We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous setting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Lake of Menteith Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Lake of Menteith Hotel to your Saves list
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Port of Menteith, Port of Menteith, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3RA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Tring
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Hotel set in a beautiful,serene location. Very friendly staff. Fairly compact room for the first night. Would not want to stay any longer than one night as there was very little room for any luggage. Moved the second night to Ince which was at the end of a corridor - nice and quiet with a fantastic view of the Lake. However the mattress was appalling, old and lumpy, and I awoke the next morning with a very sore back. The manageress dealt with the problem very efficiently and moved us upstairs to yet another room.

We went to one of their wine nights on the Friday and the food and wine were excellent and the food,overall, was very good. However they did not tell us when we booked that there was a wedding taking place on the Sunday. The hotel is not large and the wedding took over the whole of the downstairs including the bar. We wanted tea in the afternoon when we returned from a walk and everywhere was full of wedding guests. Not really good enough.

However would certainly go back but would first ascertain the state of the mattress on our bed and whether any weddings are planned.

Room Tip: Ask for a Ground floor lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at The Lake of Menteith Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for joining us over that weekend and pleased that overall you enjoyed your experience and we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back. I am sorry you had to change rooms but also pleased you found our staff so receptive. They are great listeners and will do anything they can to please. Our beds are changed on a regular basis and occasionally we find where one person finds a bed too soft andother finds it too firm and indeed the couple that followed you in Inchmahome commented to my wife that it was the most comfortable bed they had slept in away from home, it can be a very personal thing. I am sorry you found the wedding too intrusive on Sunday and is it was only a lunch party we did not think it necissary to warn those staying overnight as residents are usually out of the hotel at lunch time and they were only using the dining room over that lunch period, leaving the bar for other lunch guests. Again our apologies and thanks, it was Room 2 you enjoyed out of the three your experienced so please ask for that in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    110
    40
    10
    12
See reviews for
39
284
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toulon, France
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
272 helpful votes 272 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

First, let me praise Jean, Marilyn, Sarah, James and Stephen - along with all the other superlative staff members who made our very recent 2 night stay a memorable one.

The hotel is in an idyllic location, spitting distance from both Edinburgh and Glasgow; we completed the jog up from our Scottish home in less than an hour; far from the bustle of Glasgow's west end. The position of the hotel on the shores of Scotland's only lake - stunning.

Warmly welcomed by Stephen (reservation taken by the incredibly dapper James) we were shown to Room 2 on the upstairs of the property. Nicely appointed with a little dressing area up one stair and a bathroom which was the size of a Tokyo hotel room I stayed in a little while back!
And with Tunnocks tea cakes and caramel waifers on the hospitality tray, my tummy has expanded yet again :) The view out the window - towards the ruins of the priory on the island - words cannot describe.

Sitting outside under cloudless skies, the complimentary scones, jam, cream and delicious coffee were just the ticket as the sun shone - to such an extent I got a tan.

To dinner then. Very well cooked, good value. The shoulder of lamb and dauphinoise potatoes - fantastic. The risotto, steak special, mussels and fish-cake all of which we sampled on our two days - equally good.

Breakfast - excellent. The scrambled eggs are creamy, delicious and with the addition of smoked salmon, a luxurious start to the day.

The downside? Nothing to do with hotel or the brilliant service we received, but some of the other guests whose attitude to some of the young staff, made me see red. What happened to respect? (Shaking head at the moment). And the shouting into mobile phones in the lovely lounge. Or how about yelling at staff like they were lackies? C'mon now. If you read this Sarah - the fantastic server at dinner on our second night - don't pay any attention to what THAT guest said. Offensive is not the word...

Have to say, the fact that this hotel is so close to our Glasgow home, less so from our French home(!), means we intend to be regular visitors for the stunning scenery (go look at the stars on cloudless nights - jaw dropping), the lovely rooms, brill food and of course, the amazing staff. The fact Jean found my jokes to be funny, is a miracle in itself.

See you soon - and thanks for such a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at The Lake of Menteith Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Many thanks for your kind words and generous comments. Staff also stay at The Lake and they join me in thanking you. I reply to these reviews as much for them as for myself and future customers and your comments are inspiring. Forgive the pun, but the most important ingredient in our business after the customer is our staff. We are fortunate that we have a fabulous team of staff most of whom have been with us for the ten years we have had the Lake Hotel. Some have spent time in our USA business honing their customer service skills. We look forward to welcoming back again.
Regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had a two night stay at this hotel and found the staff very helpful and friendly. The food and service were excellent and the views over the lake are stunning. The only problem we had was the breakfast on the final day was cold and the eggs were a bit hard, but the breakfast on our first day there was amazing. We are looking forward to returning at some point.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at The Lake of Menteith Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Delighted you enjoyed your experience at The Lake of Menteith Hotel. We are indeed most fortunate to have a fabulous location right on the edge of the lake and we do everything we can to compliment that rather than overpower it. Pleased the food overall was very good and apologies for that breakfast, we are not perfect and can get it wrong occasionally and I do hope the team rectified matters for you.
Regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was a Christmas present from our daughters, bought through "Mighty Deals so I have no idea the cost. The hotel has around 20 bedrooms so feels much more intimate and customer friendly than most of the larger hotels.
The hotel is located at the head of the lake so the views are stunning. On arrival we were met by Jamie who took us on a quick tour of the hotel, showing us where the various facilities were and escorting us to our room. A nice touch this.
We had paid extra to have a lake view room. The room itself was on the small side, though not cramped. There were tea and coffee making facilities and an additional treat of Tunnocks Caramel Log biscuits and chocolate marshmallows which were replaced each day. The beds were probably the most comfortable I've ever encountered in my travels. Bliss!
There is a bar area adjacent to the dining room, though the menus were identical in each. The first night we ate in the bar near to the bright, crackly log fire, ideal for the very cold outdoor temperatures.. On the second night we ventured into the dining area which was equally pleasant - minus the log fire. The menu remained the same over the two nights but there were sufficient choices to satisfy most tastes. Between us we sampled Salmon, a Curry dish and Lamb. All were exceptionally well cooked and beautifully presented., The Sticky Toffee pudding was unexciting but the Rhubarb Crumble fantastic Though the food portions were not large we did not leave the table feeling hungry.
In the afternoon, there are scones and cream available in the lounge and these too were tasty
I must make special mention of the staff, particularly in our case, Rosie and Amy, though every one we encountered was friendly, helpful hard-working and professional: a credit to the hotel.A big thank you to all of them.
As mentioned already the hotel is quite small and intimate and this seemed to carry over to the guests who readily chatted to each other making for a very nice atmosphere. What a change from some of the larger hotels which often appear impersonal and where eye contact with fellow guests can be seen as an achievement.
Was it all wonderful? Of course not! We had the odd thing or two that went wrong but these were rectified very swiftly.
All in all a most enjoyable two day beak, one we'd recommend to anyone and one which we will be repeating in the future..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at The Lake of Menteith Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Many thanks for reviewing our hotel following your stay. Absolutley delighted you had a great break and yes we do have some fantastic staff, many of whom have been with us for some years now. Amy worked for us both in the USA and now at The Lake, wonderful guys doing their best to put the customer first.
Many thanks again and we look forward to your return.
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

I bought a 2 night stay from the 5PM site as a Christmas present for my husband along with a master blending session at the Glengoyne distillery. We stayed on the 9th of February which also coincided with a Ceilidh night. On arrival we were shown round the bar etc prior to us going to our ground floor Classic room. The room was clean with all the things that others have mentioned, the tea tray with Tunnocks goodies etc.

I had booked the restaurant for dinner & the food was lovely apart from a rib eye steak costing 25 pounds. My husband said it was nice but an average cut of meat, we both agreed that we've had better in Glasgow for cheaper.

The breakfast is amazing however we found the service quite poor as we waited 25 minutes to be brought a green tea. The hotel puts on an amazing cream tea during the day which I can highly recommend. On the Sunday night we had the roast beef dinner which was one of the best ever! Afterwards we sat by the roaring fire with a glass of wine.

All in all it was lovely stay but glad we had bought the 5PM deal as I probably wouldn't have paid the normal price. I can also highly recommend the Glengoyne distillery experience.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at The Lake of Menteith Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Many thanks for your review following your visit to The Lake. So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon. With our summer season prices from only £88 per person to include room, full breakfast, afternoon tea, full dinner, in room goodies and tax I would hope our many customers would agree we are really great value.
Best wishes
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just returned form an overnight stay. On arrival we were very pleased to learn that afternoon tea was included in the price. The scones jam and cream were delicious and the views from the Port bar were spectacular. The public areas of the hotel are well thought out and thoughtfully furnished, right down to the provision of binoculors for the more curious among us. We stayed in a classic room located on the ground floor. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. There was a hairdryer provided and an iron. The tea/coffee tray came with a cafetiere, which was a nice touch and the addition of a few tunnocks teacakes and wafers were very welcome. The rooms were quite cold, despite the heating being on but we were able to use an additional bedcover that was stored in the wardrobe which meant that we were cosy enough whilst in bed. The bathroom was rather tired and in need of some updating but it was extremely clean and the array of toiletires provided including sewing kit, cotton buds and nail file again was a nice touch. The staff are all very welcoming and accommodating. We ate in the restaurant and the service was discreet and efficient. The menu, whilst not extensive, featured high quality local produce that had been cooked very well. Breakfast was terrific - again the staff were extremely efficient and friendly with plentiful top ups of tea, toast etc. All in all a great place for a quiet few days enjoying the simple pleasures that the magnificent landscape and wildlife have to offer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at The Lake of Menteith Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and generous comments following your visit to our hotel. You certainly hit on all the key points and small touches we try to maintain in place for our customers. It has been a very cold spell so on some days we have strugged a bit to keep the heat up, apologies for that. Next time just let recepetion know and they will provide an portable heater to suppliment the rooms.
Best wishes and we look forward to seeing you again.
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

one night away with my husband, we really enjoyed this stay, rooms basic but comfortable, all staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome, , evening meal was lovely i had the lamb and highly recommend it
, also afternoon tea the scones and cream were very good, breakfast also lovely , only problem it was very cold outside so we didn't leave the hotel, but sitting at the lovely coal fire drinking wine was a great we treat .

Room Tip: room 11 has a very large bath as well as a shower, not much of a view but you can see a small bit of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at The Lake of Menteith Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel following you visit. Delighted you enjoyed your stay in spite of the terrible weather. Situated as we are at the head of the Lake we are pretty exposed but it is a cosy experience snuggled up by the fire with warming food. We look forward to seeing you in the warmer months.
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lake of Menteith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake of Menteith Hotel

Address: Port of Menteith, Port of Menteith, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3RA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Port of Menteith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port of Menteith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lake of Menteith Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In The Trossachs National Park yet easily accessible, being an hour from Glasgow and Edinburgh and twenty minutes from both Loch Lomond and the ancient City of Stirling. You drive through some remarkable Scottish scenery and upon reaching Port of Menteith, the Lake unfolds before you with the hotel nestling lakeside. Inside you will find a delightful house, much enlarged from the original 19th Century Manse, fully refurbished in recent years. Our inspiration has been the unique Lakeside setting and natural habitat for seasonal and permanent residents such as Osprey, Otter, Geese, Swans our duck family and more. Decorated in the warm and welcoming style of a classic New England waterfront hotel with muted tones and the extensive use of local timber and stone, perfectly complimenting this special waterfront setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Lake of Menteith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Of Menteith Port
Lake Of Menteith Hotel
Hotel Lake Menteith
Lake Menteith Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lake of Menteith Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.