We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ardencaple Hotel

Ardencaple Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ardencaple Hotel to your Saves list
Ardencaple Hotel
49 Gareloch Road | Rhu, Rhu, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 8LA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Rhu B&B and Inns
Nottingham
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel has fantastic views from the front and was a pleasant treat to watch the boats and windsurfers from the comfort of my room.

The room was fairly small for a double but as a loan occupant I found it cozy. The room was clean and well presented. The shower was however very cozy and felt a little cramped.

Two of us ate in the bar and found the food to be good value. I had the mega cod and it was very tasty. Service on the bar was a little slow but for food they were attentive. There was a function on in the other room so to be fair they were very busy.

Overall a nice little hotel with friendly staff.

Room Tip: The front of the building looks onto a very busy road so traffic noise could be an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Ardencaple Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear 1Sheermadness,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review, we are pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with and have shared your feedback with our management team.

Regards
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    33
    16
    4
    6
See reviews for
26
24
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We have travelled all over Scotland at this stage and have seen the good bad and ugly. This place is somwhere in between, lets say grand for the price!. We forked out alot in March so this time we were looking for cheap and cheerful.This weekend we were looking for accomodation in Loch Lomond and this was the nearest we could find. The place is welcoming, friendly, clean with a lovely view. The rooms are as basic as can be but it was fine and functional. Bathroom is verrry old fashioned with small shower and old style curtains. We stayed for 2 nights and it did the job, just. We had food when we arrived- American style food in a tradtional pub setting, strange combo but food was decnet enough for us. We missed breakfast both mornings so cant comment. A decent place, simple and basic- dont go if you are looking for luxury (or romance, as the walls are paper thin and everything can be heard!)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

2nd time we have called here in the last week or so to sample their bar lunches and each time food and service have been very good. Although it was a holiday weekend and the place was very busy we were attended to promptly and the meals were excellent quality and value. Seems to be a popular place for groups with young families and most of the people we spoke to were regular visitors. Friendly staff. We will be back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Overall we had a great time at the hotel whilst visiting Scotland. The staff were always welcoming and attended our every need. A big thanks goes out to all the bar and waiter staff for great service especially Cheryl always a cheerful face. One down side to our visit is that when visiting Scotland and staying in a a local hotel you would expect to have the opportunity to eat and drink the Scottish way IE: Good quality Scottish whiskys, haggis, black pudding and my old fav potato scone. Apart from that an overall good experience.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The hotel has had some recent refurbishment and my room was clean and functional. The staff make you feel very welcome and as I had arrived after evening dinner service in the pub had finished, they let me eat my chip supper in the bar.

My room had no bath but a lovely big shower and if you wait long enough you do get lots of hot water. Room had a single bed (booked through my work as a single I guess) which whilst reasonably comfortable was too small for me (a 17st bloke). Tea and coffee facilities supplied and I had a side facing room away from road so was not noisy at all. Curtain did block quite a lot of light but some does escape at the sides to wake you as the sun rises.

English Breakfast was standard fair although I personally would have liked 2 sausages as they were quite small. Unlike other posts I had no problems with my radiator and whilst not my first choice of hotel if I was paying, I would happily stay again. On a par with a good Travelodge.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Ardencaple Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear gbevans66,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and found that the recent refurbishment appealing.

We hope to you see you again in the future.

Regards
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australiia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We enjoyed this basic little hotel with wonderful views of the loch. Staff friendly, meals very well priced and our new favourite "Irn Bru" on tap. Lovely walk into town. You know we have stayed in 5 star but this hotel brings back warm memories.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

After a very dissappointing stay at a hotel in Dumfries (Urr Valley). We were thrilled to receive a warm welcome from the staff at the Ardencaple. The family room was on the ground floor at the back (230). It was clean, a bit cramped with a double and two singles, but very comfortable beds, large bathroom and plenty of tea/coffee makings. All the staff were bright, attentive and couldn't do enough to help (even to reserving a table at a local chinese restaurant). The bar/restaurant was always full (with locals and holidaymakers), service was speedy and food was standard pub fare, but good portions and value for money. We paid almost exactly the same amount for two nights at the Ardencaple as we had done for one night at the terrible Urr Valley hotel in Castle Douglas...what a difference! Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Room 230 on ground floor good for families...relatively quiet from traffic noise but some noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Ardencaple Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Lyn K,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay and hope o see you again in the future.

Regards
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ardencaple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardencaple Hotel

Address: 49 Gareloch Road | Rhu, Rhu, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 8LA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Helensburgh > Rhu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rhu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Ardencaple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ardencaple Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.