We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous day out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nick Nairn Cook School

Nick Nairn Cook School
Port of Menteith, Port of Menteith, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3JZ, Scotland
01877 389 900
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Educational Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Cooking school run by Scottish celebrity chef.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

As 1 of 24 ladies who attended the cook school recently , I would just like to say how fantastic it was . We had a wonderful day , it was relaxed and informal . We made our own 3 course meal after lots of wonderful demonstrations and tips from John and Justin our 2 fantastic chefs . They managed to keep us on the right cooking track and also kept us laughing too .
The wine was fab too !
A thoroughly wonderful day !

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    5
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fun, informal and informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Had a fantastic day out - received as a birthday present. Not nearly as intimdating as you might think, they cater for all levels of cooking ability and the chefs are helpful, informative and entertaining.
We cooked a full three course meal (scallops, fillet steak and a chocolate cake - the "New Scottish Cookery" class), which you then eat in the dining room (wine is provided, included in the price of the course).
They demonstrate each step of the way, and are on-hand to help out when you are let loose in your kitchen workstation. The course lasted from 10:00 to about 17:00.
There is a premium on the price of the course if you want to be taught by Nick Nairn, but the other chefs are just as brilliant (we had Tristan Campbell, who was engaging and funny as well as being a very good tutor).
Highly recommended for foodies of any level of cooking ability. Best of all, they do all the washing up for you!!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Great Day Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I've been to a few of the Cook School courses and have always had a fantastic experience. The courses are fun and informative and you get to eat the fruits of your labour over a nice glass of wine. Great fun!!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great place to learn.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Went here for the bank holiday Monday for the Spanish course. Have previously done Thai and italian. I live coming here the tutors teach you so many tips and tricks and the best part is you get to eat what you've made and take a doggy bag home

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A fantastic way to spend the day!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I cannot say enough how much my mum and I enjoyed our day at the cook school. I came away having learnt lots of new cooking skills and having had great fun too. The format is that they demonstrate various stages of the cooking, then you go off to your work station and do your own. We did a three course meal which we ate as part of the day's experience. If you enjoy a glass of wine or too, there is plenty to be had with your meal so I would recommend that you arrange to be dropped off and picked up. We stayed at the Dunblane Double Trees Hotel and they provided a taxi service for us. I would love to go back to the cook school and would thoroughly recommend whether you are a serious cook or not.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nick Nairn Cook School also viewed

Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
 

Been to Nick Nairn Cook School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nick Nairn Cook School, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Nick Nairn Cook School to your Saves list