We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovley hotel shame about the food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn on Loch Lomond

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Inn on Loch Lomond to your Saves list
The Inn on Loch Lomond
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8PD, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring 2 night deal
Ranked #7 of 8 Luss B&B and Inns
Dumfries, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“lovley hotel shame about the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My partner and I stayed here recently on an overnight stay. We arrived at the hotel around 5pm and we were warmly welcomed. On going to the room was dissapointed to have no view. We looked onto a roof. The room was small, and so was the bed. The worst part is the squeaky floor boards drove us mad the whole time! The bathroom was huge tho and clean. There was a flat screen but no tv signal whats the point in that? We went down to the bar for some drinks. It was as you expect to be overlly priced. However the staff were so kind and helpfull. We did have to get the attention of the staff alot for to order food/drink. I orderd the balmoral chicken which stated in the menue to have a whiskey sauce. When i asked the waiter what it came with he said peppercorn sauce. Oviously staff unsure of the menue. We had what said on the menue to be satay chicken. When it arrived the chicken was plain it didnt have a satay sauce on it. the sauce that was provided was mayonaise with a sprinkling of seasoning in it. Satay chicken should be peanuts and slighlty spicey but there was nothing like this. When my main food arrived tho it was awefull. The chicken breast was tiny and had no haggis stuffing. The main point of balmoral chicken is the haggis. My potatoes and veg were swimming in a very watery sauce. However when i called the waiter over he offerd to get me something else i choose the fish and chips but again was dissapointed. It was greesey, the lemon wedge supplied was dried out. The tarte sauce was just mayonaise had no flavour. There was no peas or beans with the dish and there was not alot of fish it was all greasey batter. My partner had the ribbs and said they were ok, although he wasnt saying that after having an upset tummy for the rest of the night. We orderd a pudding later on as i hadnt touched my dinner. The sticky toffee pudding had no sauce it was dry becuse of this. we asked for a side portion of chocolate ice cream and either it came from a tub with othere flavourings or they had used the same scoop as it also had strawberry ice cream in it as well. After dinner we retreated up stairs and had an early night as there was no tv channels that we could watch. We were looking forward to breakfast as we had read good reviews about it. Again we were dissappointed. The buffey was laid out at the top of the room. Cuples were sitting right next to them and it was a struggle getting to the buffet having to keep going past them. There was no trays and therefore you had to go back and forth with bowls, ceril milk etc. My partner and i orderd the fry up which stated on it that it was haggis. When our food arrived tho again there was no haggis and instead a very burnt peice of black pudding. When i asked the waiter about the haggis he said there was none. Also there was mushrooms on both our plates which was not stated in the menue and which both me and my partner did not like. Overall i can not fault the staff, or the cleaness of the place. However the food really let this place down. Food not as described on menues, and lacking in presentation and flavouring.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    294
    192
    81
    38
See reviews for
108
580
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Troon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed overnight in September. Our 4th stay. I have always enjoyed staying in the Beach House with the stunning views of the loch & surrounding hills.
I am disappointed that the hotel now does a 'room only' rate instead of 'B&B' so I decided against paying the extra for brekkie & we went elsewhere for filled rolls & coffee.
We had a meal in the restaurant the evening before and in the past if has been great! Sadly this time it was disappointing. The service was very slow and when the food arrived it looked rather like a school dinner & not beautifully presented as it has been before.
I was looking forward to a Sirloin steak but this had been taken off the menu!
One good thing was the entertainment from 'On the Wagon'. Love listening to them & makes your stay worthwhile.
Hope the restaurant reverts to it's great reputation it had in the past and my husband and I will return for a 5th stay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Inn for a one night stay as a Birthday surprise for my wife. The staff at the Inn made sure we were in a spacious modern room with a scenic view and organised a bottle of Prosseco as a surprise for us both. The staff in general are so polite, friendly and very helpful especially the team on Reception.

The food and service at night in the Restaurant was first class and our waiter was good humoured as he served. Food was faultless with my wife declaring that the fish and chips was the best she has had in any restuarant anywhere.

Great stay and recommended to all for a relaxing and scenic visit.

Room Tip: Modern rooms at front of Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

we took our 5yr old grandaughter to the inn and it rained so much but the great room staff food and entertainment made up for it plus we got to use the swimming at sister hotel lodge on loch for free.
What a friendly relaxed place cant wait to go back.
Our wee grandaughter danced to the music for hours.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We made an overnight stay at The Inn at Inverbeg after 8 days of travelling around Scotland, We got a large room with views over the Loch, we had dinner in the restaurant very friendly staff and nice food. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Go for the First floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, GA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We made an overnight stop at the Ben Vane room of the beach house at The Inn at Inverberg It’s a large room with very nice views of the Loch and Ben Lomond.

Dinner was at Mr C’s at the main lodge. Starters were Cullen Skink and Cheese and Onion Tart, mains were Beef and Ale Pie and Sea Bass. We shared 2 scoops of iced cream for dessert.

IIRC we each had several different beers (but I might not be recalling correctly).

Except that we had to replace a burned out bulb with one from another fixture, we have no complaints about the room, the service, the food, the view or the price (89 GBP).

This is a pleasant place for a stopover.

Room Tip: The Ben Vane room at the Beach House is worth the 20 GBP extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Had a great time ,taking in the beer festival and the folk music in the bar.
Really friendly staff and nothing too much trouble. Had a giggle at the amount of folk asking for Full English breakfasts! They were obviously lost.

Once again, thanks

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Loch Lomond

Address: Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8PD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Luss
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Luss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn on Loch Lomond 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary Inn offers beautiful, rustic accommodation, a new wave fish restaurant and stunning lounge. The eat-in/take-away restaurant uses only the best of local produce. An impressive bar stocks quality local real ales and over 200 malts selected from the top whiskey regions in Scotland. Set back on the main A82, three miles north of Luss, the Inn is a perfect place to stop for food, drink or a relaxing overnight stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your The Inn on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Inverbeg Hotel Luss
Inverbeg Inn
Inverbeg Hotel
The Inn On Loch Lomond Luss, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn on Loch Lomond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.