We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge on Loch Lomond

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lodge on Loch Lomond to your Saves list
Lodge on Loch Lomond
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route A82, Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8PA, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter 2 night break
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Luss
northamptonshire, UK
1 review
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

We had booked The Lodge as we were attending a wedding to be held locally. On arrival we found the reception/dining room and bar to be very dated, although the view was breathtaking. Our room was in the main building of the hotel overlooking the loch. The bathroom looked as though it had recently been updated and had a separate shower and very large bath and was decorated to a high standard - although the very modern toilet didn't seem to have the matching toilet seat which tended to slide a little! However, the actual room was not in keeping with the bathroom. Only a double bed was provided whereas I would have expected king/queen bed as provided by most hotels. The wardrobe was non existent and the room had a very outdated mural across the length of one wall showing the view of the loch which was a shame as the real thing was out the window! The room looked dated mainly due to the fact that it was totally clad in wood which might be obvious given the name of the Hotel, but still it was too overpowering.

We went into the bar for pre dinner drinks where I asked for a glass of chardonnay. This unfortunately was served warm and was returned, but alas the second one came at the same temperature. On querying this with the very young and unknowledgable waiter he said that maybe the fridge had broken but he could proivde a different wine from a different fridge if I wanted. We found the food to be excellent and very well presented. Overall the more mature waiting staff were very good but the younger staff seemed to need some guidance, this was borne out when we were not charged for the bottle of wine ordered.

As previous guests have mentioned, it is beneficial to order fresh eggs from the fresh to order menu and then items such as bacon, tomatoes etc., from the hot buffet as the scrambled eggs on the buffet table were totally unrecognisable as same.

On checking out we did have a query with the price charged for food. We had been lead to beleive (and I have checked on their web site since) that the price was £29.95 for 3 courses and items were not priced individually so therefore you felt you had to have 3 courses to get your monies worth. This is not actually the case as the different courses were itemised on the bill. They also charge £1.95 extra if you have cheese which meant my Husband paid the £6.50 allowable for pudding plus the extra £1.95 = £8.45 for a few oatcakes and approx 3 small peices of cheese! The receptionist did apologise that it wasn't made clear on the menu and that each course was priced individually and said she would pass on to management - we shall see?

There was another annoying incident on Friday mid morning when staff decided to burn some old paperwork alongside the Hotel. It was a beautiful day and many bedroom windows were open and guests were having coffee etc., on the balcony only to have the smoke/smell from the fire all around. I did complain to one of the staff but I don't think she could quite grasp the concept of customer satisfaction!

Although some of the points above seem quite negative I would say all in all it was a good place to stay, but it is not value for money with our room coming in at approx £130 a night without dinner and the lack of staff training. The views were breathtaking and you do feel that hotels located in such a position can charge what they like and not put in too much effort because people will always want to stay their. I have also found this in the Lake District - but that's another story. I do wonder what some of our American friends must think when they stay in these places?

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — outdated and poor service
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    347
    204
    100
    56
See reviews for
198
860
12
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Manchester
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2008

The Carter Suite at the The Lodge on the Loch was booked as a surprise anniversary present. The surprise was the dated pine clad walls and ceilings, 'open plan' bathroom and the 'white' noise from the nearby generator that varied from a low buzzing to a loud rumbling noise. This become intolerable in what should have been the perfect silence of a night. spend in such a beautiful location. I understand the Suite is named after President Carter who stayed there....!

Breakfast is available until 10 (exactly). As a 'late' arriver (9.40) there was a reduced selection so get there early! The evening meals were imaginative and tasty but there were no vegetarian options.

The Lodge was only saved by its fab location. and amazing views. I understand it was built in the 70's; the pine walls and ceilings and its dated decor and furnishings pay testament to this

It is worth visiting the restaurant at the Lodge and enjoying the view of Loch Lomond.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

We stayed in a Munro room in the newest part of the hotel in early July for one night as a stop off point on the way to the Highlands.

Both check-in and check-out were fine and the reception staff were very friendly.

The corridors of the Munro wing smell of musty swimming pool (as the pool is in the same block) which is a shame.

The Munro room was large and comfortable with a king sized bed, a seating area and a good flat screen TV.

The open plan bathroom behind the bed is a rather strange, and would work better as a proper room. The shower is a little annoying because it only has a few temperature settings which were either too hot or too cold for us.

The view from the balcony over the Loch is lovely, but the plastic balcony furniture is cheap and tacky.

We'd booked dinner, bed and breakfast at around £200 for one night. The dinner in the hotel was good with local produce and a fair choice of dishes. The restaurant/bar space is attractive with stunning Loch views, although the service was a little slow and the over-sized wooden menus are very silly.

There is a limit on how much you can spend on the inclusive rate which we only found out about when the hotel tried to charge us extra on checking out. I refused to pay this extra food charge because it was the first we'd heard of any limit. We'd even asked in the restaurant before ordering and had been told "It's 3 courses of your choice excluding drinks." Saying that, it was removed from the bill without much fuss.

Breakfast was ok - the items you can order are the best part if the slightly slow staff manage to get the order right! (They put our two orders on one plate). I always find it odd when the only bread available is toast - a selection of cold meats, cheese, and fresh rolls/bread would be a nice addition.

The village of Luss is gorgeous, especially the little church, as is the shore line walk of the Loch - just a shame that the odd litter lout drops their empty plastic bottles and crisp packets even here...

  • Liked — The view from the room and the quality of the food at dinner in the restaurant.
  • Disliked — The open plan bathroom.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

Well what a disapointment this hotel is. We stayed in the Cullen
suite from 12/08 until 15/08 and if we hadn't paid in full before we checked in we would not have stayed. The living room area was dirty with spiders/webs and daddy long legs on ceiling and carpet. One of the bedrooms had food crumbs under the bed. The balcony was filthy. But our biggest bug bare were the card keys which deactivated every time we left the room - so had to keep going to reception to get them activated!! (a nightmare in the pouring rain)
Not at all what you expect from a 4* family run hotel.
On the plus side the staff were extremely nice.
We will definately not be going back
.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipswich
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
159 hotel reviews
Reviews in 166 cities Reviews in 166 cities
268 helpful votes 268 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2008

Well worth a few nights here if you want excellent accommodation at a reasonable price right on the edge of the loch. Our room, even though standard, had a view of the loch (although not all do) and it was very comfortable indeed. The hotel has style. The bar is a great place to sit and enjoy pre-dinner drinks. It leads out onto a terrace on the loch edge where on a nice summer evening you can enjoy your drinks and the incredible scenery right on the door step. Evening meals are excellent. Make sure you book Dinner, Bed and Breakfast, you get a much better deal than if you book B&B and pay for dinner separately. We will definately be going back to this hotel.

  • Liked — its location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

Oke it is a beautifull location but that is all.
We booked the Jimmy Carter suite but this was a rip off !
- the check in was standard
- the balcony was dirty
- you hear every step of the guests above you.
- the waitress in the restaurant served us eating chewinggum.
- there is no management in the hotel ! no leadership.
- they even cannot send a fax to the continent
- etc.;.
We were very unhappy and there are a lot of small and frienly hotels in the region , but not this one !
Koen Bogaert

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the unmannered personel
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2008

We had our daughter's wedding here and the views, food and staff were excellent, there was nothing that we would have changed for the day, Kirsty our co-ordinator was excellent and knows her job very well. We would like to thank everyone there that made our day extra special.Gordon & Carol Reid

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodge on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on Loch Lomond

Address: Route A82, Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8PA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Luss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Luss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge on Loch Lomond 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Lodge on Loch Lomond Hotel stands on a quiet sandy cove amid some of Scotland's most stunning scenery. With panoramic views of the Loch and mountains it offers a warm, relaxing atmosphere, delicious modern cuisine from the award winning 2 AA rosette restaurant Colquhoun's, stunning accommodation, including rooms with en-suite saunas and loch view private balconies, and a luxury health suite with spa and swimming pool. Perfectly located to explore Scotland, from cities to Highlands ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lodge on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On Loch Lomond Hotel Luss
Hotel On Loch Lomond
On Loch Lomond Luss
Loch Lomond Lodge
Lodge On Loch Lomond Luss, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge on Loch Lomond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.