this was nothing whcih detracted from the comfort of the hotel.

Large room was clean and freshly decorated. So was the very stylish bathroom. We even had a small walk in drying room/ dressing/ wardrobe area attached to the room. Breakfast was fantastic - you couldn't possibly want for anything else. Evening dinner was in the long bar. This was a little cold despite the welcoming open fire. Dinner was quick and effective, with orders taken by the characterful barman.

My only ciriticism (and a small one at that) is that we had to collect our bags from the shed in the car park (after we had taken off our boots!) No really big issue, but after a day's walking, what a great touch it would have been to be told that our bags had been taken up to our room. That would have been real service.

Overall a great and confortable place to stay. Book a room!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I didn't actually spend the night at this hotel. I had booked in at the SYHA hostel 1km down the road, a decision I quickly regretted. The girl at the hostel was rude, the room was ruder and I was paying far too much for what I was getting. There was no wifi and I needed to be able to check my next booking, so I went back to the hotel to ask if I could use theirs. The young man in reception was pleasant, helpful, warm. He was happy to let me use their wifi, despite the fact that I wasn't a guest. When I asked if they had any singles for the night he said they were full up, but they'd let me know if there were any cancellations. i was glad to pass some time in the restaurant where the food was good and the service was friendly. In the end they didn't have any single rooms for the night, but they were willing to put me a two-bedded bunkhouse on my own for half the price I was paying for my single at the hostel and in a far better bed. Unfortunately the hostel wouldn't let me out of my booking, so I spent my whole evening at the hotel bar and only went back to the hostel to sleep. Technically I didn't stay the night at The Rowardennan Hotel, but I tried!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stopped here after a decent day of walking, and found it to be just what we needed. The rooms were done to a modern spec, and the facilities in the rooms were great. The communal areas look like they could do with a refurbishment, but it's by no means dull or grotty.

The bar is decent enough, with friendly service, and food is also good. It has wifi, which is a rarity on the West Highland Way, and overall it's a good place to stay for walkers needing a bit of rest.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish Bay, WI
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Day Two of the West Highland Way found me lodging here and it was great! They even had a "Drying Room" for my sodden clothing. My room had a bathroom in a separate room, but it was designated for my use only. That was fine. The bar had a good menu and the breakfast the next day was excellent!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Day 2 on the WHW the hotel was a welcome sight, rooms good, food in the bar was decent very clean, was there on the same night as the italian wedding so very busy but service did not suffer because of it, frienldy staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rowardennan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rowardennan Hotel

Address: West Highland Way, Rowardennan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0AR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Rowardennan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Rowardennan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rowardennan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Rowardennan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rowardennan Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rowardennan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.