We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem, well worth a visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ben Lomond Bunkhouse at Ardess Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rowardennan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ben Lomond Bunkhouse at Ardess Lodge
Save
You added Ben Lomond Bunkhouse at Ardess Lodge to your Saves list
Rowardennan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0AR, Scotland (Formerly Ardess Lodge & Bunkhouse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hidden gem, well worth a visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I booked beds in the bunkhouse for myself, sister in law and close friend for one night before going up Ben Lomond . It was a last min decision and only found it as a result of a google search of hostels and spotted it several pages in.
Amazingly, it was empty even though it was Good Friday , so Frazer the ranger got our booking put through and we rolled up early afternoon. Plenty of parking at the lodge, away from the car park and off the main west highland way.

It is a property owned by the National Trust for Scotland and we were greeted by a ranger called Alasdair, top bloke. Showed us around the lodge, which was surprisingly spacious. Downstairs off the entrance hall is a commercial sized, well equipped kitchen with several appliances and all the pots, pans and devices any budding chef would need. Also a good sized dining area with a table to seat at least 10.
Across the hall is the lounge, wow. Huge space with one wall all windows . Lots of sofas, recliner, tables ect and lots of books, boardgames and TV. In the corner is an amazing wood burning stove and a good supply of kindling and wood. Very easy instructions to use and we lit it at night with no bother at all.

Upstairs there are two main bedrooms. We had a 4 bed room, 2 sets of bunkbeds and plenty of room. Surprised how large the room was. Each bed had mattress comforters, a duvet and pillow. There is a linen cupboard in hall and you make your own bed, 100% cotton too I have to add! A towel would rush you a meagre £1.00 to cover costs of laundry and again, good quality thick cotton. There is another very large 6 bed room ( we had a nosy!) and it is massive! They could easily fit more beds in both rooms, but I love that they haven't . There is also a large showeroom/ toilet and a huge bathroom/showeroom/toilet. Also a single toilet downstairs .

Everything was immaculate, superclean.

After unpacking we met Frazer, the other ranger, and his super cute and friendly dog Pepe. These guys are so welcoming and gave us lots of tips and brochures on a hidden history trail, even showing us an arrowhead from the Bronze Age. Frazer stays on site in a room and kitchen off the main hallway, so reassuring to know if help needed it was there. He had chat and sat with us when we cooked dinner, really nice guy.

We had the whole place to ourselves , and for £20 a bed I can't believe it's not booked out every night. All money generated goes to the upkeep of the mountain, so you feel you are actually doing good staying here, its non profit. They take solo, groups, family and you can even book out the whole lodge. There is a ' sit ooterie' with hammock, proper fire pit and seating too for BBQ if you fancy it. We loved it and can't recommend it enough. We plan to visit again soon with a larger group and I plan on taking my kids there in next month or so.

Brilliant place made all the better by Alasdair, Frazer and Pepe :)

Room Tip: Only to I would give is BOOK IT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLomondBunkhouse, Manager at Ben Lomond Bunkhouse at Ardess Lodge, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Great to meet you Lainey and glad you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to welcoming yourself and other family members back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

One of my friends found this place on a Google search 2 days before our trip. We only needed accommodation for one night at short-notice, because everywhere was booked up for Easter. It is a little gem, and a bargain at £20 per person! Couldn't believe we were the only ones staying on such a busy weekend. Great modern property, 2 rooms, one sleeps 4 and one 6. Shower rooms spacious, bedrooms good-sized and comfortable, linen supplied. Bath towels can be hired for £1. The rangers were very helpful, Alistair welcomed us on our arrival on Good Friday. The other ranger, Fraser was also very friendly, introduced himself and lovely dog Pepe, and gave lots of advice about the area. We were climbing Ben Lomond the next day, and his advice was helpful. Property has a big modern kitchen, with plenty of space to eat and cook, provided you bring your own food. Lounge also very comfortable, and had a cosy wood-burning stove. We had a great night's stay to prepare us for our hill climb the next day. Highly recommend and would come back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLomondBunkhouse, Manager at Ben Lomond Bunkhouse at Ardess Lodge, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope the climb up Ben Lomond went OK!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

I had a good time here, the house is well maintained and the rangers were very polite bad good to chat to, one thing I would recommend is going a walk up the hills and looking at the trailer,

The rooms were large what is a bonus and the kitchen was well equipped

One tip I would recommend is to sleep with your windows open in the big room

Thanks to alistar and the rangers at lock lomand

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

A very comfortable and well equipped lodge, right along the West Highland Way in Rowardennan. They have two bunk rooms (6 and 4 persons) and both are kept very clean. Also, they have two spacious bathrooms which offer a welcome shower after a long day's walk. The staff are very friendly and helpful, offering us tips on getting around to various towns around Loch Lomond.
Bring your own food and you have a fully equipped kitchen for cooking it, but there is no food available at the lodge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brechin, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Excellent find. Perfect location. Very comfortable, spacious, well equipped and very clean.
Directly below Ben Lomond, so great place to start second day, after a 2 minute walk to and reasonable cooked breakfast at Rowardennan YH, by walking up Ben Lomond before pushing on to Inversnaid Bunkhouse.

Room Tip: Both rooms equally as good - one with 4 bunkbeds, the other with 3. Two bathroooms on the first floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ben Lomond Bunkhouse at Ardess Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Lomond Bunkhouse at Ardess Lodge

Address: Rowardennan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0AR, Scotland (Formerly Ardess Lodge & Bunkhouse)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Rowardennan
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Rowardennan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ben Lomond Bunkhouse, at Ardess Lodge, Rowardennan is ideal for groups of up to 10 looking for affordable & quiet accommodation. It sits at the base of Ben Lomond, only 50m from the West Highland Way, and 10 minutes walk north of the Rowardennan hotel and car park. There is a spacious lounge, large well equipped kitchen, drying facilities, & secure area for bag drop off. Good sized bunkrooms; one sleeping 6, the other 4. Two bathrooms, both with showers, & one with bath. Cost £20pp inc of bed linen and tea and coffee. Ben Lomond Bunkhouse may be guaranteed for private use for £200 pn.All income from the bunkhouse goes to support the conservation work at Ben Lomond managed by rangers and volunteers of the National Trust for Scotland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ben Lomond Bunkhouse At Ardess Lodge Rowardennan, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben Lomond Bunkhouse at Ardess Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.