We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely way to spend an hour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Rednock Trekking in the Trossachs

Castle Rednock Trekking in the Trossachs
Port of Menteith, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3LD, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Tours, Cultural
Attraction details
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“lovely way to spend an hour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I booked an hour's pony trekking for myself, 8year old daughter and husband as a birthday treat, after reading good reviews, and receiving a very quick response to my initial email contact.

My daughter and I have been taking riding lessons for a few months, but only in an enclosed arena, so we were looking forward to riding out of doors. My husband has never ridden before.

My daughter was led as she had been a wee bit nervous about the size of pony she might be given, in relation to the pony she currently rides. We had a short spell in an outdoor arena, which was a good way for the non-riders to get used to being on horseback, before heading out on the trek.

The horses and ponies were all lovely, calm and very easy to handle. The more experienced riders were able to have a canter for a few minutes, and as we waited, one of the staff took photos for us with our camera. Towards the end of the trek we were asked if we wanted to trot, and we did this for a few minutes as we returned to the centre.

The trek was well staffed, and the leader and his colleagues were attentive and helpful. It is only an hour's drive away from home, and wouldn't hesitate to return. But as my husband's first experience on horseback hasn't put him off another attempt, we may try other trekking centres throughout Scotland as we do like to explore.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    2
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Segway Trekking - Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Four adults who had never experienced Segways took the plunge!! The tutor was very patient and we had the most amazing time. EXCELLENT value for money.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loch Lomond Scotland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“consistently good trekking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I have my own horse but needed to take friends horse riding, so after enquiring locally decided to try Castle Rednock. I have taken the same friend 3 times over the past 4 years and found the staff very sensible and the horses very willing. I do tend to be critical of riding establishments and would recommend this one for a trek, for all levels.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great activity centre in beautiful Scotland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011 via mobile

We visited here as a group of girls on a weekend away in the countryside. We did the horse trekking (2 of us ride well whilst the other girl was a total beginner) and we all had a brilliant time.

Also tried the segways which was brilliant! Great fun and definitely something we'd all do again.

Worth a trip if you're in the trossachs area, really knowledgeable and friendly staff too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Glorious scenery, and great horse riding for beginners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We visited Castle Rednock farm in July, for an hour long pony trek. My boys (9 and 8) had never ridden before, and they were given a leader each, and the opportunity to take the reins once they were comfortable. Towards the end we all even got the chance to trot for a minute or so.

The pony trek was very well organized, and through lovely Scottish hills, with glorious vistas out over the Trossachs. A lovely thing to do if you are in the area.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Rednock Trekking in the Trossachs also viewed

Dalmally, Argyll and Bute
 
Balmaha, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
 

Been to Castle Rednock Trekking in the Trossachs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Rednock Trekking in the Trossachs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.